We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable. It is not the old town, but the transport links are good.”
Review of Novotel Lisboa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Lisboa
Ranked #115 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed February 5, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank fr2011tok
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,771)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

405 - 411 of 2,771 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

I spent three nights in this hotel. Quite good location, not far from metro station, only about five minutes walk from Placa de Espanha. I've read the noise off airplanes is heard in the hotel, it's true but it doesn't matter- the planes are not flying in the night:) Hotel has extremely good and friendly Staff, They helped us everytime we need some help.
The room was cleaned everyday, towels were changed, beds were convenient. And breakfast were superb, delicious and giving power for all the day activity. I'm sure next time I'll be in Lisbon I"ll choose Novotel Lisboa Hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Me and my wife had a weekend in Lisbon (Friday-Monday) and stayed at the Novotel.
Service was great.
Breakfast can be improved.
Close to the Metro that will bring you everywhere in Lisbon.

Great value for Money.

Will chose the same hotel the next time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lars B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

When you stay in one Novotel, you've almost seen them all. They are out of the central area but offering good and quality accomodation with affordable prices. When you add "kids stay and eat free" there is no doubt where to settle when travelling as a family of four.
The Lisboa hotel is like the above. It is a good hotel close to the metro station "praca de Espana" which is less than 10 minutes walking, and then by the metro you're in the city centre in around another 10-15 minutes. That means less than half an our from exiting your room.
The rooms are spacious, but when you use the sofa for kids, they become bearable in size. Room amenities, classic Novotel. Fridge, coffee maker, flat TV, hair dryer, safe deposit box, slippers, enough luggage space,...everything you need. Rooms are cleaned every day, towels changed,...
The breakfast is great, with great choice of everything from fruits and cereals, over cold meat and cheese, eggs in five ways, sausages, mushrooms, fresh bakery products (take the famous Pasteis de Belem cookies, they're awesome). The only minus is that it is the same every day (we spent four nights there).
Although they advertise with free wifi throughout the hotel, the best signal is in the lobby. In some areas of the restaurant, in the elevators and in some parts of the rooms it gets lost so you have problems.
If you're with the car, I suggest not to take their garage which is a little bit pricey. Along the street are plenty car spaces (and in the side streets also) and parking for overnight is free (from 7 pm till 9 am).

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank B1714D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Kathleen F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

This hotel is situated on a large avenue outside the main center of Lisbon. It is therefore easy to reach by car. It is at walking distance from both the Lisbon Zoo and the large shop Corte Ingles. There is underground parking at a relatively high price (Eur 12 per 24hrs). Entering and exiting the garage is ok, there may be problems when there is no room on the first available level (-4) and one is forced to enter the more narrow -5 level.
The street is lined with hotels: Mercure and Silken are also there. However, Novotel offered an extremely good deal on their website for a stay in a family room. We have not regretted staying there at this price. The lobby of the hotel is modern. It offers a video/play corner for the kids. The corridors and rooms are both a bit dated and could do with some refreshing. In the room we first got assigned, the window wouldn´t close properly. As the room was overlooking the busy street, we requested and received without any problem another room. The family room we had was rather small. With two beds there was not a lot of room left. The bathroom was more recently refurbished but there was a crack in the bath. The carpet of the room was worn and needs replacement. Over Christmas a lot of Portuguese emigrants stayed at the hotel and at night there was quite a bit of noise in the corridors. When I mentioned this upon check-out the receptionist took it very seriously and urged me to complain earlier at a next occasion. The cleaning ladies did an excellent job as our room was properly cleaned every day.
Breakfast was very good: lots of choice, fresh fruit etc. No fresh orange juice though. Although it was busy, the hotel had employed sufficient staff to avoid queues.
Would we stay there again: For this price yes. It is a hotel which is easy to reach, has a 4* breakfast and offered family rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Budgetglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days on a trip to Lisbon. It was spacious and clean but in a rubbish location far, far away from anything you might like to see or do. Bus stops are nearby but the buses are infrequent, and the train stops were at least a 10 minute walk away.

I was surprised this was a 4 star because it seemed to lack any little touches, especially for women. It was more like a 3 star or motel. The bed was terribly uncomfortable and the window leaked - we told the staff but all they did was put a towel there to soak up the water. The toiletries were disappointing, there was no hair conditioner provided and not even any lotion. The outlets were located far from a mirror so you couldn't use a hairdryer or straighteners in front of them. The gym was very disappointing with no light weights (nothing under 10kg), and no yoga mats.

It seems geared solely towards the male business traveler.

The dinner was absolutely terrible and overpriced, if you do stay here for business definitely eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacyfromchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Lisboa
Mercure Lisboa
#88 of 255 in Lisbon
1,357 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,168 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Lisbon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon - Continental
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Lisboa Jose Malhoa
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
Ibis Lisboa Saldanha
#75 of 255 in Lisbon
2,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lisboa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lisboa

Address: Avenida Jose Malhoa 1, Lisbon 1099-051, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#76 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#88 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $78 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lisboa 4*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Lisboa is a 4 star hotel in the centre of Lisbon, next to Praca de Espanha and the Gulbenkian Foundation and just 2 km from Marques de Pombal Square. Perfect for your next business trip or for a holiday with your family, the hotel offers 249airconditioned rooms, including 150 non smoking rooms and 1 suite, seven meeting rooms for your conference and seminar needs, a restaurant, bar, private parking and a swimming pool. Pets welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Lisboa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Lisboa Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisbon
Novotel Hotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisbon
Lisbon Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing