We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food, fantastic fado”
Review of Sr. Vinho

Sr. Vinho
Ranked #937 of 4,140 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
bristol
Level Contributor
125 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“good food, fantastic fado”
Reviewed April 15, 2012

we had a lovely evening here initally we were shocked at the prices we were expecting it to be a little pricey because of the fado but 40 euros for wine very steep my husband was tempted to get up & leave i am glad i made him stay the fixed price menu was resonable 39 euros pp main meal,i bottle wine water or coffee couverts was another 12.50 euros pp but they were lovely
& the food was good would have loved more wine but sadly not at that price
the fado music was fantastic

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jellybabe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    138
    58
    29
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Halle, Belgium
Level Contributor
327 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“I agree: a perfect evening”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had a perfect evening. The food was good, the staff friendly but most of all the fado was fabellous. It was worth every euro. We enjoyed it a lot.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great fado - not so great food”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We heard that Senhor Vinho had very traditional Fado music, but without all the usual tourists. That part was very accurate. The musicians and singers were out of this world. We were truly impressed. However, I would recommend skipping dinner. This is one of the few Fado places that I've heard of that's willing to let you go in and just have drinks and listen to the music. I believe there is a minimum charge of something like 25 Euros per person, but it's not hard to wrack that up. Overall, it was a great experience. Make sure to take a taxi there and back - the neighborhood is a bit sketchy after dark.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank thesarahrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect evening”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

My wife and I visited with some trepidation - we are both foodies who love Fado. While most of the rating of the Fado are excellent the food ratings were worrisome. We are happy to say that our experience was impeccable - from the food, to the music and especially the staff. They appear to share tables so you are never a moment away from help or trying to find "your" waiter. They were charming and funny. We got to meet Filipa Gordo, the daughter of the family who started the club - we could see from her the passion everyone felt about their work there.

A word on food - many people visiting Sr Vinho's are indeed tourists - some from Portugal many from around the world. The food and its preparation are distinctly Portuguese. In our case it was excellent. If you are a traveler, keep in mind the food should be different from that you get at home. Your palate may or may not enjoy the new styles or flavors but it does not mean the food is not good.

Price? Two ways to look at it. You had a moderately high end dinner and amazing show that was free. Or you paid for an awesome show and got a great dinner for free. It was worth every penny and we will return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fado, bad food!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

For 2 persons we payed 100 euro in total for a menu. The apetizers were not super. Bread was good but the mushrooms clearly came out of a can and also the tuna mayonaise did. Olives were without sauce or spices, just dry. Our main dish was Dorade filet wich was good but the vegetables were not very warm. For dessert we had fruit salad and creme brulee but none of them were freshly made. Fruit came out of a bin clearly and it realy tasted like that. Realy, coming from Belgium where we are used to get fresh food at restaurants, but this was realy not worth the money. Fado started 30 min later than planned but you quickly forget it when it starts. The atmosphere created during the performances was realy nice! They dim the lights and than 2 guitaristas and a fadista turn up to play 4 songs. There were 5 fadistas that evening with a pause from 10-15 minutes between the performances. Overall we had a nice evening because of the fado! It was realy good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Vinho also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sr. Vinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing