We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #20 of 248 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in April. Cute little hotel which is nicely decorated throughout with vintage furniture etc. We had one of the rooms on the top floor with view over the Tagus. We didn't experience any noise from the market outside etc - we slept very well. The breakfast was typical continental style but slightly better than average, with plenty of choices such as fresh fruit, pancakes etc. The staff were very helpful and gave lots of tips on what to do and see.

Whilst it is not the smartest area of Lisbon we didn't experience any problems at all. In fact, the location is great for transport links including the airport bus, tram to Belem, train station which are just a few minutes walk away. It is only about 10 mins walk up to the Barrio Alto for nightlife and there's a few bars and restaurants very close to the hotel.

There was only one slight issue with our stay, which we are glad to say has now been resolved. We booked one of the Deluxe Rooms on the top floor. When we arrived the room was a little smaller than we expected, although it was still nice. We didn't question it as we thought we may have made a mistake as sometimes the photos on websites can be a bit misleading. However, when we returned home we checked the website again and it appeared that the room we had been allocated was a Superior instead of the Deluxe we had paid for, so we decided to query it with the hotel. They confirmed that due to a mix-up we had indeed been allocated the wrong room and were very apologetic. They kindly offered to refund us the difference in the price (40 euros), which we gladly accepted. Not all hotels would have done this, so we were very impressed with their honesty.

Would happily return if we decided to visit Lisbon again.

Room Tip: Choose a Tagus view room on the top floor
See more room tips
Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WalesTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    152
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
95
327
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel over the last weekend and really enjoyed it. Was my first visit to Lisbon and was please we chose this hotel. About 10 mins from the airport in a cab or 30 mins on the bus. Great location, off the main tourist drag and in what felt like a non touristic area which is always a preference. Close to the main train terminal for anyone looking to head to Estoril or Cascais where latterly you'll find beautiful beaches. The rooms were fantastic and offerered stunning views and the staff at the hotel were absolutely fantastic, really lovely people who were helpful in recommending local restaurants etc. Highly, highly recommended and would definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TheChief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I can't say enough good things about this little boutique hotel. We arrived much later than anticipated due to flight delays, but the proprietor was waiting up for us and showed us all the necessary information we might need, gave us our key, etc.

The hotel is adorable, very chic and modern, but with an old feel. Our bed was comfortable and the breakfasts, divine! The service was top notch - when I got sick, the proprietor helped us figure out where to find a local hospital and how to get help (this was on Easter Sunday...) and even offered to call a cab on our behalf.

The rooms all have small flat screen t.v.'s, which are nice if you want to relax a bit before bed. Upstairs, they have a stocked fridge with "honor system" pricing - you just jot down how much you ate and pay at the end. This was useful with water, beers or chips if the need struck.

The only complaint we had was the noise level - it is true that our room was quite loud (we were facing into the back alley where the bar below empties their garbage until around 6am). We solved this problem by downloading a white-noise app on our iPad and then never had another issue. My parents stayed upstairs and said they never heard a peep from outside (they were facing the street above the bar, and their room had double paned sound-proof windows). So, just bring some earplugs or a white noise machine, and all is good :)

Some people have complained about the neighborhood, but we never felt unsafe - we came and went at all hours and just used the normal caution you would in any other city.

I would 100% stay here again on our next trip - a lovely hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SmiFre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Great location (after getting over the initial shock :) ), very nice staff, room was ok and the view from the breakfast room was excellent.

It was our first trip to Lisbon ever so we didn't know what to expect. Last two blocks around the area had all the buildings full of graffitis, the place was on a side street and you had to ring the door bell to get in the building, then use the elevator to get a few floors up (to "safe height?" was our first thought.. luckily it wasn't that :) ). The inside looked a lot better and the staff did all they could to make us feel welcome. We got a cup of coffee while they gave us a map and detailed on it all the interesting things we could do in Lisbon. They gave some recommendations, asked about our plans and answered all the questions we had - with some tips to save a bit of money and be safer around the place.

Our one problem might have been that we asked for a quiet room - and we were there in the time of the festival - so they gave us a room facing the inner courtyard. It's small, there's nothing to see and it gave it's own claustrophobic extra to our stay. It wasn't BAD, we had just been hoping for a sea view (and if we remember correctly, had also paid for it but had nothing written down to confirm our suspicions, so there we were).

Breakfast was included, it contained all the basic stuff - some extra local sweet pastries every now and then (of which some were extremely good) but was a bit different from what we had hoped. Then again, I could say that about 99% of the hotels. It's not their fault, it's just that we're not such big fans of white bread and sweet stuff. Natural yoghurt, fresh fruit, oatmeal porridge (made in water, not milk :P ) and some low fat meat on a rye bread with maybe an egg is as close to perfection as it gets for us. =)

..and now that everyone thinks the place sucks, I'll repeat myself: The breakfast was good, the staff was excellent and the room was good. The room would've been very good had it been with a sea view. If they replace every single bed we slept in during our 2 weeks in Portugal with softer ones (including the one in that room) it'd be excellent. I wouldn't think twice about staying there again. I'd just make sure I wouldn't specially ask for a quiet room during the week when such thing isn't to be found anywhere in Lisbon and would rather book one with a beautiful view. =)

Room Tip: If you want to save money, book the cheapest one. It's still beautiful but you won't get a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arzka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse is really a nice place to stay. It's just a charm of Lisbon that you can touch. The location is great so many attrative places near by and good view of the river in the morning plus free Wi-fi that what the travelers need during their trip. So don't miss this place when you go to Lisbon!

Room Tip: Higher floor with the river bridge view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbanlandscape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Staff welcomes you with a smiling face and they are very nice people and helpful. Hotel is located really close to Tejo river, just 2 minutes by walking. General decoration and rooms are really nice and cute. We especially loved the cute balcony and the white big long window doors :). Breakfast is delicious especially If you have it with the window seat and amazing tejo river view. We loved this place and we are sure that we will be staying here longer.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obakav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

We loved this place. They've done a great job renovating the building and its tastefully and sympathetically decorated. The room was beautiful (although slightly lacking in storage/hanging space for clothes), the hospitality was flawless, the breakfast delicious especially if you get the window seat with the view across the Tejo to the Cristo Rei statue.
The location is incredibly handy for transport and a short walk to Barrio Alto and Baixa / Chiado. Although not the smartest area we found it perfectly safe and it had a really nice atmosphere - the little bar next door obviously a popular hang out for young professionals and a couple of nice eateries across the square.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank salieri_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#42 of 248 in Lisbon
1,460 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#9 of 248 in Lisbon
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Hall Chiado
Hall Chiado
#34 of 248 in Lisbon
182 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Alecrim ao Chiado
Alecrim ao Chiado
#22 of 248 in Lisbon
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Property: Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 248 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing