We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay in Lisbon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #46 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 20, 2014

The moment you arrive at the sofitel Lisbon you are welcomed by a most friendly and charming staff. Being a frequent sofitel customer we were upgraded from a luxury room to junior suite. The suite was spacious and equipped with luxurious amenities and the usual comfy mybed. Housekeeping is very good, quiet and the room is very clean. Getting a glimps at the other rooms, i can't understand the criticism about the room size. Given the fact that you are in downtown densely constructed Lisbon, the size of the rooms is absolutely reasonable. Even the admittedly small gym is well equipped and in excellent condition. The hotel may be an older property in the sofitel chain, but knowing it from stays years ago, it has been renovated with much effort, a sense for details and modernity, while keeping the charm of the Building. An asset as found in all sofitels is again the staff. Omnipresent if you need help, but descreet to make you feel at home, they are more then just friendly. If there is one thing, that could be improved, then maybe the coordination of the staff at the restaurant. They are as friendly as the rest, but obviously not guided properly, as the service seemed rather hectical even with few guests presents and the tone among them seemed a bit unfriendly. All in all wie will sure come back and if you are looking for downtown luxury in Lisbon, then the sofitel should be your Choice.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 4,105 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2014

The Sofitel was a perfect base from which to explore Lisbon.

We had an excellent welcome and every staff member that we came across were polite and helpful.

The room although a little small (almost to be expected in the city centre) had everything that we could possibly need and was spotlessly clean.

The breakfast we fantastic with fresh baked breads and proper freshly squeezed juices etc.

A first rate excellent experience and would wholeheartedly recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukwouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you have appreciated every moment of your experience with us. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I decided to stay at this hotel because i had a great experience at Sofitel Budapest Chain Bridge Hotel. However, this Lisbon property is completely different. I booked a 5 night stay, due to my airline flight change i had to leave a day earlier. I notified the hotel but they did not care ... they did not even want to issue a hotel credit towards another stay. ... and they were even sold out that week.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Alex N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to comment about your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I make several trips per year to Lisbon and always stay at the Sofitel. The service and accommodations are superb.

The location makes it ideal to walk the city and easily visit all of the restaurant areas.

Myself, and my work associates always recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
1  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr. Tony,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to write about your experience. We are glad to know that you appreciate our location and that you always stay in our hotel during your trips to Lisbon; it is always our utmost pleasure to welcome you. Thank you for your and your work associate’s recommendation of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade. We look forward to welcome all of you on your next visit to Lisbon!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel! Great location superb breakfast nice rooms comfortable bed in the heart of city centre will definitely stay here again staff was helpful and caring everything near by best hotel to stay in Lisbon amazing deserts menu in the buffet breakfast in short best option

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank kamal n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr. Kamal,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to comment about your experience with us.

We are extremely pleased to read your kind words in regards to our hotel, location, quality of breakfast, room facilities, and comfort of our “MyBed” as well as the quality of our desert menu. We appreciate all the feedback we can get from our Guests as it helps us in our ongoing efforts to improve our services and facilities. Thank you for your comments and recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Airport to this hotel via taxi (less than 20 Euro )
Location of this hotel is the best anybody could want for, The road the hotel is located is where all the super brands are located if your looking for shopping this is the one. If you like to walk around to the tourist places this again takes the best location as you can walk down and you get all the places such as city lift from where you can see the whole city , the old tram which is the national heritage , the city square is juse 10 min walk , all restos and mini marts are all around this hotel , brands like starbucks and hard rock cafe is just 5 min away.

Coming to the hotel the front office guys are very very helpfull and they make sure your taken care and you would get the details of the location we could visit near by the hotel. On weekends there would be street market where you could buy old antique stuffs. The culture can be felt around this hotel.

Rooms are quite big with well branded toiletries and amenities , we got a room facing the street so we had a daily view of the fort as well as sunset.

Would i stay here again : YES i would for sure.
Recommend to my friends : YES i would.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank guru p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Mr. Guru,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your time with us.

We are pleased that you enjoyed our location and the facilities in the surroundings, the service provided by our front desk staff who do their very best to ensure your comfort, and the quality of our room facilities and amenities. It would be our utmost pleasure to welcome you and your friends to our hotel on your next trip to Lisbon. Thank you for your recommendation!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Great Location on Av. Liberdade (right in front of a metro station and you can always find a taxi very quickly) Most of the staff is fluent in English and French, not to mention Portuguese and probably other languages. Great concierge service giving great tips about what/how to order in local restaurants.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nlaurin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our location, the variety of languages we deliver our service with, as well as the service provided by our Concierge. It is our utmost pleasure to ensure our Guest’s well-being and comfort and it is a pleasure to know that we have achieved this with you. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your next trip to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 255 in Lisbon
2,874 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#61 of 255 in Lisbon
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#48 of 255 in Lisbon
1,476 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#41 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $155 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing