We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“hotel with charme but not profissionalism or etica!!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel do Chiado

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel do Chiado
Ranked #44 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Porto, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hotel with charme but not profissionalism or etica!!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2011

Was charged for a national phone call(10minutes) and a riped off 60 euros!!! I have to say that I contacted the maneger or director of that department,the lady was nice and said that wiill get back to me(I left home number portuguese and mob.and also may email address)I am sad to say but if you are look for honesty do not go there.I am Portuguese and unfortunaly ashamed...one week has past!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinkerbell361975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    181
    35
    19
    12
See reviews for
78
228
17
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

Our stay at the do Chiado was only for one night in July 2010. On the whole I would recommend this hotel. However, there is one thing which turned our stay from Brilliant to an "Oh well, lets put up with it and move on".
We arrived at the hotel in the late morning, arranged to leave our cases while we went out for a tour of Lisbon, and were told that we had been up-graded to a suite. The main attraction for booking this hotel was the superior rooms with the terrace overlooking the city, castle, etc. We had booked on the hotel web-site and had selected that specific package.
On our return later that afternoon, on entering our "suite", we discovered that this was a room on the top floor with french balcony overlooking the city roads, and not the beautiful terrace view we had booked for. This was bad enough but the suite room was up on the top floor of the hotel situated in the eaves of the roof and "the air conditioning was not working". If I go into my attic at home on a sunny day it is very hot - this room was no different and had the benefit of the high 20s Lisbon sun beating down on it all day. It was like walking into an oven.
Numerour trips to reception followed. First we were told that the rooms with terrace were all now occupied. What about the air-con? We were instructed to press a button and it would work. We followed the detailed instruction of the receptionist and nothing. We asked if someone would come up to the room and switch it on for us, we were told that we could have the loan of a fan. Another reviewer has mentioned this "air-con" problem.
As for describing this room as a suite - well, it has a small annex room with an arm chair, next to the bedroom.
Ultimately we were moved to small, modern, standard room with a shuttered window facing the brick walled building opposite. It was deliciously cooled with air-con that worked. On our return to the UK we appealed for a refund in the price difference for the room we paid for and the one we got. This was not something the hotel arrange, but through their website agent Strawberry World this was eventually paid.
On the plus side, the staff were reasonably ok. The bar and views from the public areas on the top floor were terrific. The breakfast was very nice. And the hotel is a reasonably good hotel, well located.
In summary - I would recommend this hotel but if you want one of those rooms with the fantastic terrace and view - be specific and don't be fobbed off with the suite with no air-con.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DandDonHoliday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viena
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

We stayed in Chiado in the beggining of April for a weekend and the only word we can think of is Perfect.
The room had a great terrace and a beautifull vie over the Castle and river, and was very clean and comfortable. Staff at reception was very helpfull.
Not only breakfast was amazing, but we also had dinner on one of the days and food was great and not expansive. Also, we had the chance to have dinner on the terrace, overlooking the old town, and I believe there is no better view of Lisbon than in Hotel do Chiado.
If you want to have a unique experience in staying in Lisbon you must try this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a Premium room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VienaBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Substandard for it's potential.
Upon arrival around noon, after a 10 hour flight, the check in was substandard almost unprofessional.
It all appears that staff are not adequately trained for this category of hotel.
Manners were similar to thjse in most guesthouses.
The chech in process was completed with the information in a dry tone that I could not access the room before 2pm, strict orders they appeared to have even though I almost begged for a shower. Right at that instant I decided that something was going wrong with the leadership of this 4* hotel.
Finally when I was allowed to ho up, indications weren't adequate: go up to 7th floor and take the stairs to the 7th. On the 7th floor o couldn't find the stairs and asked an employee who reacted as if I was out of my mind, insisting that the 7th floor was the last floor and that there was mo 8th floor... EventuLly I found the stairs near by the kitchen.
The room has no furniture (no chair, no desk, no chest) just the tv to put ay personal objects on top.
The toilets have no floor drain and nothing to put the used soap on.
Rooms 803 and 804 are connected with a simple door (can hear and see through) it was quite odd to be in the room at the same time as your imposed "roommates".
Theocation and the view are the 2 only things that were not disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manicondaroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Namur, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Price is lower compared with Regency Chiado , but service is becoming poor ;
espescially bath room furniture and break fast .
During 6 years we enjoied the premium room view , but now in relation to the poor
service , our stay will end now in do Chiado definetively , and with regrets ......

Room Tip: only premium rooms provide the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Belgium22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2011

Nice hotel, centrally located in Chiado. 40 meters to metro stop, walking distance to most sights in the city centre. Rooms nice, however a bit worn but well maintained. Good breakfast.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank immos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

Nice clean hotel. Nice large room with nice bathroom. Bed a little hard but, in my experience, hotels with comfortable beds are few and far between! Very adequate buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Hotel very well situated, within easy reach to the airport shuttle stop and the undergroung station.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller5954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Behotelisboa
Behotelisboa
#46 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#30 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The 7 Hotel
The 7 Hotel
#43 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
My Story Hotel Ouro
My Story Hotel Ouro
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisboa Prata Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel do Chiado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel do Chiado

Property: Hotel do Chiado
Address: Rua Nova do Almada, 114, Lisbon 1200-290, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#45 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#50 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#59 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel do Chiado 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel do Chiado is located in Chiado / Baixa, Lisbon's historic district, near Bairro Alto, Rossio Square and Avenida da Liberdade. Hotel do Chiado was built in the historic building of Armazéns do Chiado, nowadays a shopping center, which was completely restored by the famous architect Siza Vieira after the tragic fire of 1988. Located in Chiado, the trendiest, elegant and chic meeting point of Lisbon, this is the only hotel in town that offers rooms with private terraces and panoramic views of the Castle and the TagusRiver. The subway station Baixa-Chiado is located beneath the building and you can easily find taxi service side by side with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel do Chiado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Hotel Lisbon
Regency Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing