We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost Benefit - My choice in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
VIP Inn Berna Hotel
Ranked #235 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Excellent cost benefit for this very well located 3 star hotel. I travelled to Lisbon on business and spent nearly 80 nights in there. My original plan was to stay there for the first week only and then search something more suitable for a long term stay. However, me and a few colleagues ended up staying full length of our mission in the Vip Inn Berna.
It is a very simple hotel, with little facilities, no luxury, old furniture. Wi Fi internet (paid) is only available at the vast Lobby, rooms are provided with cable internet (also paid and cable not always available for guests, better carry your own). Rooms are average size, no minibar, small TV with no satellite channels, breakfast is expensive and air conditioning is often inefficient. During peak season this hotel is permanently crowded with groups from all over the world, mostly senior travelers (what helps to keep it quiet).

But wait, check the pros…

PROS: If you book through their website, fare becomes lower and internet is complimentary. Staff is extremely helpful and friendly. There is a very pleasant bar at the Lobby where Mr. Paulo, the bartender, prepares top quality caipirinha drinks and offers cold draught Sagres beer, it is open until 1 am. Hotel is centrally located, in a safe and quiet area near several restaurants, galleries, malls, cinema, subway station (Campo Pequeno) and gas station. Accomodations are clean and sheets/towels are replaced on daily basis. Laundry facilities work as expected. Several nearby coffee shops offering delicious cheap and fresh pastry, so you don’t need to worry about breakfast at the hotel. Lisbon has a very welcoming climate compared to most of Europe, making it one of the best places to walk around. There is also a variety of famous places to visit so you won’t spend much time in your room.

In general the atmosphere in this hotel is very pleasant what makes it worth staying at, we felt home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elton_DF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (615)
There are newer reviews for VIP Inn Berna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 616 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

The hotel is situated near to the bullring and a 5 min walk from the metro, buy a day ticket which gives you unlimited travel on the tubes and buses for 24 hrs, save your ticket and you can reload it the next day saving an additional 50 cents. Also less than 10 mins to main station where you can catch train for Sintra.
We took a taxi from the airport, we were at the hotel in 10 mins and the cost was just over 8 euros, going back there is a taxi rank around the corner where we found there were always a few cabs.
Hotel bar is fine and we were on a deal that included breakfast. We found this fine, there were scrambled eggs (very good), sausages and bacon every day, pastries and jams, fruit cocktail, cereals, yoghurt and juices and hot drinks. We were happy with the selection and you can eat as much as you like.
The rooms are a little dated but comfortable and clean. First night we had noisy neighbours who got up very early but apart from that was ok. You can hear aircraft during the day but I think this is probably the same all over Lisbon.
Would have liked a kettle in the room but not sure if this is usual in Lisbon as last time we went there was not one either. Yes you have to pay for Wi Fi but we popped into Starbucks each day downtown (They are open late) and they have free Wi Fi.
As a base to explore Lisbon and surrounding areas I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kevmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

I booked it for 6 nights, room only for a quite good price,
GOOD POINTS- clean, transportation nearby, close to city(in 10 min. you get to rossio, 15 min to belem) , and just around the corner you can find a local cafe with good prices for your breakfast even lunches

BAD POINTS- need to pay for parking and wi-fi , old and noisy air con, had to wait for the lift more than 5 minutes everyday in the morning because the housekeepers goes up and down with their trolleys so you end up sharing the same lift (when there is space) or wait until is free.
Old tv and the remote control wasn`t working.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nana g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

V.I.P. Inn Berna Lisbon

This hotel is what it is: Low budget hotel in the centre of the city. It is in need of a major face lift but it’s clean and comfortable and less than 5 minutes walk from The Bullring.
There is some noise as you would expect form a hotel so close to the airport, train station and subway in such a big and vibrant city, but we never found it to be a problem.

The hotel was room only, but if you wish to purchase breakfast that will set you back 7 Euros we only had breakfast once and found it cold and not very good value for money. Likewise evening dinner is also served but we gave this a miss and chose to eat out.

The rooms have telephone, TV, bathroom with shower, hairdryer and free use of the safe in the rooms. The bedding and the towels were changed every day and the cleaner did a very good job.

Getting about, we used one of the open top busses for 2 days until we got our bearings and after that it was public busses or walking. The 2 day pass for the open top bus was 15 Euros each.

Places well worth visiting are: Belem Tower, The Cathedral at Baixa, Castelo St Jorge and the carriage museum. If you don’t do anything else you must visit Sintra and the Palace of Pena although this is not recommended for anyone who has walking difficulties as it’s quite steep.

Lisbon is a great city with lots to see and do, well worth visiting.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor away from the lift
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doneit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

It was old hotel -clean but you cant sleep at night because sounds & noise of cars.you should pay for Internet.breakfast was very good but you should pay separately.staff was nice.very good location just 15 min to airport by car and 30 min to city center by walking.all of that it was very ordinary.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peyman y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

Good clean hotel with pleasant and helpful staff.
Handy for airport bus, the metro, local buses to town and elsewhere.Entrecampos train station a few minutes away(trains to Sintra).
Shopping Mall at Campo Pequeno.
Wi- fi expensive with limited coverage.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2011

Big hotel located close to the city centre and buses and metro.
Fee for internet, wifi and parking.
Very small rooms.
Breakfast quite good.
Everything clean and nice looking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yokaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#239 of 254 in Lisbon
532 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
Sao Pedro Lisbon Hotel
#215 of 254 in Lisbon
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alif Hotel
Alif Hotel
#184 of 254 in Lisbon
565 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lisbon City Hotel
Lisbon City Hotel
#164 of 254 in Lisbon
522 reviews
0.2 mi away
3k Barcelona Hotel
3k Barcelona Hotel
#160 of 254 in Lisbon
580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VIP Inn Berna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VIP Inn Berna Hotel

Address: Avenida Antonio Serpa 13, Lisbon 1069-199, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $38 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — VIP Inn Berna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When convenience is of the utmost importance the VIP Inn Berna Hotel, with 240 rooms all equipped with the most modern facilities, is the ideal choice among hotels in Lisbon. The Hotel also features conference facilities for you to hold any event. Near the Bullfight Arena “Campo Pequeno”, only a few minutes from the Historical Center of Lisbon and the International Airport. Near the Hotel one may find access to public transportation such as bus, taxi, underground and train (less than 100 meters). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your VIP Inn Berna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vip Hotel Berna
Berna Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing