We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellow bus”

Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.64*
and up
Sintra, Pena Palace and Cascais Half-Day Trip from Lisbon
More Info
$75.31*
and up
Sintra Royal Palaces Day Trip from Lisbon: Queluz Palace, Pena Palace and Pena...
More Info
$32.28*
and up
Lisbon Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Tour with Four Routes Including Tram
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Do you want to make a tour in Lisbon? Said to be built on 7 hills, Lisbon is an amphitheatre that looks down onto the Tagus, the river it has always depended on. There's history oozing out of its romantic avenues, old Moorish quarters, Roman underpinnings and Manueline, Baroque and Gothic monuments, off-set by some of the boldest modern buildings by local and international architects. This is a cosmopolitan centre of commerce that will appeal to your senses and to your gourmet instincts. It is a palette of colors where the sun shines the whole year round (almost!).
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Yellow bus”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Very comprehensive tour but the sound system left much to be desired. Worse was the cracked wet seats on the open top of the bus. Once you sat down, seats leaked wetness which soaked everyone's butts. We had to return to our hotel to change pants, much to our embarrassment

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swcarristur, marketing assistent at Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Yellow Bus for your Lisbon sighsteeing.

We do apologize for the problems occured during your trip. As to the sound system, we have changed the headphones provider in order to improve this question. We do apologize for the seat issue, too. The company is already in the process of solving the problem and the dammaged seats will be replaced soon.
We hope that besides these problems you spent a nice time in Lisbon. On your next visit to Portugal, Yellow Bus is waiting for you also in Oporto, Braga, Coimbra, Funchal and Guimarães.

Thank you.

Best regards,



Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    481
    205
    198
    238
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice just for the views”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was expecting to get to know a bit of the city, not only to see the things, but also to learn the history... well, i did saw the city and it was good, it cover all the main areas in a short time, but the information... very poor

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swcarristur, marketing assistant at Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Yellow Bus for your sighsteeing.

We are sorry that the current commentary did not meet your expectations. The new audio for Tagus Tour will be installed soon, so on your next visit you can enjoy compeletely new text with more detailed, interesting and practical information.
We hope that besides these problems you spent a nice time in Lisbon. On your next visit to Portugal, Yellow Bus is waiting for you also in Oporto, Braga, Coimbra, Funchal and Guimarães.

Thank you.

Best regards,


Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“better off with public transport, taxi and a guidebook”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

i have to agree with many earlier reviews...you might like the idea of hop on/off, but need to reconsider...out of the 4 busses we managed to take within the 48 hours of our ticket validity, only 1 (!) had a sound sytem that allowed you to actually hear the commentary, two were totally out of order and in the 3rd one you had very long and loud periods of music while the spoken text was so quiet that it was hardly audible..., bus drivers were apologetic but said they could not do anything about it...based on the bits of commentary I could hear, I was also unimpressed by the quality of the commentary and its synconisation with the time when you were actually passing a sight (or lack thereof)

The frequency of busses (30 minutes or 45 minutes respectively) , length per route (1 1/2 hours) and ratio of passenger to bus also means a lot of waiting period as there will not be a bus or as it will be too full...so if you are looking forward to waiting at the stop in the (hoppeful) sun, this is for you; if you are looking to hop on/off and see sights, try the public transport (covers most attactions) , maybe in a case or two take a taxi and buy yourself a good guide

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank josephIItraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swcarristur, marketing assistant at Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Yellow Bus to discover the beautiful city of Lisbon.

We are sorry for the problems occurred during your sightseeing. Based on the comments of our customers related to the audio system and the functioning of the headphones, the company changed their provider in order to avoid this kind of problems in the future, as the satisfaction of our clients is the main goal and mission of our company.
As to the content of our audio guide, we have good news for the visitors of Lisbon! The audio guide of Tagus Tour has been renewed and will be available since January 2013. At the moment, we are working on a new version of Olisipo Tour.

The frequency of our tours (departures every 30 or 45 minutes) is standard and comparable with other Lisbon operators.

We hope that despite the problems occurred, you enjoyed your stay in Lisbon. On your next visit to Portugal, we are waiting for you also in Oporto, Funchal, Coimbra, Braga and Guimarães.

Best Regards,

Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good tour ... but”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I did several of the tours and have to agree that there were long periods of music rather than commentary, however, the commentary was good and relevant. I thought it was a good balance. Some of the sockets for the headphones needed a bot of a wiggle to get them to work. Loads of good points ... the ability to hop on and off ... the fact that the tickets also include all Carris transport ... Funicular, Lift, Trams, Buses and even the AeroBus, I thought the tours were actually reasonable value.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin-Poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swcarristur, marketing assistant at Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear customer,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Yellow Bus to discover the beautiful city of Lisbon.

We are glad you liked the tours and we would like to assure you that the weaker points mentioned were improved in the meantime. Based on the comments of our customers related to the audio system and the functioning of the headphones, the company changed their provider in order to avoid this kind of problems in the future. The content of the audio guide of our Tagus Tour has been renewed and will be available from January 2013. We are also working on a new version of Olisipo Tour.

We hope that you enjoyed your stay in Lisbon and on your next visit to Portugal, we are waiting for you also in Oporto, Funchal, Coimbra, Braga and Guimarães!

Best Regards,

Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford ireland
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yellow Bus Learn Fado”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I have been on 12 hop on hop off tours in various cities. Lisbon Tour conveyed the least amount of information of them all, long periods of " Fado" music. some of the intercoms on seats did not work, volume was not enough when on open top, part of ear phone stayed in my ear. We could see Museums, and interesting buildings enroute but " Fado" Continued. Bus was on time and staff (driver only) were ok used 3 different bus which were on time.
Poor value overall, as public transport in city is excellent and (Euro 5.50 ticket) will cover all bus ,tram and metro for a day.
.I would recommend using tourist tram and a borrowed or cheap guide book

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank micheal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swcarristur, marketing assistant at Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your review and for choosing Yellow Bus for your Lisbon sightseeing.

In order to improve our services and satisfy the expectations of our customers, the audio guide of Tagus Tour has been renewed and will be available from January 2013. Thus you will not only learn about history, architecture or traditions but you will also get practical information and ideas on how to spend your time in the Portuguese capital. At the moment, we are working on a new version of Olisipo Tour.

We also improved the technical part of the audio system and changed the provider of the headphones that you can hear the Lisbon stories without any problem and in a more comfortable way.

We hope that despite of the problems occurred you enjoyed your stay in Lisbon. On your next visit to Portugal, we are waiting for you also in Oporto, Funchal, Coimbra, Braga and Guimarães.

Best Regards,

Your Yellow Bus Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Yellow Bus Tours Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing