We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable well located hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #71 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
315 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Comfortable well located hotel.”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for two nights as part of a Viking River Tour of the Douro package.
The hotel is centrally placed on a wide boulevard with pleasant walkways sheltered by trees.
It’s easy walking to the waterfront and old town.

The hotel is a grand place with a huge public seating area on entry with comfortable arm-chairs and sofas, served by waiters to bring you snacks and drinks.

Our room was excellent: it overlooked the main boulevard and had curtains, a screen and electric metal shutters you can lower to cut out night-time noise. Beds were comfortable and we slept well.

The bathroom was good, with a bath and in bath shower that gave a good flow of water.

Breakfast in the brasserie on the corner of the ground floor seating area was excellent and had everything most people could want on a self serve basis, including constanly topped up hot eggs, bacon and sausage, a good selection of bread rolls and cakes, cold meats, cheeses, cereals, yoghurts and fruits.

However…… all the rooms are not the same. Our best friends, who were travelling with us on the same package and paid the same, had a smaller room without a bath and the shower flooded each time they used it. They reported this to reception to be airily told that they already knew about it. Mrs Best Friend was very dissatisfied with the hotel, and even more so after seeing our room.

Room Tip: Check what your room as they are not all the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonPontac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,570
    1,364
    411
    122
    52
See reviews for
772
1,362
110
628
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Some cities are best covered on shoe-leather… Lisboa is one of them. There’s much to be seen – and for those blessed with sturdy underpinnings, shanks mare is the way to go. That’s how many years ago, I first got to know the Tivoli Hotel on Avenida Liberdade in Lisbon. It’s a long avenue in a big city and, hence, after a while, the body may call for some reprieve and refreshment. Anyhow, this time I had come to Lisboa for a “must” appointment, and after it was all over, it left me with a kind of floating empty hang-over. It was time for some calm reflection, some moral rearmament. The moment was right for an uplifting experience at the Tivoli. Here, a secret tip to enhance any stay while in Lisbon. No, I didn’t check into the hotel for a room. Mostly, it’s beyond my pay-grade, and I prefer to spend my funds in other ways - during waking hours - while visiting a city somewhere. Next, I had already checked into a hotel, a more modest hotel room in Porto, a not too long train ride away. Nonetheless, when in Lisbon, even if not staying at the hotel, be sure to get to know the beautiful lobby of the five-star Tivoli Hotel. If properly dressed, not conspicuously touristy loud, it’s possible just to walk into this lobby, ignore the reception banks to the right, move to a low table, and sink into one or the other comfortable easy chair, pretending that one totally belongs here. It’s also good to come prepared with a newspaper or magazine. Some hotel lobbies are impersonal, cold like train stations, lacking any human warmth or atmosphere. Instead, a few hotel architects managed to excel in their craft, managed to create surroundings of elegance and unmistakable atmosphere. Even many of so-called top hotels can be severely lacking in this regard. Instead, the Tivoli lobby is like a spacious restful oasis in a sometimes too hot, chaotic and cacophonic urban setting. After a long walk through the city, or an exhaustive meeting, this is a great place to recharge batteries, to regain soul and composure again. Of course, in this particular hotel lobby, such is best accomplished with a little help. May I suggest a "noblesse oblige" apéritif in Portugal, a Port wine, red, or, if white, properly chilled - a Porto wine to sip from, to savor, to reflect upon; alternatively, a good glass of many excellent Portuguese wines available by the glass in this lobby. A few petiscos (tasteful small bites of various kinds - and to nibble on) will help as well. Personally, I like a newspaper at hand to sometimes delve in, then again, to allow the eyes to roam, to take in the local human scenery - the ways of the local upper class, visiting business folks, journalists, sometimes the new blink high hoi-polloi showing up in top hotels … all kinds of people cool worth to watch. The service in this hotel lobby is invariably attentive, discrete and leaves nothing to be desired. Prices for this lobby entertainment at the Tivoli are remarkably reasonable. Following a short time in this restful, tasteful city oasis one feels equiped to take on the outside noisy real world again. This is in the nature of a secret tip about enhancing any experience in Lisboa. Be sure to try it sometimes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joost H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Tivoli hotel chain is our top hotel choice in Portugal, having stayed at a number over the years.
We stayed at the Tivoli Lisbon again for three night break with a flight from Liverpool. Really great location right on the Ave da Liberdade, short walk from the metro station for those more adventurous, shops - shops - shops, tourist venues to keep you busy, restaurants (of which there are many - head for the restaurant district) & the city centre nightlife.
The staff at the hotel are very friendly & professional. Our room was a decent size & well maintained, no problem it met our needs.
Recommended - check out the roof top sky bar & restaurant with that stunning views over the city (a must see) or eat in the ground floor casual diner. So folks! if it's a city break in Lisbon you are planning, you will find this hotel ideal with plenty of charm & character. Enjoy x GCD

Room Tip: Overlooking the Ave da Liberdade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed as part of a large (10) group and were very accommodating. Friendly, helpful service at reception and by the pool.

Good location and wifi worked everywhere in the hotel, something that doesn't happen all the time. Breakfast was good with a wide selection and check in/out was smooth.

Highly recommended for couples, families or large groups.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tooting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

We holidayed in Portugal this month and started with a few days at the Hotel Tiara, reviewed separately. Before flying back to HK we spent 1 night only at the Tivoli hotel. Thank goodness. To start with they charge Euro15 for wifi - outrageous. Their reaction was 'this is Lisbon' - fortunately our other hotel did not charge. Our allocated room had 2 single beds not a double bed. We were moved but the next room was smaller and darker - definitely a downgrade. But I judge a hotel by a few key criteria. Cleanliness is one and that was ok. But the bed was awful. The mattress sloped from left to right and was incredibly soft - it just collapsed under me. We had some time pressures so did not want to change again and for one night we lived with it. At breakfast the following morning the service was offhand to say the least. My wife asked for some hot water. I wanted coffee but the waiter walked away without asking. This is one hotel I won't be going back to.

Room Tip: Don't pick 232!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Beautiful, classic hotel right in the heart of Lisbon. The property is a bit old, but oozes character starting with the lobby coffee lounge. The Sky Bar and 9th Floor restaurant have million-dollar views down to the water and the property has a nice pool and small palace-style conference facility in an adjacent building. Service is friendly and attentive, the gym is good and the Brasserie Flo restaurant on the ground floor is a great place for dinner, drinks and people-watching. All in all, a great place to stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rdes, Gerente geral at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Steve C

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at Tivoli lisbon !

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the facilities as well as the service. Rest assured that I have shared your comments with the entire hotel team.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon at Hotel Tivoli .

Kind regards

Rui de Sousa
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Location and staff are great. I do think not having wi-fi is ridiculous for a major hotel. Rooms were a nice size and it had comfortable beds. I am not sure it qualifies for 5 star as it is a little lacikng but staff and location makes up for it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcdentiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Property: Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 80 years of tradition, personalized service and a privileged location right on Avenida da Liberdade make the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa one of the city's most emblematic luxury hotels and the obvious choice for famous figures from all over the world. It is just a short walk from traditional Portuguese neighbourhoods such as the Bairro Alto and Chiado and close to top international stores including Cartier, Gucci, and Luis Vuitton. A weekend spent at this hotel is a great excuse to enjoy a memorable dining experience in the Brasserie Flo Lisboa or the Terraço Restaurant, followed by a drink in the Sky Bar with its unparalleled views of the Lisbon skyline. The luxurious gardens and outdoor swimming pool are a perfect oasis and a relaxing retreat from the hubbub of the city. For meetings, conferences and banquets, the hotel has 18 meeting and banqueting rooms, including an independent conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing