We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in Lisboa.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #19 of 250 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“An excellent place to stay in Lisboa.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Everything was perfect; very clean; Lovely rooms & great staff. Breakfast is very sweet!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lauren c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    155
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
96
330
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
malmö
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2012

The staff is lovely!
The place is lovely!
And so is also Lissabon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Make no mistake, the neighborhood is sketchy! BUT...it is well located and the actually facility and management are excellent. The rooms are nice and well appointed. It is set up more like a house so if you like the hotel lobby/bar/restaurant scene this in not for you.

Stayed there for 4 nights with 2 teens. We had no problems coming back to the room at night. People were out and about and yes there were party goers but they did not bother or approach us. There is a cute little cafe on the street level and the morning offerings at the B & B are a great offering. It is right across from a nice indoor market and only one block from the train station and bus routes to get you anywhere in the city. We also visited a little restaurant two block over with traditional fare and excellent prices...

Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2012

What a wonderful place! Design is excellent, absolutely modern and amazing. People are nice and intelligent, always ready to help you and suggest smth to discover about Portugal. Food is home like and delicious! Each day in this guesthouse we felt like home! We do recommend everyone to stay in there! Location is very comfortable for reaching the city center, night drinking desire, ocean, subway and train station! Thank you Luis and everyone in this guesthouse!
Kind regards, Alexander and Anastasia

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anastasia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April. Cute little hotel which is nicely decorated throughout with vintage furniture etc. We had one of the rooms on the top floor with view over the Tagus. We didn't experience any noise from the market outside etc - we slept very well. The breakfast was typical continental style but slightly better than average, with plenty of choices such as fresh fruit, pancakes etc. The staff were very helpful and gave lots of tips on what to do and see.

Whilst it is not the smartest area of Lisbon we didn't experience any problems at all. In fact, the location is great for transport links including the airport bus, tram to Belem, train station which are just a few minutes walk away. It is only about 10 mins walk up to the Barrio Alto for nightlife and there's a few bars and restaurants very close to the hotel.

There was only one slight issue with our stay, which we are glad to say has now been resolved. We booked one of the Deluxe Rooms on the top floor. When we arrived the room was a little smaller than we expected, although it was still nice. We didn't question it as we thought we may have made a mistake as sometimes the photos on websites can be a bit misleading. However, when we returned home we checked the website again and it appeared that the room we had been allocated was a Superior instead of the Deluxe we had paid for, so we decided to query it with the hotel. They confirmed that due to a mix-up we had indeed been allocated the wrong room and were very apologetic. They kindly offered to refund us the difference in the price (40 euros), which we gladly accepted. Not all hotels would have done this, so we were very impressed with their honesty.

Would happily return if we decided to visit Lisbon again.

Room Tip: Choose a Tagus view room on the top floor
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel over the last weekend and really enjoyed it. Was my first visit to Lisbon and was please we chose this hotel. About 10 mins from the airport in a cab or 30 mins on the bus. Great location, off the main tourist drag and in what felt like a non touristic area which is always a preference. Close to the main train terminal for anyone looking to head to Estoril or Cascais where latterly you'll find beautiful beaches. The rooms were fantastic and offerered stunning views and the staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic, really lovely people who were helpful in recommending local restaurants etc. Highly, highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this little boutique hotel. We arrived much later than anticipated due to flight delays, but the proprietor was waiting up for us and showed us all the necessary information we might need, gave us our key, etc.

The hotel is adorable, very chic and modern, but with an old feel. Our bed was comfortable and the breakfasts, divine! The service was top notch - when I got sick, the proprietor helped us figure out where to find a local hospital and how to get help (this was on Easter Sunday...) and even offered to call a cab on our behalf.

The rooms all have small flat screen t.v.'s, which are nice if you want to relax a bit before bed. Upstairs, they have a stocked fridge with "honor system" pricing - you just jot down how much you ate and pay at the end. This was useful with water, beers or chips if the need struck.

The only complaint we had was the noise level - it is true that our room was quite loud (we were facing into the back alley where the bar below empties their garbage until around 6am). We solved this problem by downloading a white-noise app on our iPad and then never had another issue. My parents stayed upstairs and said they never heard a peep from outside (they were facing the street above the bar, and their room had double paned sound-proof windows). So, just bring some earplugs or a white noise machine, and all is good :)

Some people have complained about the neighborhood, but we never felt unsafe - we came and went at all hours and just used the normal caution you would in any other city.

I would 100% stay here again on our next trip - a lovely hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmiFre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#44 of 251 in Lisbon
1,483 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
#28 of 251 in Lisbon
218 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#9 of 250 in Lisbon
685 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hall Chiado
Hall Chiado
#35 of 250 in Lisbon
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Property: Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 250 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing