We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #40 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Very central, very nice hotel. Rooms are great, staff are great - we really liked it. Small criticism, breakfast service a bit slow and a bit expensive - other than that, excellent.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andybrown999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,463
    1,117
    248
    67
    41
See reviews for
672
2,060
256
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2009

By all means an excellent hotel - at the right price, besides. Rooms might be a little tiny, but they are extremely well decorated and practical. The hotel design per se is terrific, and so is the service - not to mention the quality of the local restaurant. The location is also perfect. I will definitely go again next time I am on a trip to Lisbon.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nico1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swords, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Excellent hotel, location, staff. Simple you must stay here if visiting Lisbon!.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenSwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

Of the four hotels we stayed in during our trip this was by far our favorite. It was a really nice hotel, we got a great price, and it was in an awesome location. The room was super nice and had by far the most comfortable bed we slept in while in Europe. We had breakfast in our room one morning and it was incredible, not to mention reasonably priced. There was a bar/restaurant downstairs where we had drinks - it was so-so priced, but not too bad in comparison to other places in the area. We did not eat in the restaurant b/c it seemed a little overpriced. The location of the hotel was fantastic - we could walk to many different restaurants/bars, and it was only a couple of blocks from a funicular going up the hill to Bairro Alto. It was also located right by a couple of bus stops, and stops for the tour buses. The internet was not free, however, the front desk ended up giving me a great deal since I had trouble connecting. Overall, this hotel was great and I would highly recommend it!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scmommy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2009

Very good value, excellent location, comfortable with helpful staff. We did try the 17 euro breakfast but there are many alternatives close to the Hotel at a fraction of the price. The 24 hour pass for metro/tram/bus etc can be purchased from a machine at the adjacent metro station and is again very good value.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stournavigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

We selected the Sofitel mainly because its a well-known brand hotel. We could be assured it would be nice accommodations in an new city (it was our first time to Lisbon). There were other similar "starred" (4 star) hotels in the area that were less expensive, but we were very pleased with our choice! The bed and linens were very comfortable, furnishings modern, and offered L'Occitane toiletries. We stayed 3 nights in a "superior" room with city view, and we had no street noise despite being street side because the hotel faces Avenida Da Liberdade which runs along a beautiful old promenade/park.

The hotel is well located within walking distance to many of the sight seeing locations (e.g., Barrio Alto) in city center as well as convenient to transportation options to other locations. The entrance to the Metro is literally in front of the hotel entrance, and the starting point of touristic Tram #28 is just a short 10 minute walk away, for example. The taxi from airport to the hotel was only 11 Euro before tip.

We ended each day of sight seeing with a drink and/or dinner in the comfortable lobby bar. We sat in the bar couch for hours each day just enjoying the rest, drinking wine, beer, and port, and simply reading or people watching. We never felt rushed and the staff was always gracious. Furthermore, they all spoke fluent English which was very helpful. The hotel also offers free local and international (i.e., English language) newspapers in the "library" adjacent to the bar. Wi-Fi also is available in the lobby bar with several electrical plugs accessible while sitting at the tables or couches. (There's a small discount on Wi-Fi access with multi-day purchase -- the same account can be used throughout the hotel.)

We happened to be at the hotel while the road crew of Green Day were also staying there -- they were noticeable but hardly ill-behaved. Another night happened to be election night and a candidate's party was being held at the hotel on Sunday night which added to the novelty of the stay. We watched TV as the results come in and could hear the same cheers on screen as well as from the conference rooms from the level below. In essence, the hotel was a nice combination of welcoming comfort with a little city buzz of things "happening".

I'd well recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WanderingJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at the Sofitel last week. The location is perfect, with a metro station outside the door. It wasn't possible to park the car for check-in, but the doorman took the keys and the baggage and that was all there was to check-in. Luxurious rooms, though small, but not small for a large city. Best service we experienced on our trip. As well as the best breakfast buffet. The breads were up to French standards. If you want eggs as part of your buffet, they are individually prepared, rather than left sitting in a warm dish for hours. Buffet price was 17 euros and parking was 20 euros. We reserved in advance and got a room rate of 125 euros, a fantastic price for such quality. Hotel is close enough to barrio alto that you can enjoy the city's night life and still walk home safely, enjoying all those night lights. Lisbon is a lovely city.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidhauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 251 in Lisbon
875 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,216 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#28 of 251 in Lisbon
1,057 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing