We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel- perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #71 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel- perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is very good! Located just 5-10 minutes walk from the centre and the riverside (seaside)! The rooms are very nice and their rooftop terrace restaurant is first class. Great breakfast buffet and friendly staff. The hotel has air condition, but in room 826 this did not function properly. temperature was set to minimum (5 deg C), but room remained too hot during night. One small negative point is also that breakfast do not start until 0700, a little bit late if you have an early morning flight!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rannugode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,558
    1,350
    403
    118
    47
See reviews for
763
1,343
108
621
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (243)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amarante, Portugal
Level Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent two nights on this hotel, during a short holidays in Lisbon.
The hotel is very well located, in the center of Avenida da Liberdade.
It's a city hotel, but with luxury and detail in client treatment.
It's really a 5 stars!
All the staff is very polite and attentive.
The lobby is very beautiful and comfortable.
Our room was recently renovated and it was also very comfy. The bed was king size and the mattress, the bed linen and the pillows were so truly fluffy and comfortable that we noted their brands, and, lately, we brought the same for our new home!
The room had realy a very good quality sleep, although it is street faced, you don't even notice that!
Amenities were also nice.
The breakfast was really good, with plenty variety of food and beverage.
Very good hotel for a stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Chosen mainly for the pool/sunbathing area which appeals after a day in a hot summer city, alas that’s where this hotel has its main problem.

The rooms are small but fine. I feel it’s mean to have no water other than a big bottle with a 4 Euro price sign on it and a coffee maker but a price tag of 2.50 euro per pod for coffee. At this room price some water and coffee in room would not be too much to ask, it’s mean to squeeze customers further when aiming at the more luxurious end of the market.

Breakfast is decent though not exciting, but with one exception staff were rather gloomy and should learn how to smile a bit.

The pool area is sadly ruined by being very overcrowded, Unless you plan to come early and stay all day you will be v unlikely to get a sunlounger and lucky to find ground space to lie on a towel. People are constantly bobbing their heads like meerkats at any sign someone may be about to leave their coveted spot and there’s a dash to claim any vacated space. Lying on hard ground is not what you want! The problem is its not just this hotel using this pool area. They allow the Tivoli neighbouring hotel to use it too. As the entrance is open to all to wander in from the side street it appeared many may not be guests at all. Airline cabin crew seemed prominent and we wondered if they invite friends in . The manager we spoke to recognised the problem.

Don’t come here expecting a relaxing time sunbathing by a pool after seeing the city!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roy999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli for two days prior to start of a river cruise. I thought the hotel bed was one of the most comfortable I had slept in compared to several other European hotels that we've been in over the last few months, but then I like a softer bed. My husband had other opinions. The room was comfortable - large flat screen TV with English programming, large bathroom with with shower & bath. The toilet placement was a bit odd as your knees tended to hit the vanity table if you were at all tall.
The location was quite convenient - the old city and castle are a reasonable walking distance and public transportation easy to navigate. There are quite a few restaurants within a couple of blocks from the hotel - we found the hotel restaurants a bit pricey. The view from the Sky Bar, however, is not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HSC458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at the Tivoli for three nights in August. The location couldn't be better. We wanted to be out of the fray of the Bairro Alto, but it's still close enough that we walked everywhere. We actually never got on the Metro even though it's a few steps away. The hotel breakfast is one of the best I've ever had. At check in theyave us 2 for 1 one vouchers for the breakfast, making it quite affordable, so be sure and ask about that. We thought the internet fee (something like $15 Euros per day, per device) was outrageous, but when we expressed slight surprise over that, they front desk told us if we completed an enrollment form in their frequent traveler program that they would waive all internet fees upon check-out, which in fact they did. I found the rooms a bit shabby in places -- peeling paint, dingy walls, but the bathroom remodel was outstanding and luxurious. They also gave us vouchers for two glasses of port in the Skybar when we checked in. We probably wouldn't have otherwise gone up there, but it was WELL worth it and we wound up finishing every evening with a drink there. It has stunning panoramic views of Lisbon and a very chill, elegant vibe. Once we factored in all the vouchers they gave us, it was really an excellent value and we would stay there again. Also, rooms seemed totally sound proof!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Tivoli is a fabulous hotel, with all the amenities of a five star hotel. The entire staff was courteous, helpful and really treated us as royalty. They have an in ground pool, gym. and a fabulous American breakfast., the rooms are spacious and nicely appointed.
The hotel is well situated for all parts of the city.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank newfie060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stayed four nights at this wonderful hotel, we had booked a Collection Room but at check in was upgraded to a suite which was fantastic as we were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary. Front desk staff were courteous and informative and nothing was too much trouble, We ate in the sky restaurant which had amazing views and delicious food, the breakfasts were plentiful with lots of choice and never hurried. The pool was a welcome haven in the afternoon after a morning sightseeing. The hotel is situated on a wide avenue and is within walking distance of central Lisbon. We have stayed in many 5 star hotels around the world and this was certainly up there with the best. If we return to Lisbon then we shall return to this beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floors as probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossini21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Tivoli Jardim
#127 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
The Vintage Lisboa
#48 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Property: Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 80 years of tradition, personalized service and a privileged location right on Avenida da Liberdade make the Tivoli Lisboa one of the city's most emblematic luxury hotels and the obvious choice for famous figures from all over the world. It is just a short walk from traditional Portuguese neighbourhoods such as the Bairro Alto and Chiado and close to top international stores including Cartier, Gucci, and Luis Vuitton. A weekend spent at this hotel is a great excuse to enjoy a memorable dining experience in the Brasserie Flo Lisboa or the Terraço Restaurant, followed by a drink in the Sky Bar with its unparalleled views of the Lisbon skyline. The luxurious gardens and outdoor swimming pool are a perfect oasis and a relaxing retreat from the hubbub of the city. For meetings, conferences and banquets, the hotel has 18 meeting and banqueting rooms, including an independent conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Agoda, Prestigia, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Reservation Counter so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing