We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and historical excellent service”

Confeitaria Nacional
Ranked #3 of 31 Bakeries in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, European, Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Level Contributor
127 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful and historical excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Beautiful and historical confeiteria in Praca Figueiras, we had breakfast, tried the pasties de nata (very good but I still prefer the confeiteria Pasteis de Belem in Belem!), croquetas de carne and another croqueta that looked like a Sicilian arancino. The espresso was excellent too. Every day more I am impressed by the Portuguese service and cordiality!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    658
    543
    160
    59
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petropolis, RJ
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best sweets in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013

If you have a sweet tooth like I do, Confeitaria Nacional is your place. They have a vast selection of most of the Portuguese conventual sweets, created centuries ago by nuns and monks. Most of the pastries are sugar and eggs based and they are delicious. A must in Lisbon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariseCaetano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best pastries in Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stopped in for tea and Pastel Nata....a must have in Lisbon, ... Headed upstairs and was pleasantly surprised. Self-service, you order at the counter, pay, and take your items to your table, but the best thing in the room is Ibilio, the server. A wonderful personality who made the evening special. Even the locals got involved, joking and laughing. It was wonderful for my last night in Lisbon. Tea and pastry..only €2.95.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GGsFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renens, Switzerland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Breakfast Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The confeitaria serves one of the best breakfast I have had in Lisbon, although there are not many table available but, try to go earlier ;)
The best order you can get is the ham and cheese sandwich, don't forget to ask for a reheat, because that's when the flavour melts.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Visylia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Local institution”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

This shop is almost 200 years old, and still is full of people, many of them local. If you expect to muse over a cup of coffee for an hour or so in relaxing atmosphere, this is not the place. There aren't too many tables, and most of people seemed to buy sweets for take away. Yet, once you get a table and make your way to the self-service area, it doesn't take too long to get your order. I didn't speak Portuguese, the lady at the counter didn't speak English, yet she listened patiently to my attempts in Spanish, and gave me correct set of things. Two cakes and two coffees set me back just 5.50 euro. Worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank no_nonsense_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Confeitaria Nacional also viewed

 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Confeitaria Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing