We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hospitality and ideal location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #19 of 250 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect hospitality and ideal location”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We arrived after midnight but were welcomed with open arms (and cake). The hospitality is fantastic and the guys have plenty of tips.
Located my the market hall which is being refurbished there are quite a few bars nearby which was perfect for us. 10 minute walk up to Barrio Alto. The train station is close and we took a 30 minute train ride to the beach which was great.
Definitely returning to Lisbon and will stay at the Ribeira next time too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalimar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    155
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
96
330
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bornem, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014

What a warm welcome! I landed way to early, so I arrived at breakfast time. After a warm welcome I could join breakfast. Exploring Belèm and tasted the famous 'pastis de Belem', I returned to the guesthouse where my room was ready. What a spacious room with a cosy atmosphere. I was there for just two nights and had to leave early before the reception was open, but in the fridge there was a breakfast package with a goodbye note. I had the most pleasant stay I could imagine and will be back to explore the rest of the great city of Lisbon. Thank you! Obrigado!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wavisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and had a memorable stay. Great facility and location, close to restaurants, bars, metro, trams, river, and easy walking to the city. Excellent place to stay if you have any issues climbing hills as its situated in a very flat part of the city. Rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast is excellent (particularly the home baked cakes). What made it stand out though, was the quality of the customer service from the staff. Friendly, welcoming, informative, extraordinarily helpful but not intrusive. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
Would definitely recommend to others and stay again should we get the chance to visit Lisboa again.

Room Tip: Level 5 rooms have the best views - over the rooftops and river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topher8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

We liked the location, very convenient. We were impressed by the friendly welcome and extremely helpful advice by the charming staff. The breakfast was delicious, the atmosphere congenial and we were impressed by the HAPPY HOUR offer of Portuguese Wine and bites which we thought was a very nice gesture. A good place to stay and explore Lisbon!

Room Tip: If you are two people, its worth checking how big the double beds are, as we found ours slightly mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I and my husband stayed in the hotel for 4 nights.
We came on Saturday night, on this night the hotel street is full of crowds of young people, standing in and outside of bars and restaurants and having drinks, so we were a bit surprised, but the truth is that hotel windows provide an excellent insolation (other nights were calm).
Hotel staff is amazing, helpful, friendly.
We loved breakfast in the hotel (homemade crepes, jams, cakes, everything good quality besides of coffee, which did not taste good, but the truth is that we are a little bit spoiled in this).
A location of the hotel is excellent, close to sea and in a historic district.
We had a bad-luck that just under our window was a garbage space for the city market and this garbage space was actually our window view.Nevertheless much worse were some containers that made continuous noise (Closed windows helped us.)
The room was small, but very, very clean. Equipped simply, but efficiently for our purpose.
The only problem was size of bed, for two people we found it to small to sleep comfortably (my estimate is 140 cm).
We would still recommend the hotel, regardless of small things I mentioned,we somehow like to stay there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katerina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We had an amazing stay in the Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse with our family. We had two family rooms, which were absolutely great, with very good beds, lovely wooden floors, high ceilings, very good isolation in terms of street noise and lots of space. The staff is really friendly and make you all feel at home. We absolutely loved the breakfast as well, with every day lots of fresh fruit, cakes and juices. Would definitely recommend to stay at Ribeira Tejo and enjoy this lovely remodeled typical Portuguese house yourself!

Room Tip: If you are a family, pick the family rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cooltour_lx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We stayed in Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse for four nights. We were heartily welcomed by André, one of the hosts, and were offered coffee and pastries. He gave us a map and highlighted all interesting sights and restaurants. The whole service team is very friendly and always open to help or to answer questions. The rooms are modern, bright and very clean. Our room was to the inside and very quiet. Breakfast is very tasty and versatile (coffee, tea, freshly squeezed orange juice, bread, cheese, ham, yoghurt, fruits, cake, pastries, etc.). Bairro Alto with its nice bars and restaurants is just around the corner and many other districts (Baixa, Alfama, etc.) can be reached in walking distance. All in all, we heavily enjoyed our stay at Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse and warmly recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#45 of 251 in Lisbon
1,484 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
#29 of 251 in Lisbon
220 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#9 of 250 in Lisbon
688 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hall Chiado
Hall Chiado
#35 of 250 in Lisbon
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Property: Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing