We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AVOID...choose another restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Cafe Nicola

Cafe Nicola
Reserve with
Cafe Nicola is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,952 of 4,053 Restaurants in Lisbon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“AVOID...choose another restaurant”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Overall awful experience. Without doubt worst meal I have eaten in Lisbon. Ordered Cod Portuguese. Took ages to come and was served semi warm. The fish itself was extremely over cooked and dry (think it was frozen). The waiting staff didn't come to the able once to see if everything was ok. To top it off, a member of staff was trying to unblock the male toilet with a kitchen knife! The amount of negative reviews against this restaurant is v high which says something. Wish I checked reviews before hand.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Budcliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    282
    235
    147
    173
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zevergem, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level Contributor
144 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“over estimated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just go there for a coffee with cake or a quick drink. The location is good, but the food is not top and much to expensive for what you get. There are much better places to go for much less money.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Francoise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A nice experienc, but know what to expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We looked over the menu outside when being contacted about the deal of the live Fado music setting during dinner in the basement. We were allowed to take a look downstairs. Actually the place was cosy, so we entered after being informed of a charge of minimum 30 EUR a person being applicable and a limited menu. Not really an issue when looking at the menu, where the three means were all ca. 24 or higher and there was a choice of beef, pork and fish.
We did not go for starters, even though they were put on the table without our request an one point. The menu downstairs is very limited, but Ok. My boyfriend had the steak and I had the grilled cod (bacalao). The steak was of great quality. Soft and rich. The bacaloa was OK with nice al dente veggies. So why the lower score for this place?

What you are not informed of when entering is that the dinner will be served at a certain pace. So the main is not served until 22.00. If your do not order a starter, then you have No Food until that time (just some boring bread). It is organised this way to allow for the Fado singers to perform between courses (3 singers and 2 songs each). We would have prefered to know this up front and then would have gone elsewhere. However, since we where there, we really enjoyed the performance (even bought the CD for 20 EUR) and the food was OK.
So in short, an experience, but not necessarily on dining.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank estdk_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Please avoid - this place must die”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2014

Terrible. I wish I had read the reviews before stumbling in here. We paid the same here as in Avenida restaurant, but this place is dreadful. Lovely old building, but nothing else good. I will remember the sales techniques of the waiter for a long time - leaving plates of starters that we did not order on the table in the hope we would taste them; charging separately for the butter as well as the bread - I think we paid €1.60 for each industrial portion pack of butter. Avoid.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Tadashii66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lees Summit, Mo
Level Contributor
769 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,292 helpful votes
“Wonderful location but average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is a wonderful place to go to sit out on Rosario square. The scenery is wonderful. The service wad good but the menu was the same as many many places. The food was average.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank postrawb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Nicola also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Cafe Nicola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing