We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utterly Awesome!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Suites Lisbon
Ranked #103 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 15, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights at Clarion Suites, which was actually cheaper than the first place we'd planned to stay. So glad we made the change.
Our room, which was more like a 1 brm apartment was deluxe. Good selection of TV channels, A/C, huge beds, in room safe, big couches, full kitchen..... the list goes on.
The hotel has a decent pool, which is nice. No free WiFi.... however there is a McD's on the corner of the street and they have free WiFi. The hotel is a 5 min (downhill) stroll to the metro. Plenty of places to eat around the hotel and a small supermarket (MiniPreco) across the road.
Probably one of the best places I've ever stayed.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mat_in_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 667 reviews

Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed at the Clarion with 2 friends, we had the 1 bedroom apartment. This was recommended by a friend who stayed there a few years back. There was 2 double beds in the bedroom and a comfy double sofa bed in the lounge. The apartment was modern and very clean. The kitchenette had a microwave, friedge and two electric rings. The rooms were cleaned daily and towels also changed daily. The staff were very friendly, helpful and informative. The receptionist knew the local area very well and recommended places to go and visit, explanining how to get there. The pool was very clean, loungers comfy and the area a little sun trap. We didn't try the breakfast but founda little cafe just around the corner that did excellent omlettes. The apartment was 5 mins walk from the main metro (Marques de Pombal station which was manned so you could talk to someone even though the ticket machines were easy to use and gave change. The Dochas area is good for the evening to get a nice meal (can recommend the Argentinian Steakhouse and Pomodoro). There's also a club and a few bars here. We did the tour bus, both the red and blue route which was value for money. A day in Sintra is good. You can get the train from Rossi station which is only about 15 mins walk from the apartment. You can get the bus outside Sintra station (bus 434) which takes you up to the Castle and the Palace. Unfortunately we didn't know this and by the time we found a bus stop the bus was full so had to walk up. It took about 40 mins and is very very steep, not for the faint hearted. Travel is really cheap. It was about 4 euro each return for Sintra and a one day travel card for trams, buses and local trains was 3.75 euro. There's plenty to do and see in Lisbon itself. I can fully recommend Lisbon and the Clarion Suites.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SurreyDoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Four of us stayed in a 1 bed suite for 3 nights in August. We booked it after reading the reviews here and paid £280 via Travelrepublic, a very good deal for a central hotel in a European capital. It is a little bit out of the main tourist areas, but is very close to the Metro which is very cheap and easy to use.

The room had been recently refurbished and was bright and modern with flat screen TV's in both the lounge and the bedroom. The proper beds were very nice, however the double bed settee that my wife and I ended up on wasn't so great! The kitchen area was small but perfectly adequate for a short stay. The outdoor pool area is a great bonus and after walking Lisbon streets in 35 degree heat it was great to have a cooling dip before going out to eat at night.

I only have a couple of minor quibbles. The first is that despite the hotel knowing there were 4 of us in the room we were only left sufficient bedding and towels for 2, and this was a recurring theme after every visit from the maids. Also there is no free WiFi here and although 3 Euros an hour may be quite cheap Internet access is a fundamental service these days and should be free to hotel guests.

All in all this is a very good choice and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stalban55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

The hotel is a longish walk from the city centre, or a short underground ride (but a walk to get to the station). Has a swimming pool, which was very handy in summer. Room (1 bed apartment) was perfectly adequate, but lighting is poor, so feels dark. Biggest gripe - rock hard mattress on bed meant a poor night's sleep. And why can't European hotels provide a kettle at least ? It was an apartment with a small kitchen after all.
Overall, it was Ok for a couple of nights, and if you can get a reasonable price, its decent value for money. Just don't pay a lot for it.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim_the_Taf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2010

A fantastic hotel in the heart of Lisbon, it is only 15min walk into the centre and taxi's are also cheap.
We had a 1 bed apartment and found it to be very spacious. It has a lovely modern looking interior, and it was very handy to have our own little kitchen. It was very clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.
The garden area is nice with a refreshing pool.
We booked the room through Vivastay and got a fantastic price for our 10 night stay.
I would go back in a heartbeat!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KariJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

The cab driver had a hard time locating the hotel (I think he was new!) which is in a residential district close to Marques de Pombal Square. The receprionist was very efficient and apologised for giving us a room other than the one we booked (for 1 night we just booked a standard double). Not a problem as we were given the penthouse suite - 3 double bedrooms each with en-suite, powder room, hughe living/dining room, fully equipped eat-in kitchen and an enormous patio. Very nice! We walked to the center stopping for a snack on the way and returned on the metro - very easy. On the way back we stopped in the grocery store and bought breakfast and supper items then stayed put enjoying our patio. The pool was inviting and, since it was 40 degrees Hubby found it very refreshing. Breakfast was not included in our rate si I cannot comment on it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our brief stay and will return when we are next in Lisbon. The quiet, comfort and pool make up for being a little out of town. Of course we will probobly get a regular room next time although the penthouse would make sense if travelling with friends or family as each bedroom/bathroom was self contained.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keenvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

A very good hotel at a good price, large modern rooms by europeon standards. The only thing close walking to the hotel is McDonalds, one local restaurant and a fully stocked small grocery store, everything else is at least a 1-5km walk and it's very hilly, but cabs are cheap (for the uphill journey home). We'll stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevor-wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 mi away
Altis Prime
Altis Prime
#51 of 255 in Lisbon
701 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Lisbon
Holiday Inn Lisbon
#136 of 255 in Lisbon
1,169 reviews
0.2 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#22 of 255 in Lisbon
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Novotel Lisboa
Novotel Lisboa
#115 of 255 in Lisbon
2,772 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altis Suites
Altis Suites
#107 of 255 in Lisbon
293 reviews
0.9 mi away
SANA Reno Hotel
SANA Reno Hotel
#91 of 255 in Lisbon
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Suites Lisbon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Suites Lisbon

Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 44 50, Lisbon 1250-193, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#80 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $83 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Suites Lisbon 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Suites Lisbon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Suites Lisbon Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Hotel Lisbon
Clarion Lisbon
Lisbon Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing