We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #36 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great location and service!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

We love our stay at the Sofitel, the location on Av. Liberdade was very centrally located, walking distance to nearly everything. Breakfast was a steep 20 something euros/person with our particular booking but delicious. The staff was amazing, helpful, friendly and a real plus. The room was moderate sized for Europe and very well appointed. Great rain shower, AC and amenities. We would definitely come back to the Sofitel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank alexis r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Alexis,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to comment about your experience.

It is with great pleasure that we read that you loved your stay in our hotel and that you appreciated our location, room facilities and conditions. We would also like to thank you very much for the kind words in regards to the service provided by our Ambassadors. Your words are a true motivation to our Ambassadors who do their best to make each Guest’s experience a truly unique one.

We look forward to your return to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,377
    1,074
    234
    61
    40
See reviews for
635
1,979
247
397
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Hotel location is good. room size was also acceptable. The staff were also very good and helpful but the quality of service was not what is expecting from a 5 star hotel. Air conditioner did not work properly. Room was booked for a couple but the slippers and complementary water bottle were arranged for one. House keeping was poor

Room Tip: Room was Superior Double Room and was acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohsen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mr. Mohsen,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to comment about your experience.

We are glad to know that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, nevertheless, it is with great regret that we come to know that your overall stay was not up to your expectations. We inform you that we were upgrading our Air Conditioner system during a few nights in the period you stayed at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, in order to provide the high quality service that our Guests deserve. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during the night.

We hope to have the chance to surpass your expectations and to have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
315 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

This nice hotel sits on the Avenida de Libertades at the posh Lisbon hotels area. It is away from the crowded areas. It is a convenient walk to the post office and lots of small restaurants can be found in the area. The hotel room is very clean and is equipped with modern facilities. We arrived on a Sunday and was having a hard time calling the tour company . The hotel staff was very helpful and patient and took time in helping us follow up the status of our city tour and out of town tour. Its these small acts of kindness , that are not small after all. Thank you Sofitel staff!!!
from : Porter120 Manila

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Porter120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed our location, room conditions and facilities as well as the service provided by our Ambassadors. All our Ambassadors do their best to make each Guest’s stay memorable and unique and it is a great pleasure to know that we have achieved this with you. Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Lisbon was by far the worst city we visited on our 8 city Euro trip. It was dirty, stay off the 28 Tram, and we had the feeling of everyone trying to rip us off(especially restaurants) Other cities included Rome, Berlin, Krakow, Dresden, Barcelona, and Paris.
The hotel was great, we reserved a mini suite which was newly remodeled. Staff was wonderful and the hotel restaurant was great. We ate both breakfast and lunch there. The staff was very helpful.
The best thing about Lisbon was leaving for fantastic Barcelona. Avoid TAP airline if you can.

Room Tip: The 28 Tram will stop in the middle of the ghetto and kick everyone off. It is not a circular route.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EurotravelerTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were 7 middle aged young boys that stayed in Sofitel Liberdade one weekend. The service we got in the bar was exceptional, and the staff in the hotel treated us very well the whole stay, whatever time of day/night we arrived/left the hotel.
Thanx to Karim, Patricia, Phillip. Well be back (if you want to).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bjarne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The first thing you will notice are the comfortable beds. The location is perfect. If you eat in the hotel, the food is good. The hotel lobby has a nice bar. Rooms are clean, and the Wifi is free, unlike some other major hotels. I would definitely return here should I ever find myself in Lisbon again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brink9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to comment about your experience. We are delighted to read that you had an ideal stay with us and that you enjoyed our “MyBeds”, location of our hotel, quality of our food and beverage facilities and services and cleanliness of our rooms. It would be a pleasure to welcome you to Lisbon on your next trip, thank you for your recommendation!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

What's not to love about this Sofitel...got early check in even though I did not need it, a room upgrade, the most comfortable bed imaginable. Staff is immensely helpful, especially Karim who helped with finding the best feijoada in all of Lisbon. The location is ideal, the Metro is outside the front door. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ratchet5501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to write about your experience.

We are very glad that you enjoyed our location and that you had a great stay with us. In addition, we are equally happy to know that we have provided you with a pleasant stay. Karim joins me today to thank you for your kind words in regards to the service he provided. We all look forward to welcome you to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade on your visits to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
InterContinental Lisbon
#52 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,540 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing