We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent locale; boutique-ish”
Review of Hotel do Chiado

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel do Chiado
Ranked #62 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Great location in the Chiado district; numerous great restaurants within several blocks (we enjoyed Sacramento and L'argo in particular; the hotel concierge recommended and booked both).

The lobby is small and not particularly warm; same with the elevators. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The breakfast room is a little confusing to find, but food is good. The bar is quiet--we spent some time there our last night, and wish it wasn't raining so we could've sat outside. Not much of a scene, from our experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Member000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

163 - 169 of 515 reviews

Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is the place to be in Lisbon. Excellent quality price ratio. Hotel centrally located, walking distance to eveything: restaurants, Metro, rossio, shopping, bars,...Safe and clean. Opt for the rooms on the top floor with an excellent view of the city and the castle.

Room Tip: Opt for the rooms on the top floor with an excellent view of the city and the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank krikor40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hotel do Chiado is the place to stay in Lisbon. The location, just off the Rua Garrett adjacent to the Bairro Alto district puts you in the heart of Old Lisbon, steps away from shopping, restaurants and prime tourist sites, just steps from the Elevador de Santa Justa. Though located in the heart of a busy area, when you enter the Hotel do Chiado you enter another world, a world of service and attentiveness you might expect at a far more expensive hotel. The hotel features contemporary styling and is very clean. The rooms are large and the beds very comfortable. The multi-lingual staff is very welcoming and attentive. But the best part is the view from the seventh floor patio, looking over the red tile roofs of the old city toward the Castelo de Sao Jorge, looming in the distance. From here you can also see the triumphal arch leading to the Praca do Comercio, Se' Cathedral, and ships passing along the Tajus River. On the first of our two stays at the Hotel do Chiado this past August we ate dinner in the dining-lounge area adjacent to the top floor patio. Here we actually enjoyed two of the best meals we had in Lisbon. This beautiful room also afforded spectacular views of the old city through floor to ceiling windows and featured excellent cuisine. It was also a romantic place to enjoy port wine and cheese after dinner. Unfortunately, during our second visit, this room was being renovated, so we do not know how the renovation turned out. But the original decor was beautiful, so we can assume the renovation was beautiful as well. Breakfast is served one floor up from the dining-lounge area and also affords spectacular views of the old city. We highly recommend this hotel when you travel to Lisbon. One caveat. We booked our stay online through SW Reservations Systems ("Strawberry World"), and when we arrived at Hotel do Chiado for our first stay they did not have our reservation! Fortunately, we were able to re-book both of our stays again, but since they had not received any reservations from Strawberry World we had to pay for our room all over again. The hotel staff gave us a discount from the original rate as well as an upgrade, and we eventually secured a credit to our account from Strawberry World for the original booking. Strawberry World informed us that they had been experiencing financial problems, so we would recommend booking through another travel service or directly with the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter, as you don't hear the street musicians who perform every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank james V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently had a corporate dinner at this Hotel and, unfortunately, I could not be more disappointed... The food was bad, the service was shocking and we left with an overall sense of fiasco. On a positive note, the view cannot be missed, it is breathtaking! It is only unfortunate one cannot survive on a view alone...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PipaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We booked a room for one night--- and upon seeing the actual room, went back down to reception and requested the same room for 7 nights. The view from the terrace doors is world class. Ultra clean, well run hotel. Very warm , friendly service. The views from the breakfast room are great , too. Not super expensive, and a really perfect location to walk to any of the great parts of Lisbon. We love Hotel do Chiado.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a terrace and the great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheCarry-ons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Lisbon, Hotel do Chiado, 5 nights. For some reason some travel books refer to it as Regency do Chiado, while others call it just Hotel do Chiado. The location was perfect for me: close to all major sightseeing destinations. The city is very hilly with lots of very steep streets and lots of stairs. You get lots of exercise just by walking to major attractions, like up to the castle or through the Alfama district. You see and experience so much more when walking vs. taking a tram or a bus. But transportation is abundant and lots of people enjoying the sites without all the walking. I stayed in the 7th floor premium room. The room had a large terrace overlooking the castle and you could see the Se cathedral from the balcony. Unfortunately the terraces are far from private and your neighbours can see into your room if the curtains are open. Also, at night, I felt that the door to the terrace needed to be closed for safety. The hotel is going to have some renovation and it certainly needs it. Although this hotel is very clean, it looks dated and in need of new furniture. AC is certainly needed and was working perfectly. Breakfast was tasty and varied with fresh fruit and juices available every day. Although the hotel is rated as 4 stars, I would give accommodations as 3 stars, location as 5 and food as 4.

Room Tip: The 7th floor premium rooms have a terrace with great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank traveller16180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

From this hotel, you can easily reach all the touristic points of interest in Lisbon, like St. George's Castle, Rossio Train Station, Bairro Alto, Praca do Comercio, Santa Fe Cathedral etc. Our room was on 7 th floor, it was indeed very pricey, but the view was really amazing: through one window you could see St. George's Castle, while through the other window the Tejo river was flowing in front of your eyes. But keep in mind that there are different categories of room in the hotel, and some of them might not have the same view. Alos very nice breakfast. The only problem we had during our 6 days stay in Hotel do Chiado was that the building nearby was under construction, and the noise during one night was unbearable. We called the reception, but the man who was on duty didnt take any measures to stop the noise (to talk to the people from the other building). Eventually, we had to call the police, and half an hour later we could finally go to sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carinaBucharest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#23 of 255 in Lisbon
1,017 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#17 of 255 in Lisbon
1,603 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#37 of 255 in Lisbon
873 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,846 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
AlmaLusa Baixa/Chiado
#32 of 255 in Lisbon
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Chiado

Address: Rua Nova do Almada 114, Lisbon 1200-290, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#58 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $147 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Chiado is located in Chiado / Baixa, Lisbon's historic district, near Bairro Alto, Rossio Square and Avenida da Liberdade. Hotel do Chiado was built in the historic building of Armazéns do Chiado, nowadays a shopping center, which was completely restored by the famous architect Siza Vieira after the tragic fire of 1988. Located in Chiado, the trendiest, elegant and chic meeting point of Lisbon, this is the only hotel in town that offers rooms with private terraces and panoramic views of the Castle and the TagusRiver. The subway station Baixa-Chiado is located beneath the building and you can easily find taxi service side by side with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Splitty, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel do Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Lisbon
Regency Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing