We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best choice in lisabon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #18 of 262 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 27, 2012

very nice, clean and friendly hotel. great decor, very clean and the most important very friendly and helpful staff. we stayed there for 5 days and didnt have any single problem and have been helped with everything. the rooms with french windows are amazing and you have a great space full of light. down the hotel is a very nice cafe/bistro. the surrounding of the hotel might appear for some a bit dirty, but its not. it looks very authentic and you feel like one of the domestic ones. the market in front of the hotel, plus the little square behind the hotel, little local restaurants and bars in the evening gives you a perfect taste of portugal.

Room Tip: rooms at the top floor with french windows :) are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (601)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

161 - 167 of 601 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2012

This Guesthouse is ideally located near Cais de Sodre Station and offers easy access to the Baixa, Chiado, Belem, Jeronimos Monastery, and Estoril/Cascais. The Metro is easily accessible as well.

The views of the Tejo and the Ponte 25 de Abril from the south-facing rooms on the top floors overlooking the Ribeiro Market are lovely, especially on a sunny morning.

We made our reservation through Booking.com. We specifically reserved a specific type of room. When we arrived this had not been noted and we had to insist on our reservation being met which resulted in us having a small room for one night and then a larger room the second and third nights.

However, the rooms are very small. There is hardly any hanging space for dresses and suits.

In the second "larger" room, the TV was located on a chest of drawers in a small ante-chamber and not visible from the bed.

Both bathrooms as mentioned by other reviewers are very small.

The breakfast rooms at the top of the building are located in the old attic. There is no elevator access to this area. Further more both rooms, when full, are a health and safety danger to anyone over 1,6 metres tall, as table are located under the eaves and anyone who sits at them is likely to crack their head at least once...as I did!

This Guest House has the potential to be an excellent boutique type hostelry, but for the price, more effort into a quality finish is needed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barlaventoexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This b&b is situated at a stonethrow of the river Tejo and very close by train and bus, metro at Cais de Sobre. Airport bus also stops there. The staff at the b&b is friendly and helpful. Great breakfast in the morning and a stunning view over the river. Large clean bedrooms and nicely decorated. As the place is situated above a cafe, nightcafes nearby, you should bring earplugs with you. Even then in the weekend it can still be noisy outside. That explains the sleeping rate as average, for us it was. Better to go out till dawn and sleep then. So more a place in the weekends for people who like to go out late.
Furthermore, supermarkets nearby and shops for all sorts of things. We liked it very much! P.s. Indeed difficult to find, but focus on the little cafe on the ground floor ( tati bar ).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paulus_Karin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The ratio between price and demand is great. The staff is awesome and really helpful, it makes you feel at home. It was also really clean and the breakfast was delicious. All in all, we really enjoyed staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oreta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The Guesthouse is in an attractive building overlooking the covered markets to the Estuary. I enjoyed hearing the market traders arrive with their wares and watching the ships travel upriver from my bedroom window. Simply decorated but with great style and spotlessly clean. Delightful staff who could not do enough for you and breakfast was excellent. An easy stroll to all the major attractions. There is no bar as such but tea, coffee and an honesty bar available 24 hours. A delightful place to say in a fascinating City.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a great place to stay in central Lisbon; it is reasonably priced and very well located for a host of bars, restaurants and sights. However, it is almost imposible to find it, in a taxi from the airport-our driver ended up asking in the local police station and we eventually found it marked by a very small plaque, on what is a very small road. Additionally, the area seems quite rough and ready, but we had no trouble at all during our stay.

The rooms are clean and stylish, with superb advice from the girls who oversee operations there. Their restaurant and sightseeing recommendations made the 4 night stay all the more wonderful. The breakfast was very good and you could help yourself to tea, coffee, water at any time, on the top floor, with an honesty bar for the times when there was no reception (note that the B&B is not manned 24/7! but there is a phone to contact people).

The Guesthouse is a short walk to Cais de Sodre, for the metro and trains to Belem, Cascais etc... It was a three minuite walk to the elevator to take you up to the Barrio Alto, Historic Tram 28, or a ten minute walk up there (if you haven't been to Lisbon before, maps do not have contours and so do not reveal how HILLY this city is!)

Worth noting is the fact that the owners have a new Guesthouse called Monte Belvedere, by the lovely viewing point of Santa Catarina (also on Trip Advisor) and we went there for a 30 Euro degustation, all wines included, which was a fantastic experience. They own a few properties which all seemed lovely.

I have to recommend the bar 'Pensao Amor', only a few minutes walk from the guesthouse (a ludicrously characterful, converted brothel playing jazz) but just walk into the Barrio Alto and start bar hopping-a great experience!

Room Tip: The rooms on the back had less light, but were quieter, the rooms on the front got noise from a coup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slartibartfarst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I tried to bring up something negative in my mind about Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse to write an objective review and realized that I can not really be objective. I simply fell in love with the guesthouse. Just look at the pictures and belive what you see. This is really it. A tranquil, pretty, cute, stylish place which resonates the vibe of Lisbon. The little annoyances, like unfunctioning wifi or that you need to wait about 10 minutes for the hot water are simply forgotten. on the other hand I do remember the magic experience of having breakfast at the windowsill or how nice the staff is or how tasteful the furniture are in the room. By the way it would simply be worth to pay the hundred euro for the breakfast itself. Home-made pastry and salami and jams... Try yourself!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank faszagyerek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#28 of 255 in Lisbon
502 reviews
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#10 of 262 in Lisbon
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Lapa
Lapa 82 - Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Tesouro da Baixa by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 262 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range: $85 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing