We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,374)
Filter reviews
4,374 results
Traveler rating
2,729
1,229
287
79
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,729
1,229
287
79
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room ad lib hermes toiletries excellent location turn down service comfortable bed barrio alto metro station hotel bar main avenue great city pastries rooms are small central location city break karim concierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,636 - 1,641 of 4,374 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2012

We unfortunately only stayed 1 night at the Sofitel, we wished we could have stayed longer. The location is great, within walking distance to most of the main attractions. The staff was very nice and helpful. The best part is definitely the beds, they are extremely comfortable! Only downside was that they were doing some construction outside so unfortunately our view was blocked from our room.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

While this hotel maybe a five star hotel, ourstay was disappointing. First, the hotel is undergoing construction and if you like to hear jackhammers and men walking by your window then you be okay. While they advertise free WiFi, it does not work well or at all except in the lobby. Breakfast is pricey, but nothing special. Of all the hotels booked during our Spain and Portugal, this one was the most disappointing.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TNTravel73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed 17-20 May; construction work is ongoing but we asked for a room away from construction noise and we were not bothered. The hotel is in a great location for the sights of Lisbon and directly opposite a metro stop.

We had a luxury room which we still found to be quite small, with hardly any natural light and not much of a view. The bed was large and very comfy. The room and bathroom were not spotless clean, eg shower screen would have benefited from a good scrub! Over a three night stay (two people) we received two small bottles of complimentary water. We have stayed at other Sofitels and the room at Lisbon was in comparison v. disappointing.

We had breakfast at the hotel on Sunday morning. The breakfast itself was good and varied with a few nice touches. The service was not good at all, eg took four attempts to get tea served and then it arrived in a jug with no lid. If you don’t fancy paying the €22 there are lots of pastelaria (pastry shops) near the hotel where you can get a pasty and coffee for €3/4. (There is also Starbucks within walking distance!)

If you have time a day trip to Cascais (about 30 mins on train) is worth the effort. We also enjoyed taking the 28 tram from start at square Praça Martim Moniz to the end and then wandering back via botanical gardens and views over city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCB_222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Really impressed by warm welcome and service from staff and very comfortable room with cosy big bed. We had luxury king bed and found our stay at the hotel very relaxing. Very nice bar, again with great service

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SophieGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

Stayed for two nights in May. The location is excellent, easy walking distance to all of the sites in Lisbon. Staff at reception were friendly and very helpful in providing maps and recommendations on where to go in Lisbon.

Our superior deluxe room was overlooking the side street which meant we were not disturbed by any street noise or the ongoing renovations to the front of the hotel. While the room was small it contained everything you would expect and the large window brightened up the decor. The bathroom was hidden behind mirrored doors and was bigger than expected considering the size or the room. It was well stocked with good quality products and robes and slippers were provided.

The staff in the bar were friendly and made great cocktails; it was a nice area for a pre or post dinner drink or while waiting for people to join you.

We didn't have breakfast in the hotel, there are plenty of nice cafes in the area. We had dinner on one evening, the setting was lovely and the food was good.

Room Tip: Request a room at the side or back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sn00zy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews