We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

this hotel was a great place to stay - comfortable, quiet despite the central location and the staff at reception were very attentive and helpful. There was some construction work going on but we didn't notice any noise so it should be even nicer when the work is finished.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee_Whizz50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,418
    1,089
    236
    65
    41
See reviews for
645
2,016
252
402
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were in Lisbon for a quick (too quick I'm afraid) visit and wanted to stay some place in the heart of the city so we could have easy access to all parts. The Sofitel was the first to jump out at me as I began my search for the right hotel. It was also highly recommended by all the tour guides I was contacting to inquire about tours while there. However, I became a bit nervous when I found out that the hotel was undergoing some renovations and that there would be ongoing construction noise from 9 - 5 on weekdays. The reservations people at the hotel assured me that the construction was only occurring in the rear of the building and promised me a room facing the front. As reluctant as I was, I just couldn't find another hotel that offered the same level of accommodations and location that this one did, so we decided to take the plunge and book it. It was the best decision we made...the Sofitel Lisbon was the perfect choice!!!

It is a small, elegant, comfortable hotel, with a very friendly and welcoming staff to boot. We were only there 3 nights, but from the time we first introduced ourselves, the staff knew us by name. They were always ready to help and went the extra mile to make sure we well taken care of. It felt like we were visiting some friends in their home, not like we were staying in a hotel in a foreign land. And by the way, if we didn't already know there was construction going on in the back, we would have come and gone from there without any knowledge of it at all.

If you are planning to go to Lisbon, I highly recommend the Sofitel. Combine your stay with a tour of Lisbon with Paolo from Lisbon Explorer, and you will leave Lisbon with very happy memories and a strong desire to return very soon.

Room Tip: The front-facing rooms have beautiful views of the Avenida da Liberdade. We didn't experience a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveler1164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2013

2 out of 4 days there was construction work going on which are still going on. Vacation was ruined due to all the construction noise. On one day room was cleaned after 3pm. Hotel personnel did not respond to complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank TlnUser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Overijse, Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

With an eye for detail, the room was equiped with all you need as a business traveler, travelling light (those small things that do help when you need them).
A very comfortable bed. I slept so well.
Great location, near to the city centre, near to the metro stop, and not too far from the airport neither.
The staff is very friendly and helpful.
There should more hotels like this.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cowboy_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I am extremely picky when it comes to hotels, but the Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade is one of the few hotels anywhere in Europe that has fully met my expectations.

A note for those who care about such things: soap, shower gel, and a very mediocre shampoo are provided. If you are picky about your shampoo or if you like using conditioner or lotion, bring your own. The free wifi was nice, though clumsy to use and slow at times.

The Aveneda metro stop (south entrance/exit) is literally (and I mean LITERALLY!) across the street from the hotel. Take the metro from the airport to the hotel for less than €2 per person if you can carry your bags yourself and do not mind a few stairs. Super easy!

Overall, we experienced good customer service and clean, comfortable, and quiet room with good climate control and English language news channels on the television. Great value for the money. If we are ever back in Lisbon, this is where I would want to stay.

Room Tip: It seems the scaffolding is along interior rooms (as of March 2013). Request a room without scaffol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bsgf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed two nights at the hotel and although it was an overall good experience, I will likely stay somewhere else if I return to Lisbon (which I hope to do). Our rooms were not ready when we arrived, but that was no problem. Additionally, we are Accor club members and were not upgraded, which apparently we should have been. Other than that, the front desk and concierge staff were friendly and helpful.

While we were waiting for our room, we ordered lunch in the bar area. The food took forever to arrive, and when it did, it was not very good. The steak sandwich was okay (steak a little fatty) but the cheeseburger wasn't even edible - I don't think it was real ground beef. We had breakfast one day in the restaurant and again, the food was average at best. Cappuccino was luke-warm and tasteless.

The rooms were very clean and comfortable. Lots of counter space in the bathroom. However, the room was very dark and we couldn't open the curtain to let in light because there was construction going on right outside our window from 9:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. The workers were walking back and forth on scaffolding, so we would have had no privacy with the curtain open. When we called the front desk to complain, no apology was given or alternative solution offered.

We went to a wonderful restaurant about a five minute walk from the hotel called As Velhas and I highly recommend it. Food and service were outstanding - a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable experience. We also went to Solar Dos Presuntos, about a 10 minute walk from hotel. It was okay, but not as good as As Velhas.

In general, the hotel was acceptable and staff good, but I would likely look elsewhere if I return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not affected by the construction going on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dep0515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
354 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We had a very good experience at the Sofitel:
- Room was clean, modern, and nicely decorated. The TV and phone were not working, but the staff had a look quickly while we were out to fix that.
- Concierge was most helpful and had umbrellas to lend to us when it started raining.
- Buffet breakfast was very complete with wide array of choices

You can walk to all downtown attractions from this location.

Room Tip: We had rooms giving on the street every time and were not bothered by noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarySL00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 247 in Lisbon
981 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
825 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#52 of 247 in Lisbon
2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 247 in Lisbon
2,656 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#31 of 247 in Lisbon
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, ACCOR, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing