We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - Wonderfull vieuw”
Review of Hotel do Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel do Chiado
Ranked #59 of 254 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Located right in the center you find this hotel of very good quality. Chose a room on the top facing the castle, and you will get your own terrrace with a beautyfull vieuw over the city and towards the castle.
Nice service-minded staff - dinner of very good quality.
We secured when booking the room that there was internet in the room. Very important for us so that we could be in touch with our company at home. It did not work during the whole stay, though the staff and technicians worked for days. It was a big problem to us.
The hotel management was truely very sorry and compensated us with a discount and a free stay for one night next time visiting Lisbon. A very niceand friendly way to treat guests!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarsK51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldoChiado, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel do Chiado, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mr.,

On behalf of all the staff members we thank you sincerely for your kind reviews.
We are sorry for the inconvenient with the internet. The internet works properly but unfortunately we had a problem with the server, which is already arranged.
We thank you for your kind compliments and we look forward to welcoming you back for your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
Cátia Simões

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (501)
There are newer reviews for Hotel do Chiado
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 501 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel. We had a very spacious room with view over the city and harbour, and the bed was 2 m wide and extremely comfortable. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Lisbon!
P.S. The panorama bar serves a great Port :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldoChiado, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel do Chiado, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mrs.,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Hotel do Chiado. Is a pleasure for us to know that your stay has exceeded yours expectations.
We will gladly to welcome you back at the Hotel do Chiado.

Yours sincerely,
Cátia Simões

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Spending time in Lisbon, despite the revamp of the roads at present, is always a pleasure. This time I spent two wonderful nights in this Hotel. Clean, friendly and discreet. The location is perfect as you are on the crown of the Chiado hill with a metro station literally below the hotel giving access to the rest of Lisbon. Several of the main sights are within easy walking or tram distance and good bars and restaurants are literally round the corner.
The views from the restaurant balcony are fabulous, with the Castle surveying the old city and river and the whole panorama before you. The rooms are very comfortable and the bathrooms are large, the restaurant is very nice for dinner and breakfast. The staff are very well trained and like to practise their English! Friendly and courteous at all times, but not intrusive.
The walls and wall décor could be a better quality and the corridors definitely need some photographs or art of some kind.

Room Tip: You can get a garden room with stunning views if you intend spending time there, but the other rooms...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 7GTAM7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldoChiado, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel do Chiado, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mrs.,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at the Hotel do Chiado.
We are happy to read these wonderful lines about our Hotel and staff. We provide a refined service for our guests. As well as properly maintained, because now we already finished the refurbishment and the corridors has a renovated décor. We already accomplish the renovation of the corridors and we are sure that you will appreciate.
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you once more at the Hotel do Chiado.

Yours sincerely,
Cátia Simões

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My first experience of Hotel do Chiado was as a guest at a private dinner. I loved the food and the incredible view from the bar/restaurant, and knew I'd come back one day. I've just returned from a trip where I needed everything to be just perfect (I proposed to my girlfriend, she said "yes"). I booked the "romantic package" with a premium room, terrace, free champagne. As expected, the staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was big, bright and offered spectacular views from our private terrace. On the first evening we ate at the restaurant and the food was first class. I can't speak for other rooms, but the premium double room is essential for any romantic trip. Honestly, if you want a comfortable stay in the heart of old Lisbon, and especially if you have romance in your plans, you should pay a bit more and enjoy a stay at Hotel do Chiado. I'll return for sure.

Room Tip: Spend a little more for a premium double with private terrace overlooking Lisbon. You will not regre...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldoChiado, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel do Chiado, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

Dear Mr.,

Thank you for taking time to post your review following your stay at Hotel do Chiado
We were very pleased to know that we met your expectations, and that you found our hotel perfect for your romantic trip. Definitely we agree that we have the Lisbon best view!
Your enthusiasm for our Hotel is very much appreciated. The entire team will be thrilled to hear your kind comments.
We hope to have the great honor of welcoming you back to the Hotel do Chiado in a very near future.

Yours sincerely,
Cátia Simões

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

This hotel is a hidden gem in the Chiado region of Lisbon. Front desk staff was super friendly. Even made reservations for us for a night of fado in Alfama. Renovated rooms were beautifully appointed with very nice modern bathroom. The view was spectacular. I didn't want to leave my balcony. The breakfast was very nice with everything you could possibly want in a very pretty room. Only downside is no parking, so we had to pay $25 for parking in an underground parking lot nearby and drag our luggage through the streets, but it was worth it.....

Room Tip: Ask for renovated room with view of St. George Castle.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank helena08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

3 days in Lisbon - an amazing view of city and river from room
roof top bar with equallly wonderful view
modern decor - some parts of hotel undergoing renovation
nice room, adequately spacious
front desk and bar staff all curteous and helpful with city sights and events

Room Tip: worth having room with city view!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveladventures123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is right in the city centre and within walking distance of most of the plazas and the sea front. It is undergoing renovations at the moment and the renovated rooms are quite good. Can't speak for those not renovated. Lobby is very small and breakfast is on the top floor. Breakfast is disappointing but the views are good. Hotel is part of a shopping centre and the very noise refuse collection is at 1.15 a.m., not good for light sleepers. Good rooms and good wifi. Excellent location

Room Tip: Taxi from the airport is only about €12
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keenerDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#32 of 254 in Lisbon
823 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Downtown Hotel
Brown's Downtown Hotel
#58 of 254 in Lisbon
866 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 254 in Lisbon
993 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 254 in Lisbon
1,560 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#28 of 254 in Lisbon
912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Chiado

Address: Rua Nova do Almada 114, Lisbon 1200-290, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#51 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $151 - $478 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Chiado is located in Chiado / Baixa, Lisbon's historic district, near Bairro Alto, Rossio Square and Avenida da Liberdade. Hotel do Chiado was built in the historic building of Armazéns do Chiado, nowadays a shopping center, which was completely restored by the famous architect Siza Vieira after the tragic fire of 1988. Located in Chiado, the trendiest, elegant and chic meeting point of Lisbon, this is the only hotel in town that offers rooms with private terraces and panoramic views of the Castle and the TagusRiver. The subway station Baixa-Chiado is located beneath the building and you can easily find taxi service side by side with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Lisbon
Regency Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing