We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around amazing! ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #21 of 238 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“All around amazing! ”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place due to its location and resonable price (breakfast included). The service was amazing! We were given maps and recommendations upon arrival. Also, we had to leave at 6:00 the day of departure and a car service was prepared to the airport for 15 euro flat rate and a goodie bag of fruit, juice and pasteries was waiting for is to grab to go in the hotel refrigerator. The breakfast is sooooo good! Crepes, pasteries, cakes, bread, fresh juice, fruit, cereal, yogurt, etc ans all so tasty! The rooms are very clean and well decorated with a mix of new and old decor. We are very pleased with the experience at Ribeira!

Helpful?
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    149
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
93
323
27
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had a very brief visit here for 2 nights. The service at this guesthouse is exemplary - all staff were extremely friendly and went out of their way to help and even made us a little "goodly bag" of breakfast items as we had to get a very early flight out of Lisbon.

The building is a lovely converted residence with a lot of original features and the rooms are decorated with antique and unusual furniture. As this is an old building, there is some noise from other rooms and this did wake us one morning but it is not extreme and their is no noise from outside as the windows are really good. The bed was very comfy and we thought the room was a good size - this is not the place if you like a big bathroom though as being an old building the space in the bathroom is a bit on the tight size.

There is no mini-bar in rooms but there is an "honesty bar" upstsairs as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast is served upstairs and was a great selection of yummy home made cakes and pastries.

Outside, the area is a little bit shabby as it is behind the market but we had no problems and it is very close to the railway station and ferry terminal and only a 5-10 minute walk to the main heart of Lisbon and Barrio Alto.

Overall, we thought this was a great place and would definitely stay here again or in one of the other Shiadu guesthouses next time we are in Lisbon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLLR7880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed our stay here. Rooms very stylish - white with antique tiles, minimal, lovely old furniture, huge windows. The location is excellent for getting to/from the airport and around Lisbon - just by Cais do Sodre. The immediate streets are a little bit tatty but there is an amazing cafe downstairs (Tati) that is worthy of its good reviews in TimeOut and this website. The couple who run the place could not have been more helpful - loads of good tips about places to visit, eat and drink. The breakfast was good too - there are really nice views over the river from the 5th floor dining room. It's not the easiest place to find - neither the guest house, nor cafe Tati have a big sign. Look carefully!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were recommended this place which is more of an upmarket B&B than a boutique hotel. It is two minutes walk from Cais do Sodre so perfect for heading out to Sintra as well as marching up to Bairra Alto or popping over the river for lunch at the restaurant immediately where you hop off the ferry. We had the idyllic 4.02 room which has two small balconies overlooking the main food market and views of the Tejo river. They have quadruple glazing as the market can be quite noisy from early (very early) in the morning. Not the cheapest place but it is worth it for the warmth and genuine desire to ensure you have a cracking time in Lisbon. As a post script, the beds were awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godalive5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark, Europe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We very much appreciated the way we were welcomed and informed about things to do in the neighbourhood. Our room was spacey, perfectly clean and with soundproof windows (a good feature because of the early and busy market across the street). When asked, the helpful staff immediately produced two chairs for our room. After breakfast the first morning, the staff asked us how we had liked our breakfast - and they were actually genuinely interested: the next day we got yoghurt, nuts and oatmeal porridge because we had pointed out that nearly all the food was carbohydrates. Delicious, fresh fruit, though.
Location: 2 minutes from Metro Caix do Sodré and less than 10 minutes walk from the very center of Baixa-Chiado.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBtraveller_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed April 19, 2013

We did a trip in the car along the Alentejo the end of our was Lisbon and Sintra.
In Lisbon, we stayed at Ribeira Tejo only one night (29th March in room Olissipo 4) but we wish we could have stayed longer.
It was lovely staying at Ribeira Tejo, right from the charming welcome we received tips for the best Pasteís de nata in Lisboa!
Obrigadisimos for everything! Preparing the merenda for us was so nice from you.. We felt like if we went to visit to our auntie who prepared a pack lunch for us! The faitas douradas and the salame were delicious, and really useful on the drive back to Madrid.

The hotel is really well located, specially after a night out in the Barrio Alto, you just roll down Rua da Bica and you are in your comfy bed!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

From the very beginning (including many emails to organise restaurants and tours) we were warmly welcomed by Rita via e-mail. And on the day of arrival by Fatima. We loved the location. Close to the Mercado (Market) supermarket, tram, train, funicular, restaurants and bars.We were given an amazing amount of information. Every day was a greeted with warm smiles by the staff. They genuinely cared! The breakfasts were a delicious start to the day. Including a house designed newsletter of the day (complete with weather report, Portugese recipes, tips, a Portugese proverb for the day, some lagnuage expressions). We were an adult family of 10. We loved the rooms. They were large and high ceilinged. With a view from all windows. The most important thing that we appreciated was that we felt like we were at home, and not at a stuffy hotel. The reception refridgerator was offered on an honesty system. Take what you need (water, wine, beer, snacks), write it on the wall, and pay for it all at check out. Great system!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OZMARKY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#44 of 246 in Lisbon
1,440 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#23 of 246 in Lisbon
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 238 in Lisbon
672 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 445 in Lisbon
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Property: Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 238 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing