We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small cozy place near railway station” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Ranked #230 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Moscow
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small cozy place near railway station”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

I chose this place because it's located near Entrecampos station, and we (my 9 y.o. daughter and me) had to spend a night in Lisbon and than catch a train to Loule. VIP Inn Berna hotel has small, but clean and cozy rooms. I liked the bathroom with a real bath, not just a shower. The receptionists spoke English well and answered all my questions.
What I didn't like was that wifi is not free there ;-) But at least they have it, and also they have a public computer at the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank typechecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    146
    233
    84
    55
See reviews for
82
181
41
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for the purpose to attend a congress and it was a fair price value balance. The people at the check in desk were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Harald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naas, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Stayed here for a week in July with my girlfriend, we didnt have high expectations but we got in a package holiday. From the outside it looks modern and stylish but dont be fooled its aged inside. The hotel isn't exactly located in the City Center, as Lisbon has many central shopping districts throughout the city. It's close by to the Metro which is perfect literally 1 minute to Campo Pequeno Metro stop which also has the Bullring & Underground mini shopping mall. The elevator is weird you have to open the door and then proceed up the lift. We were put in a room beside the lift, we didn't want to cause a fuss. The noise isn't too bad beside the lift, it's the cleaners/people around in the corridors that cause the most noise. The cleaners are a bit on the noisy side and the doors seem to slam shut which can be annoying. The "no wifi" in the rooms is a big pain. It's €3 an hour for wifi that you can only get access to in the hotel lobby and the wifi itself takes fits. Took me nearly 30 minutes to try log onto it. €3 also to use the slow outdated computer in the lobby also. The TV was grand good few English Channels on it like BBC1/Fox/Fox Life/VH1 etc so that helped. Room service is basically non existent, there's a Bar Menu which acts as the Room Service also as well except a tax of €2.50 for it. There's only sandwiches on the bar menu along with drinks so don't expect much. If you're planning on using a hotel just for sleeping in this is fine but I'd probably spend more money on a nice 4 star one in Marques De Pombal where the main city center is.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SeanByrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lao
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

My friend ' bag was stolen at this hotel lobby, the thief ran through the front door hotel which usually keep opening without any security.The receptionist said this was the first incident in this hotel which I still have doubt , however the day after I noticed that the front door was still kept opened.This hotel is situated in not so safe area of Lisbon, there are many pickpockets at the Entrecampos station .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lisbon hotels

Estoril, Portugal
Level Contributor
123 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Typical budget hotel in the centre of Lisbon, convenient for airport but not for shopping or sightseeing. This hotel is in need of urgent refurbishing in the social areas, elevators are tiny and moody, the arificial flowers in the breakfast room depressing. My room was ok , quite big and recently renovated,but my friends room smelled of sewage and was tiny. It depends in which part of this hotel your room is allocated so make sure you ask for a renovated room, and ask for a room facing the rear of the hotel as front rooms can be very noisy. W-fi is available on payment and does not work in the bedrooms, two very bad news!
Breakfast was ok in quantity and quality but very plain in presentation. For just a few extra € try the nearby VIPZurique, same hotel chain but a better establishment.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagartixa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacala, Mozambique
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Located at the finantial area of Lisbon, next to the new avenues, handy to business and still fo a short city break. Next to The Metro Subway station and to a large Shopping Center. The Campo Pequeno shopping and the Gulbenkian Fundation gardens. Very economic restaurants around the area.

Room Tip: Higher stage rooms look to be quieter as well the one facing the backyard. No n ice view but front o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emídio B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed in VIP Berna for 3 nights. Everything is nice in this hotel (room, huge balcony, breakfast, clean...) except for people working in the reception. We arrived to do the check in and were received by a very unpleasant and arrogant lady who treated us so bad! We felt so unwelcome to the hotel that every time we left the room we wished she wouldn't be at the reception so we wouldn't have to look at her face again ! Luckily, we didn't see her again, but her colleges weren't better! We needed some informations and when we asked to another woman working in the reception she just didn't know the answers and eventually called a college (a man around 35 years old) who actually helped us but in a very rude way. I will come back to this place once all these people get fired! Seriously, there are so many Portuguese people willing to work and with great capacities who don't even have a job and have to emigrate!!! Give them an opportunity!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaraBranches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#151 of 247 in Lisbon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
1.4 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#227 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#135 of 247 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#213 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.8 mi away
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
Residencial Lar do Areeiro
#212 of 247 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Property: VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Address: Avenida Antonio Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing