We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just good for its location”
Review of Terrace Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terrace Hostel
Ranked #284 of 432 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Just good for its location”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I choose this hostel due to its location (I have to attend a conference nearby). With the hot weather of Lisbon, this hostel only provides 2 shower rooms for 4-5 dorms! The shower always in traffic in the morning and dirty after. Lucky (or poorly) the cleaning lady is very clean freak. She does a very good job in cleaning the whole hostel alone! Only one of the staffs is helpful, others are so-so (at least during my stay). It's OK but if i have other option, I won't take it.

Room Tip: Pick ensuite bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asti W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    14
    13
    10
See reviews for
3
16
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful area near Belem. Several museums within walking distance. The location is very far from the city centre but there is a public transportation stop within two minutes' walking. The 714 bus or 15E tram will take you directly to the city centre within 15-20 min. There are several eateries within walking distance. The hostel is family run and very clean. The only issue is the lack of heat or cooling.

There is no air conditioner and the only fan available, is the small floor fan in the living room. I noticed that the family spent most of their time in the room with the fan. The dorm room where I stayed had four bunk beds which were all filled at one point. We had one small window, which didn't allow air circulation when our door was closed. It was approximately 42 C/108 F outside during the day and it felt like it was the same in the room at night. The room was absolutely unbearable during the day.

It was so hot to me, that I left the hostel in the middle of the night and walked to the hotel a few feet away and booked a room for my last night there just to get a decent night of sleep.

I would stay there again but only during the months where no a/c or heater is needed.

Room Tip: Stay when the temperature is 65-82 F/18-28 C. Otherwise you will freeze or fry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tuff-ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We absolutely loved staying in Belem, and People Hostel was great. The staff was very friendly and helpful, breakfast is included, and there is a supermarket down the street. There is a great common area in the hostel (by reception) where you can hang out, read, watch TV, etc. This was especially nice since you can't get wifi access in the rooms. Overall, good value for the money and we had a nice stay. Would definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Good value. Hostel is clean, location is in beautiful Belem, half a block away from Jeronimos Monastary. Very close to bus/tram stops. Supermarket a close distance. Breakfast was provided. The staff is excellent, very helpful. Only a minor thing, but I can't say I'm a huge fan of the frosted glass shower and toilet stall doors! I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevotedMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Very cheap hostel but you get a lot for your money, wifi and breakfast are included which is a bargain for the price. The hostel is clean, the beds are already made and has a very nice social area, which gives a really friendly vibe to the place.

The location is far away from the center but it is located in center of beautiful Belem, so you won't be disappointed

But by far the best part of this hostel is the staff! Incredibly friendly and full of soooo much information they will blow you mind. Top marks all round

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kwoky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

A good, clean hostel. Not in the centre of Lisbon, but good for our purposes. A decent breakfast included and 24 hour access.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CBurford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Even though far away from the main city centre it was a nice location close to the train station and a few tourist attractions (Belem Tower) Staff very friendly and helpful, room clean and comfortable and a great atmosphere. :-)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MikeAndAgnieszka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Belem
Jeronimos 8
Jeronimos 8
#162 of 248 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Belem
Palacio do Governador
Palacio do Governador
#47 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Belem
Casa Amarela Belem
Casa Amarela Belem
#133 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Famous Crows Hostel
#315 of 658 in Lisbon District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Belem
Pensao Residencial Setubalense
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Hostel

Property: Terrace Hostel
Address: Rua dos Jeronimos 16 | Belém, Lisbon 1400-210, Portugal (Formerly People Hostel)
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Belem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #284 of 432 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Terrace Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in June of 2011, at a fantastic building of soft Portuguese style, decorated with the pop art theme, this is the ideal starting point to fall in love by this city: The best of Lisbon a step away. On People Hostel you will find comfort, hygiene, safety and an always available team to advise the top places to visit, as well as the finest bars and restaurants.We have excellent accessibilities through public transportations, from the typical Lisbon's tram cars or street cars to the open top tour buses for sightseeing, conventional buses and day and night taxis. All of them stop near People Hostel.It’s also just a few minutes away from Belém Ferry Station which connects with the beaches of Costa da Caparica, as well as the Belém Train Station, bound for Cascais and Estoril Line. This strategic position it’s a strong benefit for all our visitors.We have a fully equipped kitchen for communitarian use, free wi-fi internet, cable TV, DVD’s and security lockers.We offer the comfort of a Hotel at the price of a Hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Terrace Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing