We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good seafood”

Sea Me - peixaria moderna Chiado
Reserve with
Sea Me - peixaria moderna Chiado is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #159 of 4,053 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very good seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Fresh, very good seafood. Would definitely come back. The only drawback is that I imagined it to be quieter and more elegant place. Instead it is a rustic style one room with tables close to each other and a long communal table running across the middle of the room. Waitresses are busy scurrying among the tables, sometimes not registering well what was ordered.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,006 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,016
    630
    201
    88
    71
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic, amazing experience. Would come back for this!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Truly a fantastic experience during my latest visit to Lisbon on vacation, one of the best restaurants where we've been during our stay.

I heard of it through a friend who comes often to Lisbon and they suggested this restaurant to eat some excellent fish and I must say it's the best fish I've ate in a while, without a doubt. The price is fairly high, but it's completely worth the expense.

The concept is very fascinating and mixes the tradition of Portuguese cuisine, made contemporary, with a strong fusion/asian influence.
The inside of the restaurant is very pleasant, and it presents an open-view kitchen where you can admire the chef's work as well as pick your fresh fish from the counter: catch of the day and much, much more. The kind staff will help you out in making your selection.
The only thing which is maybe a little excessive is the dj set: is there really this necessity? The music isn't bad, but it looks kind of awkward.

The service was very good: the waiters were all very kind and available, and also helped out in making the choices from the menu.

The food was all excellent: from the shrimp risotto [truly delicious] to all the different Japanese-style seafood [I had a couple of different rolls and the 15-sashimi choice from the chef, all excellent].
The dessert was a bit disappointing: the chocolate cake was quite dense, not my favorite, but it still was very good.
There was a good wine and drinks selection on the menu.

The bill came up to be 87E, but was well worth it.

A reservation is necessary, it's always full, so book ahead!
We arrived on foot from Avenida Liberdade, but you can arrive close to here with the tram or metro as well, if you don't feel like walking.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tripnsoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Offenbach, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious sea food with kind of a service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

No complains about the delicious sea food, fish and side dishes we had. Nifty compositions were not that cheap but worth every penny. Unfortunately it seems we arrived quiet late so that the staff started to clean the restaurant and whip the tables and floor while we were still right in the middle of our dinner. As by a wonder, they did not take away our plates. Noone said that they d like to knock off in advance which would have been absolutely no offense to us. Even though we spent quite some money, we were faced with the fact, that this place is not too deep into personal desires but "serving" masses. Impolite might be a spot on description as well as premium food and costs paired with fastfood service. Nevertheless it’s usually rather (over-)crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccyris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique but Expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

Went there at 8 odd.. Only got a table at 9.30pm.. Bustling joint, creative food, but a tad too expensive (You can get awesome sashimi in Asia)..

Helpful?
1 Thank AvidTravellerEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Atmosphere & great seafood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

As above - the atmosphere is fantastic (they had their own DJ playing music that supported the atmosphere - not at all intrusive) and completely buzzing while staying quite genuine.

The food is absolutely delicious and fresh (from the catch of the day - I had hake roe, scallops and oysters, and from the menu - ninja seafood fritters, seared scallops, stuffed fish with pasta and sashimi), and wine is delectable.

We sat at the bar counter on a Thursday night, no booking and arrival at 7.40pm (restaurant opens at 7.30pm only for dinner). The rest of the tables are booked. I saw some queues of people who came later (or they just ended up booking for a different day). Not very cheap but worth it.

All in all - GO!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladybugwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Me - peixaria moderna Chiado also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Sea Me - peixaria moderna Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing