We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, but a few things missing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Ranked #17 of 230 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice, but a few things missing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

We stayed here for a four-night long weekend. The guesthouse had many positives, but a few negatives led me to give it a 3/5 rating (maybe a 3.5), mostly because I wouldn't be inclined to rebook here.

First, the positives. The rooms were spacious and well-designed. We had nice, large windows that brought in a lot of sunlight. The bathrooms were sufficient for our needs, and the rooms were very clean. The breakfast spread was really good, with good juice, breads, cheeses/sliced meat, fruit, "crepes," and these really good donut-like things. It was a great start to each day. The service was also great, and we got a great orientation to the city on the map and lots of good suggestions for site seeing. The management was very, very friendly.

For the negatives, as other reviewers have mentioned, the noise. It wasn't a huge problem on our Sun/Mon night stays, but on Fri/Sat people were partying on the street/corner/bars below us until 8 or 9 in the morning. The music was thumping all night long, and even ear plugs couldn't drown it out. If you don't mind losing a bit of sleep or are out having fun yourself, this isn't going to be a problem, but I like getting good sleep. The market across the way "wakes up" pretty early, so more noise. You could probably get a room that doesn't face the street, but the ones that do are pretty loud. As for location, easy walking distance, but not as nice/clean as other neighborhoods in Lisbon.

Room Tip: Don't get a room by the windows facing the street - very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RockyMtnGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    144
    22
    2
    7
See reviews for
91
312
26
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beaune, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed here over Thanksgiving. We were a little put off by the area at first after having been approached for a handout before we were even out of the taxi, but it turned out to be a great location! It was an 10 minute walk (at most) to the center square, the same distance to the great bars in the Barrio Alto and about 15-20 minute walk to the castle. When we checked in, we were given a map and thorough run-down of the city as well as recommendations for dining and attractions. Our room was small but clean, with a nice view over the tejo market to the river and bridge. The breakfast spread that they put out is quite varied and substantial from rolls and homemade cakes and breads to fresh fruit, yogurt, cheese, ham, jams, etc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikandSamantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

What a wonderful little find. I was in Lisbon on business and stayed in this B and B. The decor is eclectic-the rooms clean, modern and extremely comfortable. A fast wireless connection ensured that I could work. Luis and Pedro are friendly hosts and offer lots of tips and hints on the best places to visit. A great weekend! I'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: The guesthouse is next to the station and a market. Windows are double glazed so noise is at a mini...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2011

We enjoyed two short stays at the Ribeiro Tejo guesthouse over a long weekend in Lisbon sandwiching time out at Cascais. A great and personalised welcome arriving pretty late followed by a charmingly appointed room- closing windows negates Market noises.

Safe and convenient location, great 4 train, airport, tram links. 10 mins walk up to Bairro Alto.

Room Tip: Room 3 on floor 3 (possibly applies to other floors) had an impossibly small toilet closet separate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Famous11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

A really pleasant and cosy place to stay in Lisbon. Comforable guesthouse rooms decorated in a stylish way with a very good double bed . Nice breakfast in an attic also in a minimal stylish deco . And finally very frienfly and helpfull owners. Dont forget that its 2 minutes from the train-metro station. Great!!!

Konstantinos from Greece, Jiannena

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Konstantinos E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Our experience of this (admittedly cool) guesthouse differs from others on TA - we booked a 'top of the range' room with a 'panoramic view'. What we got was a view of the wheelers and the dealers, the street people and the clubbers, the drunks and the traders. It's not a great area. Convenient for the fruit and veg market opposite that opens at 5am, and handy for the all-night bars in the street below that finally close at 9 or 10am. If that's what you want. But if you're over 25, you'll probably prefer to sleep for at least a few hours at night.

Our room wasn't great either - the bathroom was part of the bedroom (a la 1960's Isle of Wight guesthouse), and only the loo alcove had a door, though you couldn't close it if you were actually sitting on the lavatory at the time, as, otherwise, your knees would've been up round your chin. The big plus is the staff who are so hip they slither. And great breakfasts. But not at that price.

Best suited to all-night revellers or those travelling with bodyguards.

Room Tip: Well. If you want to see the river over the market roof, you need to be on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Stormfever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2011

We stayed at the Guesthouse twice. The first time was when we were fresh off the plan from San Francisco. Although we arrived in the morning, well before check in time, the wonderful team that greeted us had the room ready and available (we had planned to just drop off our bags, figuring that it was too early to check in). They also offered us breakfast, just when we really needed a cup of their great coffee! Pedro sat down with us and gave us maps, information, answered questions, and made suggestions. The room was lovely, with a little sitting area separate from the bedroom. there are dual windows which are both double paned, and solid wood shutter over them both, which blocked a lot of noise from the street and the mercado across the way.

The Guesthouse is very well located for easy access to buses, metro and ferry. The breakfast is ample, including sliced meat, cheese, fresh fruit, coffee, rolls, and a variety of fresh baked goods. The coffee is great!

The real strength of the guesthouse is its staff. We communicated a number of times via email prior to our arrival and they always answered promptly. Everyone was incredibly helpful (we found this throughout Portugal); I realized before we left for Porto the next morning that I had not booked the right number of nights in Porto. Our option was to see if we could get the missing night at our B&B in Porto, or come back early to Lisbon. The Guesthouse did not have a room available for that night, but they quickly offered to help us find something. We decided to look for something in Porto instead, but really appreciated their offer.

The only criticism I have of the Guesthouse is something that may not bother folks used to the city, but was hard for us, as we live in a rural area which is very quiet. The Guesthouse is across the street from a market (interesting in itself and worth a look) and they receive deliveries late in the evening and early in the morning. The windows and shutters helped reduce the noise, but couldn't eliminate it entirely. Other than that, we thought the Guesthouse was a great place to stay, and the staff were absolutely wonderful.

Room Tip: If you are under the kitchen, on the 4th floor, you will hear folks moving around in the morning as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dragonflydebbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#40 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,371 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
Monte Belvedere by Shiadu
#18 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casa do Patio by Shiadu
#8 of 230 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu

Property: Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu
Address: Travessa Sao Paulo Nr. 5, Lisbon 1200-431, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu was once by the river… Actually only the Mercado da Ribeira and the Cais do Sodre station separate the fully renovated building of the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu from the River Tagus. Most of the tiles from the 19th Century were renovated and can be seen from various points of the communal areas and also in some double and family suites. Take the lift to the 4th floor and simply use the stair to go up to the 5th floor, where you will find the best view at the Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu. There is nothing better than friendly and dedicated staff to welcome you and serve you a delicious home-made breakfast where you will have the opportunity of watching the ships go by, crossing under the 25th of April Bridge along with looking out to the Cristo Rei always on the lookout for any movement. Then, filled with energy you may begin your visit of Lisbon through the neighbourhoods of Chiado, Baixa and Bairro Alto which are less than a 10 minute walk-away from the Guesthouse, or if you prefer, you may also get on the No. 15 tram or the No. 28 tram to Alfama and Belem. Follow your instinct... we are waiting for you ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ribeira Tejo by Shiadu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ribeira Tejo Boutique Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing