We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food, service, cleanliness, service, location ... All ticks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Ranked #71 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food, service, cleanliness, service, location ... All ticks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

The small room with too much noise from a nearby bar on weekends was more than balanced by an outstanding reception team, excellent breakfast experience (a highlight), and fine location. Very clean, cmfy beds, and a feeling of respectful homeliness wrapped in a lovely old building will bring me back.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,565
    1,352
    406
    121
    50
See reviews for
768
1,352
109
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
313 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

My wife and I are frequent travellers to Europe and absolutely love the E U. Some hotels have had minor issues but none have shocked and dissapointed us so massively as this hotel.
Our room [ pre-paid by inet ] was tragic. There was black mould around the lower walls of the bathroom. Long term areas of accumulated dirt was in every corner that we looked. The wardrobe was so old it should have been scrapped. The bottom looked like it had never been cleaned. The chest of draws was so decrepid it would have been rejected in a Bangladesh 1 star hotel. This hotel may have a few normal rooms but we did not see any. The outside facade and lobby are o.k. but the rooms are a disgraceful trick played on decent travellers. We were afraid to complain or demand a refund as we were genuinely scared of them and decided to just rough it for a few days and get out of the place. Genuinely, the standard of the rooms is not 5 star as advertised. My rating is a dirty 2 star at best. Every other hotel we stayed in Portugal was lovely.

Room Tip: Don't try.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pero, Italy
Level Contributor
214 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

The Tivoli Lisboa is a marble-clad monolith located on the splendid Avenida da Liberdade, just seconds away from a convenient Metro station (Liberdade) and a few minutes removed from the Marques de Pombal square, a landmark of central Lisbon. The hotel is a few decades old and mainly caters to an older clientele of business people and river cruise passengers. Our room was not large but extremely clean and comfortable. Ditto for the marble bathroom, which sported a shower head the size of a flying saucer. Everything is pleasantly old-fashioned and solid, including - alas - the elevators, which just can't cope with a nearly fully booked hotel. Two very pleasant memories: the most splendidly comfortable bed and the lavish breakfast spread served in the Brasserie, which is just as vintage as the rest of the hotel. The Sky Bar on the 9th floor offers a magnificent, nearly 360-degree view of downtown Lisbon, including the Moorish Castelo de São Jorge and glimpses of the Tagus estuary. In a nutshell, the Tivoli is a great choice for both business travelers and tourists. The latter can walk down the Avenida to Commerce Square and the shopping district in about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teerex51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salies de Bearn
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived from Porto on an early train prior to joining a group to take a cruise down the River Douro after returning to Porto. Despite arriving at 8.30 am a room was available and we were able to settle in before exploring. We ate at the roof top restaurant three times and thoroughly enjoyed each meal and the wines. Our room was large and the facilities very good. However, it was a shame that at least a couple of cups of coffee were not 'offered' then perhaps paying for extras. I have had free tea and coffee in overnight motorway hotels. The staff were attentive and luggage delivered to our room, a definite plus!

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the main road but we had no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
307 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Our 2 night stay at the hotel was marred by a visit to the lobby bar yesterday evening. There were 4 barstools at the bar, and we sat there for ten to fifteen minutes without either bartender acknowledging our presence. We had planned to order drinks, but were offended that the bartenders did not take even a second to say a word. We concluded that having a drink in our room would be far more pleasant, so we left feeling uncomfortable. Surprising treatment for such a lovely hotel!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Good location.Nice clean bedroom but washbasin cracked, WC cistern constantly running and shower screen leaking.Plenty of staff fussing around but not really doing anything.Breakfast very good but plates cold.Water and coffee in bedrooms overpriced.Rooftop restaurant very nice but pricey.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FeathersMcGraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

So called luxury hotel located directly at the Avenida da Libertade.
Gives you the perfect starting point for exploring the older central parts of the city like Baixa, Bairro Alto og Alfama.
Spacious lobby with comfortable furnitures.
There is a nice roof top restaurant with a magnificent view of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rimfaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#22 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
EPIC SANA Lisboa Hotel
#14 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa

Property: Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 185, Lisbon 1269-050, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#33 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#37 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#60 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa 5*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than 80 years of tradition, personalized service and a privileged location right on Avenida da Liberdade make the Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa one of the city's most emblematic luxury hotels and the obvious choice for famous figures from all over the world. It is just a short walk from traditional Portuguese neighbourhoods such as the Bairro Alto and Chiado and close to top international stores including Cartier, Gucci, and Luis Vuitton. A weekend spent at this hotel is a great excuse to enjoy a memorable dining experience in the Brasserie Flo Lisboa or the Terraço Restaurant, followed by a drink in the Sky Bar with its unparalleled views of the Lisbon skyline. The luxurious gardens and outdoor swimming pool are a perfect oasis and a relaxing retreat from the hubbub of the city. For meetings, conferences and banquets, the hotel has 18 meeting and banqueting rooms, including an independent conference centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Lisboa Lisbon
Tivoli Lisboa Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing