We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #36 of 241 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

It was our second stay at the Sofitel Lisbon and we still love it! Spacious rooms, perfectly clean hotel and professional staff are the ingredients that made our stay perfect. Located in the main avenue of Lisbon, the Sofitel should be highly recommended for a city trip! We will certainly come back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raph-BEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your experience with us. It was a pleasure to welcome you again to our hotel and to know that you once again fully satisfied with your time at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, mainly due to the service provided by our Ambassadors. Thank you for your wonder recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you once again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,125
    949
    211
    55
    34
See reviews for
544
1,758
228
355
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
48 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I stayed last week for just 2 nights so just few comments :

(+) helpful concierge and front desk
(+) great location
(-) no spa (we went to Four Seasons instead and it was amazing)
(-) tiny rooms
(-) bathroom reminds more of a walking closet, weak air circulation
(-) was told to wait UNSPECIFIED amount of time to get breakfast, with more customers waiting. I would rather appreciate if hotel gave "heads up" instead and pushed more for in room dining if space is an issue - this single morning experience ruined my overall impression of the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Milan,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for the time taken to give us your feedback in regards to your experience.

We would like to thank you for your comments in regards to the service provided by our front desk Ambassadors and our location. Nonetheless, we understand we have not met your overall expectations and would like to apologize for the inconvenience you faced in the morning. Rest assured we have taken note of your comments and will do our best to avoid future occurrences like these.

Again, thank you for the comments which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service. If you would like to discuss you experience with us, please do not hesitate to contact us through h1319-sm@sofitel.com so we may address it directly with you.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had an excellent room with a view to the Liberdade street and the park in front. The bed was very comfortable but the comforter type cover was too warm for me, fortunately the air-conditioning worked very well. The bathroom and shower well very well appointed although a bit cramped for 2 people. My stay would have been great except for a bout of food poisoning from an Italian style restaurant at the lower end of Liberdade where the square begins.
I would recommend this hotel as good value for the price we paid which was discounted where we booked.

Room Tip: Ask for street view on the 4th floor or above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slick58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

To begin with, we hope you are feeling better from the unfortunate situation of food poisoning you experienced whilst you were in Lisbon. Nevertheless, we are happy to know that you enjoyed a pleasant experience in our hotel and that you truly appreciated the comfort of our “MyBed”. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your friends on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Where do I start, I simply cannot praise the staff at this hotel enough. I have been fortunate to stay in some fantastic hotels across Europe etc and have found this to be one of the best. While the hotel is not the size of some in Lisbon it boasts the very best staff, they are helpful, courteous and do everything possible to ensure you have a great stay. I was greeted on my first day by all front desk staff, they checked me in and provided me with details of all facilities within the hotel, they then provided me with a map and assistance on where to go and various transport, one of the desk staff even took me to the tour bus stop. The rooms were luxurious and exceptionally clean with all modern ameneties, the bedding superior quality to most top hotels. I would like to say a special thank you to the barman who went to the effort of bringing fresh fruits in to make special mojitos, these were amazing :) The hotel design is stylish and contemporary, the staff exceptional, I would highly recommend to everyone.

Thank you everyone at Sofitel Libernade for a great stay, I will definately return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Ms. Gavin,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your visit to Lisbon and for taking the time to comment on both Tripadvisor and Facebook.

We were extremely delighted to read your comment and to know that we have met your expectations overall. Thank you for your kind words and compliments in regards to our rooms and the service provided by our Ambassadors. It is an honor to know that our Front desk and Bar Ambassadors provided you with a unique and memorable experience in our hotel. Thank you for your recommendation, we look forward to your return!

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed a perfect 3 night stay in a luxury room at Sofitel Lisbon.

The hotel is beautifully located on Avenida Liberdade and a short walk from all of the min tourist areas. The aerobus stop and metro are outside the door and very easy therefore to get around.

Perfect location and a lovely hotel with faultless service.

Our room ( 201) was clean, well proportioned and overloooked the beautiful tree lined avenue.

The outdoor cafe was very fairly priced and a great spot to people watch.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gpd202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

We are glad that you experienced a perfect stay with us and that you appreciated our location, service provided by our Ambassadors, cleanliness of our rooms and our new terrace bar. It is a pleasure for us to read that you were delighted with the time you spent in our hotel as it is a great reward for our Ambassadors. Thank you for your kind recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your partner on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of this hotel was perfect (it's on a busy central street with easy access to everything...sights, water, shopping, restaurants/bars, trains, etc.). The staff was friendly and so helpful (gave great restaurant recommendations, guided us with the top things to do and see during our stay, and helped us secure a rental car to drive up to Porto)...and our room was clean and comfortable ~ couldn't have asked for anything more!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K7LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dominic A, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your preference in Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay with us.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you were delighted with your experience with us. We would like to thank you for your kind comments in regards to our location, service provided by our Ambassadors and the comfort as well as the cleanliness of our rooms. Thank you for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you and your family on your next visit to Lisbon.

Yours sincerely,

Dominic Arel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 2,187 reviews
Porto Bay Liberdade
#19 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#34 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 1,024 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#46 of 241 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 stars 2,274 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Internacional Design Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#14 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing