We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Ranked #37 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Write a Review

3,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,319
    1,046
    229
    59
    38
See reviews for
616
1,925
240
387
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

A wonderful central location - short walk to main old town. Across from a subway station. Although on the main road you hear no traffic. Fabulous and friendly staff. Breakfast and service, both room and restaurant, were very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemonster74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade during your trip to Lisbon and for taking the time to express your opinion about your experience.

We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us and thank you for your comments regarding to our Ambassadors who join me today to thank you for your compliments. Thank you for your kind recommendation!

We wish you a Magnifique New Year and look forward to welcome you in 2013.

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PARIS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed two nights in Lisboa from the 14th to the 16th of December 2012. The hotel is very conveniently located and can be reached in less than 30mn from the airport by the underground (Avenida station). We were granted a warm and smiling welcome. Our room (401) at the fourth floor was quite large and spotless, equiped with a big TV screen, a good audio system, and an expresso machine. The bed was really big and incredibly comfortable. The bathroom was rather small. All kind of luxury amenities were provided. The buffet breakfast was excellent with a large variety of croissnts and pastries, ham, cheese, eggs of any kind on demand. We were given reliable recommendations for restaurants (especially Sancho within a 5 minute walk). Our only reservations would concern the bar armchairs (which are not confortable), the breakfast room seating (which is too low). and the fact that early in the morning, one can perceive the traffic rumble of the Avenida. I don't think there is any swimming pool, but this was not an issue for us in December. We would definitely stay again at the Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DESNOES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your weekend at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, namely our location and the facilities surrounding the hotel as well as the sheer welcome and service provided by our Ambassadors. Your comfort and well-being is our main concern and your satisfaction, our utmost reward. Nonetheless, we have taken note of your comments regarding the seating during breakfast and will take the appropriate measures to avoid future occurrences like these. Thank you very much for your recommendation!

We look forward to welcome you in 2013 and wish you a magnificent new year!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

I stayed two nights on novembre 2012 in this hotel that is part of this well known hotel firm.
This hotel mutch the high standards of this firm much more for the staff than for the facilities and the overall conditions of the buildings.

The staff was extremely polite, professional and helpfull.
Rooms were clean and suffcienly wide.
breakfast in the morning really amazing.
On downside certain facilities of the hotel such as the bathroom or the elevater need to be modernized to match the standards of a 5 star hotel.

the price that I paid was definitely a great bargain

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manzana112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade whilst you were in Lisbon and for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy to know that you had an overall pleasant stay with us. We take all our Guest’s comments into considerationand have taken note of your suggestions. Nonetheless, we thank you for your compliments regarding to our Ambassadors who do their best to provide you with a unique experience and for the comments regarding to our Buffet Breakfast. Thank you for your recommendation!

We hope to see you soon in 2013 and wish you a Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

Very clean hotel, with wonderful and helpful staff. Very good location - within walking distance to main attractions (10 mins) and 15-20mins to Bairro Alto, where you can find great restaurants. Otherwise metro station is literally outside the front doors.

The hotel is very clean (I loved the Hermès toiletries!! not sure if they're still available - they might have just switched to L'Occitane) and our room was cozy with comfy bed and incredibly comfortable armchair with footstool in the corner as well.

Classic and superior rooms don't have espresso machine but a kettle and tea/coffee was available

It was our first wedding anniversary and the hotel surprised us with a carafe of ruby port and a selection of delicious pastries!

Staff was very nice and helpful and the turn down service is always a nice touch

We didn't eat breakfasts there so can't comment on that. We had a coffee in our room each morning and then went into town - loads of wonderful places to eat around

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorrra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guests,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to review your stay with us.

Firstly, we would like to congratulate you on this special occasion and hope you liked the little surprise we organized for you. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as the location, our rooms and facilities and the service provided by our Ambassadors.

We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcome you on your next anniversary in 2013, Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

Booked 2 rooms for our family of 4. Rooms are small but clean and well appointed. Location is safe and very convenient. Minutes walk to the old city centre where you can start the walking tours. The main train stations to start your day tours to places like Sintra is also within walking distance. So convenient that I only used the taxis to and from the airport! The metro is just in front of the hotel but I didn't use it. It is also a rather safe locale as I can see uniformed policemen near the numerous boutiques along the main avenue. Breakfast spread was good but if you stay more than a few days, it's the same spread everyday!
Nice place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j_trio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, December 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to tell us about your stay in Lisbon.

We are pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and the facilities surrounding it. We have taken note of your comment regarding our Breakfast and will forward your remarks to the restaurant management. We thank you for your recommendation and wish you a Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012

This is one of the best quality/price ratio hotels in Europe. From the first moment you are greeted by the very friendly staff who are ready to help you have the best travel experience. I always admire hotels that greet you with a comprehensive map and orient you to all of the city's attractions. Sofitel does this very well.The location of this hotel is excellent,it is in the beautiful
Avenue Liberdade which is a 5-10 minutes walk to the center of old town and also few minutes to the funicular which takes you directly to Bairro Alto.The train station is also only 5-10 minutes from the hotel and very handy for visiting places near lisbon such as Sintra.The rooms are modern ,well designed and functional and the L'Occitan products are lovely.
We went to the recommended Fado places for dinner and enjoyed the experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FaraMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AFERREIRA, Gerente geral at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade and for taking the time to write about your experience with us.

We are very happy and proud to read your comments, your satisfaction and contentment is our utmost reward. We would like to thank you for your lovely words regarding to our Ambassadors, who do their best to make you feel as comfortable as possible. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed our location and the services and products provided in our rooms. Thank you for your recommendation!

Looking forward to welcome you and your partner on your next visit to Lisbon.

We wish you a Magnifique Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Yours sincerely,

António Ferreira de Sousa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Liberdade
#20 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Altis Avenida Hotel
Altis Avenida Hotel
#32 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#6 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
InterContinental Lisbon
#50 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,477 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade

Property: Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade
Address: Avenida da Liberdade 127, Lisbon 1250-140, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#12 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#32 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5 star lavish hotel consists of 163 extravagantly decorated rooms with a shower of modern glamour. All rooms are equipped with the most diversified services which define the quality and comfort that our guests appreciate. These may include: LCD, mini-bar, coffee machine and a flower bouquet which gives the room a unique atmosphere of lux and comfort. At Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade you will surely receive a prestigious service provided by our multi-lingual ambassadors and Concierge Cle d'Or, free access to wireless internet, a fitness centre which provides the most essential equipment, and a pleasant library connected to the bar where you can find a selection of paintings from the Beijing School of Arts and an international collection of books, newspapers and magazines. Seminars and conferences can be accommodated in the hotel's ten meeting rooms, the largest of which can seat up to 150 people. The guests may also benefit from 24h Business Centre and Room Service, as well parking facilities (surcharges apply) and complimentary valet-parking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lisbon Liberdade Hotel Lisbon
Accor Lisbon Liberdade
Lisbon Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing