We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most enjoyable stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #40 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bruges, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable stay!”
Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade has an excellent location in the middle of the city center. The hotel has a very nice atmosphere - and a lot of bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. The rooms are nice, and well equiped with Bose dock station. Minibar is not too expensive. Front desk staff / concierge Elisabete / Bellboys excellent!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KarelBruges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and preference for Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and thank you for your compliments regarding to our location and service provided by our Ambassadors, special from Claudia who made your experience truly memorable.

We look forward to welcome you and your partner back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,460
    1,115
    247
    67
    41
See reviews for
671
2,056
255
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The 7 of us (Room 502, Room 515 and Room 520 - checked in on 28th April 2014) throughly enjoyed our time in Lisbon Sofitel celebrating our father's 60th birthday.

We find all aspects of the hotel services extremely good! All (I really mean all) the staff we encountered were very warm and helpful (especially Claudia Gouveia)! Thank you Sofitel Lisbon!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerenceTerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

It was a pleasure to know that you have truly enjoyed the little surprised we prepared for you as well as your overall experience with us. Thank you for your compliments and kind words in regards to the service provided by our Ambassadors, special from Claudia who made your experience truly memorable.

We look forward to welcome you and your partner back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is located in the main avenue of Lisbon, very well connected with the Barrio Alto and the main Lisbon tourist attractions.
It is a real five starts, since you cross the main door, the staff make you feel comfortable, they explain the main characteristics of the hotel and help you in any needs. Lobby is very luxury. There is a little gym, a couple of computers with printer and Internet connexion in the basement, and Wifi in the rooms, all free of charges.
Rooms offer everything you need, coffee maker, bathroom amenities of first brand. Rooms are quite and well furniture, perhaps they are not very big, but bathrooms are well solve behind a doors that look like a wardrobe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistralksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay.

We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay with us, and would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the service provided by our Ambassadors, the room facilities and services and our prime location. We have taken note of all your comments. We take all our Guest’s opinions seriously as all comments assist us in improving our services and facilities to meet your expectations. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed at this hotel twice this past month - first stay of five nights and second stay of one night. Best part of the hotel is the location. Its right in the middle of the Avenida Liberdade and located just a couple of minutes walk from tons of restaurants, tapas bars and cafes. The area is very safe to walk along even at night. And the service at the hotel is fabulous particularly Jose at Reception and the porter Nelson. However, I feel like the rooms need some updating. We were in a luxury room in the first stay which we found small, also we had a balcony but the door didn't work! After repeated requests to Housekeeping, we finally gave up on using the balcony. Also, there was a lack of storage in the room, which makes it a struggle to put away stuff and only two power plug outlets. We also had a problem with the safe on the third day and someone had to come and fix it. Finally, there is a real shortage of English TV channels - we only had BBC and CNN, along with Sky Sports which I think is absurd. I understand that the Sofitel is a French chain, but they do have a lot of English-speaking guests and should cater to them as well. Just a bunch of things that could have been much better. The wifi did work well and was free which is a plus. On the second stay, we were in the same category but stayed on a lower floor without a balcony and actually thought this room was much larger and more easy to move around, with two people and lots of luggage. We loved Lisbon and will definitely be back. Just not maybe at the Sofitel. We were at the Intercontinental in Porto for 4 days and loved that hotel, this one not so much.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyBearNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for the time taken to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

Nonetheless, we understand that we have not met all your expectations and apologize for the inconvenience you faced with the Hotel services.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for any inconveniences this may have caused during your stay.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Ct
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Sofitel for 2 nights at the start of our vacation and 2 nights ending our vacation. The staff was amazing.....professional, friendly, accommodating! A special shout out to Ailton who helped us out with our extra evening in Lisbon! It is a beautiful city with so much to take in. At the Sofitel you couldn't get more central to everything the city has to offer......restaurants, shopping, historic attractions! On Easter Sunday, when we expected the city to be quiet, the streets were alive with big screen TVs set up throughout to watch their football tournament. Go Benfica!! Can't wait to come back to explore more of Portugal and will definitely come back to the Sofitel!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zlady1144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your kind words regarding to our location and service provided by our Ambassadors, special from Ailton who made your experience truly memorable.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

Located on Avenida Liberdade directly in front of Avenida metro station but still walkable to all central Lisbon attractions. A couple of excellent nearby restaurants including AdLib (in Sofitel itself), Rubro and a small very local restaurant in the back streets behind the Sofitel called Quermesse. Fantastic and helpful staff at the Sofitel made the experience even better..

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cgmewatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay.

We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our prestigious location.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diest, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

As you may and can expect from a Sofitel, it is a hotel of high quality. First of all the location is ideal. Situated on the middle/down part of the Av. da Liberdade and therefore walking distance to most of the places to visit. Also at 20m of the entrance of the Metro and nearby a bus and tram stop. Rooms are cosy and clean and personnel is very friendly. Beds are perfect and nights are very quiet.

If I have to find one, the only negative point I personally could find is that there is no nice place at the hotel to sit outside to profit from the good weather so you need always to get outside for that.

A rather pricy hotel (compared to others) but you get quality for it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koen Cl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment and preference for Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us.
Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 251 in Lisbon
871 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,212 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 251 in Lisbon
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing