We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel do Chiado
Nearby Hotels
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$252
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$173
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$245
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$283
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TRYP Lisboa Aeroporto Hotel(Lisbon)
$186
$142
Melia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$299
$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (549)
Filter reviews
550 results
Traveler rating
265
209
41
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
265
209
41
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspremium roomrooftop bartop floorprivate terracefrench balconygreat locationrua garrettjorge castlebreakfast roomstaying at this hotelair contrams and busesmetro stationwithin walking distancecentrally located hotelold lisbonwonderful city
Filter
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 550 reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Not a Hilton type (sprawl); more European type. Contrary to other Trip reviews, we had great service by the front desk & wait staff. Yes, rooms don't grab you as new but they are comfortable & (always) clean. Recently bought anew; will take individual awhile to invest in new furniture etc. We the love central location to theater area, restaurants (hope you like fish!), pastry / coffee houses, buses/trolleys to Belem or Expo or Castle. Just great to walk the plazas. Afternoon wine on the terrace is very very soothing. If your not conditioned, be aware of the many hills Lisbon is!! For Chiado, you don't want to do hills, you can ride the escalators in the shopping centre ... Yes Chiado is on a hill! Taxi rack there too. A/C is European ... temp is higher compared to America. Weakness ... Breakfast the same things everyday. Can be nosy if you leave windows open.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing South towards the (Tagus) river (views), assuming you booked that room type. .... or East to the Castle (quiter).
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Track1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

It is a great hotel!! The location and the views of the city are unmatched!! You are within walking distance of everything! The rooms were nothing special and to tell you the truth were quite bland. The service was phenomenal! This is my first time in Lisbon and I came by myself and they helped out a lot in anything I needed.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgehcj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I theink the hotel has, probably the best location in Lisbon, but that does not help if the service is not good. The staff was nice and helpful, but the rooms were not very new. My kids had a room with a very small window with no view at all. The Almada street is very busy at night, and rooms facing that side are extremely noisy.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms facing the Baixa
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jorge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We spent several nights at the do Chiado. The hotel itself is nothing to write home about, although it is clean and comfortable enough. The rooms are looking a little tired and could do with a face-lift. The bathrooms really need renovating although they are OK. The hotel is well located in a very central area of Lisbon, within walking distance to Barrio Alto but far enough away to feel a bit quieter. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a rooftop terrace with great views across central Lisbon and to the river, although there is a very limited range of drinks available. Breakfasts are average.The best thing about do Chiado however is the stunning view from the rooms on the sixth floor facing the back of the hotel. They have balconies looking over the old town. There are also rooms on the seventh floor with grassy lawns out the front and similar views.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel on the sixth floor with a view of the old town.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darlene3501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

We stayed in this Hotel in the beginning o f July and the feeling is: dissapointment ! total dissapointment. The room (704) was probably one the worst we have ever been, furniture very oldfashioned, the window is above our shoulders with no view at all and does not open, bathroom very poor, carpet very old and the tv is probably from the early 90's. The breakfats is poor and monotonous. The staff is there but does nothing: after one night without sleeping because of the terrible noise from the street (people talking, screaming, one man singing), on the second night i call the reception at 02 in the morning because it was impossible to sleep with the noise. In the morning i complaint at the front desk and said they should get new windows because the ones they have let all the noise "enter" the room. the reply was: "oh, really ?? it's the first time someone says that" !!! And one thing i don't get it: whay is the decoration chinese ? or someting similar to chinese ? and not pretty ! The carpet on the corridors are very old, the front desk is a small table with two pc's and two chairs. This is not a 4* hotel ! But I must say that the view from the bar terrace and of some of the rooms that are on the back side is really impressive !

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Primavera2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews