We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe we just visited on a bad day”
Review of Casa Mia - CLOSED

Casa Mia
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Maybe we just visited on a bad day”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Visited this restaurant on a Saturday in high season. Wish I had seen the other reviews before I did so. With the extras like the pâtés we paid €53 for a very moderate meal. The menu was well written but the food did not match it. We had a very ordinary bruschetta and two very bland and tasteless pasta dishes, both short on fresh ingredients. The limoncello flute for desert was a contrast and was light and delicious. Ideas were good, the delivery was poor. Would not get a second shot from me.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rugbyplayeronabike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    41
    32
    20
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Family-run, neighborhood restaurant”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Stayed in a nearby hotel for a 4 night visit to Lisbon, and ended up eating here every night. Popular with tourists and locals, all pasta is made freshly on the premises, and it shows. Make it clear if you don't want the 2 dips brought as appetizers (seafood, ricotta), as they're 3 euros each, but well worth it as a light starter in my opinion. The restaurant is open from 7pm for evening meals, and for lunch from 12 to 3. We rang the changes with beef, veal, pork, and found that all cuts were lean, well-cooked, and tender. Beef steak 'pizzaio' in particular was excellent. Didn't try any fish dishes... maybe next time. The wine list is limited but good, and expect to pay around 40 - 50 Euros for a 2 course meal for 2 with wine and mineral water. Service is pleasant and friendly, and the restaurant is air -conditioned - a must for Lisbon summers. We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank micmac47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great vegetarian pasta”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were staying nearby and had to be persistent to find this cosy restaurant open. We ate there on a Saturday evening with mostly locals occupying the other tables. The vegetarian pasta was a highlight with competent meat dishes and pizzas. Very reminiscent of good neighborhood eateries in capital cities everywhere. We found the staff to be friendly and efficient and would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juliet and Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
107 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Really good pizza”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Dined here at lunch while staying in a near by hotel and really loved it. My partner and I both had pizzas and they were really really good. The chocolate cake was really amazing too. It was packed at lunch time any day we passed. I would recommend a lunchtime pizza here to anyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vonbe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Looks ok from the outside but notice the lack of locals eating there..

Firstly, don't accept the dips they plonk down on the table, I looked at the menu and worked out it would have cost 8 euros, so got them to take it away.

The pizza is like the cheapest frozen pizza you can get, in fact it's not even as nice as that. The pasta dish I had was nice if you like dried pasta, oil, salt, more oil and some more salt. Shockingly bad and obviously just a racket to get money out of unsuspecting tourists.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank i2sky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa Mia also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing