We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a great hotel once”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #70 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Thank god I only stayed one night. BTW I hate giving a bad review..

Appreciate its 5 star based on the amenities offered but it should factor in age and décor.

Check in was poor, the staff seemed as tired and indifferent as the hotel and in need of a refresh - both reception and concierge/porters.

The lifts are old clunky need a refresh - and that sets the scene.

The room was old, grimy - the sort of grime that is born of needing a repaint and refurb. Incidentally paint peeling off the bathroom doors, crack in the sink, jus very very old and dated. A cheap blind on the window that let in loads of light. Really like something out of the '80's or '90's

Location ok but not great. Just couldn't bring myself to avail myself of any of the services here.

really wouldn't recommend this to anyone unless they were looking for a 3 star experience - at best...
Sorry Tivoli, but at the very least you must acknowledge the rooms are nowhere near a 5 start standard, comparing this review to my review of the intercom at Porto or Baxia House at Lisbon you will see my reviews are generally very positie

Room Tip: ask them to clean and paint it first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TivoliHotelsResorts, Gerente geral at Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2014

Many thanks for letting us know about your experience at the Tivoli Lisboa, and we are sorry that in some respects the hotel did not meet up with your expectations. It is true that a few rooms’ decoration was not updated. However, we are working on their refurbishment and from March 2014, all rooms in the hotel will offer the same level of comfort.

Looking forward to welcoming you once more.
Rui de Sousa
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,922 - 1,928 of 3,798 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We spend 3 days in hotel tivoli lisbon dec 2014. We have stayed in a renewed area ,a huge beautiful suite cheaper than hotel avenida lisbon(see preview review).hermes shampoos,soap etc...sacadas with breathtaking city views. Very good breakfast. Concierge a nice girl but with no patience to explain tourist places.she should change her job...
Anyway the hotel is a very good and worthy experience.

Stayed: January 2014
Thank pecinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Our river cruise line booked this hotel for our group for a pre-stay in Lisbon. The hotel is in a very good location for walking into town, there are many good restaurants in the area, and shopping is at the door step. Like most major cities, Lisbon has its share of homeless and petty crime, so be aware of your surroundings.

The two restaurants, Flo's Bistro and the Terrace, had excellent food and the lobby bar served light meals and sandwiches most of the day.The breakfast buffet was served in the Terrace dining room on the 9th floor or in a smaller, ground level dining room. The view from the Terrace is spectacular, so use that for breakfast if you have the option.

The hotel offered free internet from their computer room, but if you wanted your own wifi it was 15 euros per day.

The rooms were typical, well outfitted, small European-style rooms with tub/shower combination and single sinks in the bathroom. The rooms had free tea service but there was a charge for the expresso machine. We liked that the windows actually opened but also were also glad at night that they are double paned when closed, with black out shades for quiet and darkness.

The staff were well informed, helpful, and attentive. Depending on the price, we would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: There are 7 floors...rooms facing the Avenida de Liberdade are more scenic but likely to be somewhat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Welcome once again to Tivoli Lisboa, no doubt one of the most warmful hotels in Lisbon. The personnel is beyound excellence, the service is outstanding and the rooms are really invitating. Located in the heart of Lisbon, Tivoli invites you afor a journey of pleasure, gourmet and above all, friendship. You will feel at home only now you are on a 5 star hotel. I spend a week there and each day was a new discover of taste, pleasure and friendship. The personnel is very professional and invites you for a gourmet tour. Welcome to Tivoli Lisboa.

Room Tip: Try the new rooms with separate living room...simply outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joaquim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

This hotel has a good restaurant on staff: a little speedy but convenient. The shower is a fun challenge - ask for a lesson. The hotel is right on the Major Ave with all the Big name stores. Close to the subway and bus lines. Desk staff is very helpful and friendly. No ATM in site but 2 within 1 block.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Stayed two nights recently for a work conference and found this hotel very nice. Great location on Avenida de Liberdade (Lisbon's version of Champs Elysee - but better as less people!). The breakfast and the beds were particularly nice

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benjamin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

Nicely refurbished hotel right on Avenida da Liberdade, just a short walk from the Chiado, Metro, and numerous restaurants. Nice room, very good breakfast, attentive staff, and great ambience overall. Only one question.....did the bathroom designer ever actually use the tub/shower fixtures himself? To simply turn on the water for the tub or shower is a chore and simply too complex. Nevertheless, a nice stay and recommended.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Conmassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel Ritz Lisbon
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Liberdade
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
951 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Lisboa Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon
#42 of 255 in Lisbon
5,828 reviews
0.6 mi away
InterContinental Lisbon
InterContinental Lisbon
#60 of 255 in Lisbon
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $180 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa, the Grande Dame of hotels in Lisbon. A true landmark, delivering exceptional hospitality since 1933. Discover Lisbon's best kept secrets with our Experience Teams, shop till you drop in Avenida da Liberdade and Chiado's luxury stores, or simply unwind by the oasis of the hotel's unique swimming pool, amidst the fronds of its semi-tropical garden. Discover the wealth and variety of rooms and views - from Deluxe Rooms to the stunning Presidential Suite, which make each stay an unforgettable experience. Wining and dining are paramount, in the best European tradition - join in the thriving and bustling ambience of the Cervejaria Liberdade or head towards the stately calm and exclusive Terraço rooftop restaurant for more gourmet offerings, to discover the best in contemporary Portuguese cuisine. For unique, seamless meetings and conferences, step across the courtyard to our palatial 19th century Conference and Events Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing