We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theft from Room and no contact from management after they promised to look into it after we left”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #40 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Theft from Room and no contact from management after they promised to look into it after we left”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the sofitel on our weekend in Lisbon. Whilst the hotel was acceptable theft of clothes from our room was not. This is bad but when I met the manager to complain she took my mail details and said she would look into this. 2 weeks on I have heard nothing. 1 week ago I sent this to the main sofitel site and again no contact. For a 5 star hotel to have this attitude towards theft is scandalous. 2 items of clothing were taken from the room. Whatever about this I find the management attitude scandalous. My regret is that I did not phone the police at the time. For any future guest please consider the prospect of theft and management ineptituede.

Room Tip: none I wouldnt stay here again
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Eamonn449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, General Manager at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your comment.

We understand we have not met your overall expectations and apologise for the inconveniences you have faced.

Since we are unable to identify your contact details, we kindly request you to please contact us through h1319-sm@sofitel.com in order to allow us to investigate this issue as soon as possible, as it was not of my or the weekend Duty Manager’s knowledge, up till today. We look forward to your contact and remain at your entire disposal for further assistance.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,460
    1,116
    247
    67
    41
See reviews for
671
2,057
256
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Probably the best hotel staff I encountered in the past few years. Knowledgeable, professional, cheerful. The hotel is sophisticated and has sleek interiors. I would have given it 5 stars, but there were a couple of flaws. First, there was scaffolding being constructed at the front of the hotel. It made it hard to take my mid-afternoon nap. Normally I don't mind construction, but when I was there last year, there was also construction going on. Also, my mattress seemd to be perhaps a little dated, as I kept rolling towards the end of the bed. And from reading some of the other reviews, I am an Accor hotels member and didn't get an upgrade.
These are little problems. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDel10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had a great time at the Sofitel, I was upgraded due to being an Accor hotels member even though we should not have been as we booked through Expedia and not the website of the hotel.
We didn't use the hotel restaraunt or have breakfast there because we nipped down the road to a cafe and had a coffee and pastry each for under €4
The hotel is 10 minutes walk from the centre, ideally placed in the upmarket area of the city and about 25 minutes from the airport.
We booked transfers but the metro runs from the airport and the metro station is literally outside ( I think it's called Aveneda)

We walked around a lot exploring the streets and got the number 28 tram which takes you around the sites - Tip: buy a travel card it's far cheaper to get around , you need to ask the tram driver to stop otherwise h just keeps going. The team goes from point to point so you have to get off at one end of the route and then pay to go back again.
Do the day trip to Sintra from the station, the train goes one way so you can't go wrong, Sintra is the last stop and its a lovely place to visit. We walked around and tried the cherry brandy and port samples, of course it's touristy but it gives you a flavour of Portuguese life.
Back in Lisbon we had a night out in the Bairro alto district which comes alive at night, there's loads of little bars and places to eat there, we went on a Sunday night so it was pretty quiet but I'm sure in summer at weekends it's completely different.
We went down to the Expo area and the excellent aquarium there, - well worth a visit. The area is really nicely done and there is a large shopping centre there for having a look around.
Near to the sofitel ( go around the corner) we found a cool bar called Iberica, a little smoky but does tapas and its popular with the local crowd. It's a great place for a drink and watch the local scene.
Use the metro as well, it's fast efficient and a day ticket is € 6.5
In all we really enjoyed Lisbon and the Sofitel is a cool place with friendly staff, we would definitely return one day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sheppy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

A well equipped and modern hotel with all the standard facilities.Pleasant ,helpful and welcoming staff with a good sense of humour .Ideally situated for tourism,plentiful bars and restaurants within easy walking distance.The hotel restaurant is particularly good.Plentiful police presence on the streets and squares so personal security was good. Lisbon is charming and interesting city with excellent cuisine and really nice people. A totally " hassle free" city break.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank readingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

With the opportunity to stay at any number of corporate hotels during our recent visit to Lisbon, I am pleased to have returned to an old favourite brand, Sofitel. The Sofitel in Lisbon did not disappoint, with the usual, reassuringly comfortable beds and well equipped rooms. As well as the room, the public areas were comfortable and we enjoyed both the bar - with its excellent menu with the perfect Gin and Tonic to enjoy and even an Absinthe fountain on the bar - and the restaurant - which was impressive and has been reviewed by me on its own TA page. All of the staff we encountered at the hotel were friendly and warm and made you feel welcome and well looked after. We will certainly be back if we have to go to Lisbon on business again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Hotel is located on a major road with a good variety of shops and restaurants. Better still, the subway station is just oppositite - a mere stone throw away. My room was on the third floor and was clean and comfortable. The bathroom appears to be new and is sparkling clean too. The breakfast has an excellent spread and what really made my day was the table dedicated just for fruits.Plus they do a cooked breakfast for you on request. Reception was professional and friendly and they were very good about arranaging for tranport and in recommending places. There was nothing not to like.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room that does not face the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EveningGlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grangemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

My thanks to the very helpful gentleman on reception who immediately offered assistance when I said my husband was unwell. The offer of an extended check out and refeshments was very kind.

Spent three very pleasant nights in this hotel. It's in a great spot, handy for transport, restaurants and sight seeing.

It has the most impressive breakfast buffet I have ever seen. There's a huge range of items beautifuly displayed and hot items cooked to order.

The cost was really reasonable, perhaps because of the renovation work. Repairs appeared to be confined to weekdays so it was not intrusive.

Well worth a visit to this lovely hotel in a beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey-Sue26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 251 in Lisbon
872 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#54 of 251 in Lisbon
1,213 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#29 of 251 in Lisbon
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#37 of 251 in Lisbon
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#35 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing