We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fado, bad food!”
Review of Sr. Vinho

Sr. Vinho
Ranked #1,118 of 4,224 Restaurants in Lisbon
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great fado, bad food!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

For 2 persons we payed 100 euro in total for a menu. The apetizers were not super. Bread was good but the mushrooms clearly came out of a can and also the tuna mayonaise did. Olives were without sauce or spices, just dry. Our main dish was Dorade filet wich was good but the vegetables were not very warm. For dessert we had fruit salad and creme brulee but none of them were freshly made. Fruit came out of a bin clearly and it realy tasted like that. Realy, coming from Belgium where we are used to get fresh food at restaurants, but this was realy not worth the money. Fado started 30 min later than planned but you quickly forget it when it starts. The atmosphere created during the performances was realy nice! They dim the lights and than 2 guitaristas and a fadista turn up to play 4 songs. There were 5 fadistas that evening with a pause from 10-15 minutes between the performances. Overall we had a nice evening because of the fado! It was realy good.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    139
    58
    29
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Fado show!”
Reviewed March 17, 2012

We wanted to go to a Fado show and the hotel recommended Sr. Vinho. The Fado show was amazing! Very talented and passionate singers and musicians, I now love Fado because of them! But when it comes to food, the experience was less than average. Starters were good but the main dish was very bad (I had steak). My friends had fish and they seemed to like it. The place is a pricey.
I recommend this place for the Fado!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Izz0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Fado excellent but food was served cold!!!! We basically paid 110 euro for 2 main courses & 2 glasses of wine. Tax charge is a disgrace

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Louie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic fados, great food and service slightly pricey”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

A Portuguese friend recommended Sr Vinho and we were not disappointed. It is slightly pricey (a little more than 50 euros per person) but it is worth it for the fados, atmosphere and service.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EvaGk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Senhor Vinho, the nostalgia of Fado”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Situated in the quiet Lapa district away from the tourist crowds, Senhor Vinho was our best experience with fado houses in Lisbon. The fado show consists of fours sets, each set with a different singer. The last set is usually the best of the show and we were lucky enough to have Aldina Duarte. Her nostalgic fado was a great experience (and we had some previous fado exposure, including an extraordinary Mariza show in Berkeley, close to home).
The food was adequate, the service attentive, never disrupting the show. The night we were there there were no groups, many locals, small tables up to 4-6 people. A good evening for romance.
Expect to pay for food a little more than in a similar quality restaurant, the show is included. Advise: order simple food (grilled fish) and house wine and forget everything: just focus on show and the artists. If possible, read the translation of a few fado songs before the show (there are translations on the web).

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 621VladC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sr. Vinho also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sr. Vinho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing