We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little better than Average”
Review of Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Ranked #48 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A little better than Average”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Hotel Lisboa Plaza is close to a 4 star hotel (maybe a 3 1/2 star?). Upon entering you are blown away by a beautiful lobby with granite floors and giant iron statues. This hotel overall has some very nice perks such as an amazing roof deck and a stellar free breakfest but the rooms themselves seem a tad outdated and small. While the rooms are clean, the dark decor at times made the room feel old and dirty. There was almost no storage space beside a very small closet. The lighting in the rooms also isn't all too great as 3 of our rooms faced an empty falling apart building out back so the views are nonexistent.

My 2 biggest gripes would be...

1. The room keys - They still use physical keys with a tag with the room # attached which you return to the person at the desk everytime you leave. Upon returning however they don't ask you to verify anything so you could simply say whatever room # you desire. Upon asking why they use this system they say they trust their guests...
2. The hotel staff - The people working at the counter were neither rude nor helpful. When we constantly asked them questions in efforts to help guide my group of 6 they didn't really seem to be too thrilled to help and offered next to no knowledge of local restaraunts beside the 1 right behind our hotel.

Overall I wasn't blown away by Hotel Lisboa Plaza but wasn't all too turned off.

Room Tip: You want the highest floor possible and ideally would like to be away from the construction out back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us, which will help us improve our service. We were very pleased to know that you enjoyed several aspects of our hotel. At the Hotel Lisboa Plaza it is our goal to preserve the Portuguese traditions and its ambiance in the most perfect conditions. Every room is individually decorated and the room size and layout can vary one to another within each room category. We also preserved the physical keys because on one hand they are part of the hotel tradition and on the other hand they do not have the problems that many times happen with the electronic ones. As the hotel is rather small, many of our guests are recognized by staff or otherwise the check-in card will be demanded for internal control.
We were most concerned with your comments about our staff, as it is a point of honor that all our staff transmits the warmth and friendliness of our people. We are very sorry if your experience was not up to your expectations and we will keep working hard in order to satisfy all of our guests.
The construction that you refer is the final phase of the rehabilitation of an old Theater just next to the Botanical Garden and it will bring back to life another piece of historical Lisbon. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by some noise.
We are looking forward to having the opportunity of welcoming you again and provide you a totally satisfactory stay.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    582
    99
    15
    1
See reviews for
291
693
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from a five night stay at this hotel which is well located in a quiet spot just off the main avenue. There are local shops and restaurants and a 5 minutes walk takes you to the main centre of the city. Tourist bus stops and the metro are close by. We had a decent sized double room with a modern smallish bathroom The room was well equiped and very clean with a good sized fridge and television We ate a more than adequate breakfast in the dining room, some cooked items but with a really good range of confectionary and fruit.The hotel is well furnished in a traditional decor and well maintained througout and its more likely to appeal to the middle aged rather than trendy youngsters. Clearly a very well managed hotel and it shows in the staff ALL of whom were very professional and helpful.. They are clearly well trained and motivated. It makes a difference so thanks to Thomas and Andrea in particular

Room Tip: We were on the top floor with a rear garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vicmadgesally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

A fine hotel of outstanding quality. Situated close to Avenue Liberdade and Avendia Metro station allowing a good starting point for visiting Lisbon.
Rooms are more than adequate and with top class servicing. Public rooms are tastefully decorated and very comfortable. Breakfast staff are very efficient and provide a large breakfast selection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1939northeast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely first night in Lisbon at the Plaza, beautiful entrance a great welcome as we arrived. We had a family room and the children 3 shared the adjoining room, we ate around the corner recommended by the hotel, lovely meal and a not too late night. The following morning we had a super breakfast before setting off for Castle St George, an onward trip south to the Algarve, great directions too to get out of Lisbon. The staff were all really helpful as we're the doormen who helped park the car. We had a lovely stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank AJB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
99 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We just stayed at the hotel. The room was clean but a little small. The location was good and within a few minutes walk to everything. The breakfast was large and full of choices. Overall, I would recomend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BadgerFan77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HeritageLisbon, General Manager at Hotel Lisboa Plaza, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback following your recent stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our location in the historic center.
Concerning the size of the rooms, they vary according to the room category but all of them have our special care.
We look forward to welcoming you again to Lisbon.
Yours sincerely,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Tucked right behind the main boulevard , the Avenida de Liberdade, , this hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre, the Chiado district, Alfama, the old quarter, and the river. The staff are very helpful and friendly, the rooms are comfortable and very clean and the breakfast is excellent.. Perfect for a great stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ceredigion, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel has everything you need for a great stay in Lisbon.The staff are friendly and helpful.The rooms are of a good standard and cleaned to a high standard.The location is excellent and if you like walking most of the city can be done on foot.Buses also stop outside the hotel and the metro is close to hand. The breakfast could not be faulted with food to suit every taste.
It is close to many excellent restaurants.For a local meal at a great price try the Floresta do Salitre
for price and quality it is hard to fault. (3 course meal for 2 plus bottle of wine was 37 euros)
In summary an excellent hotel to stay in Lisbon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank halfslug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#3 of 248 in Lisbon
2,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 248 in Lisbon
244 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lisboa Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lisboa Plaza

Property: Hotel Lisboa Plaza
Address: Travessa do Salitre 7 | Avenida da Liberdade, Lisbon 1269-066, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#24 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#43 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#52 Business Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Lisboa Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lisboa Plaza is owned and managed by the same family since its construction in 1953 and is located just off Av. Liberdade, in the historic center of Lisbon. Lisbon charm is felt inside the hotel: the Portuguese decor, the different ambiances, the care towards the guests - your friend's home in the heart Lisbon. Rooms vary in decor and size (from standard to superior and suites), all equipped with free Wifi, LCD, electronic safe and individually controlled air conditioning. The rooms have been fully refurbished in 2015 in our traditional style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lisboa Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisboa Plaza Hotel
Lisboa Plaza Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing