We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great conference hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #73 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
St Peter Port, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great conference hotel”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Situated in the centre of Lisbon this Hotel lives up to the excellent five ***** standards of the Tivoli chain. The view from the Skybar over the city is breathtaking. Rooms small but comfortable and quiet. Conference facilities outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughB-W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,610 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,614
    1,396
    420
    125
    55
See reviews for
795
1,404
112
640
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riihimaki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great location, two subway stations nearby, hop on hop off bus stop almost in front off hotel and their main bus stop close in Pombal. Hotel was very classy, great breakfast, nice rooms, though some noise from streets was heard. Staff was very friendly and helpful and willing to help. Rooms were clean and spacy enough. I have to say that the friendliest people in the world I have met in Portugal and in Brazil, could it be in their genes. And now I´m talking about true friendliness, not being friendly first and then wanting something.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nefer075
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Tivoli Lisboa last weekend and overall I would give this hotel a tick. Location is perfect for exploring the(beautiful) city and the staff for the most part were very friendly. The rooms and bathrooms are tiny but nonetheless clean and ours had a lovely view looking out onto the Liberdade Avenue. The real gems of this hotel are the beautiful pool area and fantastic Sky Bar with its amazing views and chilled atmosphere. The downsides were the prices to either eat or just have a few drinks at the hotel and even in the rooms there was a charge to use the coffee making facilities (€4.50 for a coffee!) which I've never come across before in any hotel I've stayed at. The lack of free wifi was also a missing touch and the staff at the Sky Bar seemed particularly miserable. So in summary a good hotel, although definitely not the 5 star it proclaims!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank LHB1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
347 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I was attending a conference in Lisboa and this was the hotel selected for me. Normally I like cheap and cheerful but this place was attempting to be very precocious and for me, there was no need. Let me say that there was nothing wrong whatsoever with the people, desk was very attentive, maid service was excellent and dining room staff delivered good standards. Room was very good I had one looking out onto the avenue and the sun blind and curtains were great at letting in just the right amount of light that I wanted. Conference facilities were great (we were in the old palace around the back and I was very impressed with everything in there). So why the average mark? Well I am not a rock star or part of the elite and this is who the hotel were trying to treat me like. Pretentious and over the top for my liking and the price was way above my budget. If I had been paying then I would have stopped next door at the Veneza (same location lots cheaper).

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room. Those at the front do not suffer traffic noise from the busy main road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weekend_Roamer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The small room with too much noise from a nearby bar on weekends was more than balanced by an outstanding reception team, excellent breakfast experience (a highlight), and fine location. Very clean, cmfy beds, and a feeling of respectful homeliness wrapped in a lovely old building will bring me back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I are frequent travellers to Europe and absolutely love the E U. Some hotels have had minor issues but none have shocked and dissapointed us so massively as this hotel.
Our room [ pre-paid by inet ] was tragic. There was black mould around the lower walls of the bathroom. Long term areas of accumulated dirt was in every corner that we looked. The wardrobe was so old it should have been scrapped. The bottom looked like it had never been cleaned. The chest of draws was so decrepid it would have been rejected in a Bangladesh 1 star hotel. This hotel may have a few normal rooms but we did not see any. The outside facade and lobby are o.k. but the rooms are a disgraceful trick played on decent travellers. We were afraid to complain or demand a refund as we were genuinely scared of them and decided to just rough it for a few days and get out of the place. Genuinely, the standard of the rooms is not 5 star as advertised. My rating is a dirty 2 star at best. Every other hotel we stayed in Portugal was lovely.

Room Tip: Don't try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pero, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Tivoli Lisboa is a marble-clad monolith located on the splendid Avenida da Liberdade, just seconds away from a convenient Metro station (Liberdade) and a few minutes removed from the Marques de Pombal square, a landmark of central Lisbon. The hotel is a few decades old and mainly caters to an older clientele of business people and river cruise passengers. Our room was not large but extremely clean and comfortable. Ditto for the marble bathroom, which sported a shower head the size of a flying saucer. Everything is pleasantly old-fashioned and solid, including - alas - the elevators, which just can't cope with a nearly fully booked hotel. Two very pleasant memories: the most splendidly comfortable bed and the lavish breakfast spread served in the Brasserie, which is just as vintage as the rest of the hotel. The Sky Bar on the 9th floor offers a magnificent, nearly 360-degree view of downtown Lisbon, including the Moorish Castelo de São Jorge and glimpses of the Tagus estuary. In a nutshell, the Tivoli is a great choice for both business travelers and tourists. The latter can walk down the Avenida to Commerce Square and the shopping district in about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teerex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#25 of 248 in Lisbon
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 248 in Lisbon
1,308 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 248 in Lisbon
1,971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Property: Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#62 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 80 years of tradition, personalized service and a privileged location right on Avenida da Liberdade make the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa one of the city's most emblematic luxury hotels and the obvious choice for famous figures from all over the world. It is just a short walk from traditional Portuguese neighbourhoods such as the Bairro Alto and Chiado and close to top international stores including Cartier, Gucci, and Luis Vuitton. A weekend spent at this hotel is a great excuse to enjoy a memorable dining experience in the Cervejaria Liberdade or the Terraço Restaurant, followed by a drink in the Sky Bar with its unparalleled views of the Lisbon skyline. The luxurious gardens and outdoor swimming pool are a perfect oasis and a relaxing retreat from the hubbub of the city. For meetings, conferences and banquets, the hotel has 18 meeting and banqueting rooms, including an independent conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing