We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #40 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
South Midlands
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Super Friendly Hotel in Great Location”
Reviewed June 14, 2010

Just returned from annual weekend with group of girl-friends. Chose this hotel after having read previous reviews & because it offered excellent value for money for a hotel of this standard.
Rooms are ultra modern with fabulous beds. Bose stereo & flat screen tv. Bathrooms whilst compact have everything you need including a good mirror for applying make-up-very important for our group! Beautiful bar/lounge area & drinks, though pricey, are not exorbitant. Good choice for breakfast with full english, if required, cooked to order.
What makes a good hotel great, however, is the staff. They were all so informative & friendly from the moment we arrived until we left. We were recommended to go to a restaurant called Sacramento which was superb. Terrific value for food of the highest quality & gorgeous surroundings.
I would return to Lisbon & without hesitation I would rebook the Sofitel. It's an old cliche but it really is the staff that make the difference.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,463
    1,117
    248
    67
    41
See reviews for
672
2,060
256
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

Really nice hotel! Definely felt luxurious, especially for the price! I really liked the location because it was in the middle of several points of interests/neighborhoods. The avenue itself is not particularly awesome but it is a short (tho often uphill) walk to everywhere we wanted to go. Or there is a trolly to bring you to the uphill hoods. Free internet is in the "business center" downstairs so as long as you don't need to use a computer for a long period of time there is no reason to pay for the wireless they offer. Nice bar to lounge around in too. Nice bathroom. I think you will be happy there!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MorganSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2010

My wife and I just got back from Lison where we stayed at the Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade. We were not exactly sure what to expect as we've never stayed at a Sofitel before. We were pleased. The staff was very polite and helpful from check-in to check-out. The room was well-appointed, including L'occitane toiletries in the bathroom. The bed was king-size and amazingly comfortable. It wasn't the most modern hotel we've ever stayed in, but definitely modern-leaning vs traditional. We were able to walk to every part of town that we wanted to see in a reasonable amount of time. Overall a very good stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan, Usa
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

I spent two nights at this hotel, occuping 3 rooms. One room was a Luxury room, the other two were Classic rooms. After reading all of the positive reviews here, I had pretty high expectations. Unfortunately, they were not met in some regards.

A published perk of being a Platinum A-Club member is a room upgrade. However, I did not receive an upgrade for any of the 3 rooms despite my kind request. What was frustrating was I was told different reasons why I did not receive an upgrade. One of the men behind the front desk was quite curt and had little grace. They did not attempt to resolve my disappointed, nor did they seem to care. Check-in and check-out each took about 10 minutes, which is crazy in this day and age.

The rooms are nice but the classic rooms are very small. Beware that you may be given a smoking room even if you request non-smoking rooms (that happened to us). The rooms were clean and relatively quiet. The location is also very good, just across the street from a metro station and on a tree-lined boulevard.

There was no coffee/tea provided in the Classic rooms, nor was there any lotion provided in the bathrooms. These are both essential items for a hotel in my opinion. I did not eat breakfast at the hotel; 16 Euros/person seemed too expensive.

If you are an Elite A-Club member, do not expect any meaningful perks. If I return to Lisbon, I will certainly choose another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlytheTail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Great small hotel in the absolute perfect location. Metro right outside, train station down the street, easy walk to the sights, restaurants. Very nice staff helpful.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrhos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ZH
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I can only recommend this hotel. Reception was most helpful and informative. Rooms had a very nice deco, and the most comfortable beds :)

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MataHari_OnTheRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
488 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 720 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2010

After having a positive surprise experience at Sofitel St James in London (see review on this site) earlier in the year, I have oped to stay in Sofitels elsewhere, so much so that recently in just over a week I had the opportunity to cómpare London, Washington DC and now Lisbon. It is fair to say that the approach to service and atittude in all of the Sofitels is same or similar, as is general design and furnishings philosophy. Liberdade where we stayed for 4 nights has all of that, except its rooms are surprisingly small. We stayed first 2 in a room overlooking inner couryard, airconditioners on roof and "too close for comfort" adjoining buildings. It did not have flat screen TV which meant the protruding TV Cabinet left very narrow passage between it and the bed, leading one to bump into it on a regular basis - with no natural light it was quite claustrophobic. The fan in the bathroom did not work, leading the bathroom to steam up within minutes to unreasonable degree, leaving the cupboard doors that house the bathroom open was not an option as the airconditioner in the bedroom was not functioning properly, and with no opening window, it left the whole little box of the room humid. The hotel was full so moving the first 2 nights was not an option but staff were accommodating and helpful to offer such move when it was available.

Having been relocated for 2 out of the remaining nights to another (same size) room but with flat screen TV on the 8th floor overlooking Avenida Liberdade, where one could open the window on a warm night - was a completely different experience. Ask for Avenida view on check in, you will have a wonderful view of the city and the Castle St Jorge as a bonus (see pics). Bathroom is very compact by Sofitel standards, but well appointed, with excellent 2 choice shower, baths and as always super clean (no lotion offered in amenities, strangely enough, one had to ask for it!)

The hotel is super clean, and service and housekeeping excellent, any requests acted upon immediately. Room service quality not great, but super efficient and friendly. Door staff extremely helpful and friendly. Fresh flowers and original artworks with Lisbon landmarks and historical tidbits in red and black all a nice touch. Complimentary water with turnover service was also appreciated. The cons are: poor lighting, difficult to get ready, leave alone shave or groom in bathroom and the like, and very slow check in and check out with long line ups all the 4 days we were there. Overall good experience with some room for improvement as it is not in the same league as other Sofitels, like St James in London (which was again on this second stay, excellent).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
875 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,215 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 251 in Lisbon
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing