We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small rooms, comfortable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Ranked #131 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
164 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Small rooms, comfortable hotel”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I spent 2 nights in the hotel on a business trip. The hotel is positioned quite close to the metro station, but it is a little tricky to get to, especially as there are several hotels called Tivoli in the area. The hotel is located off the main road next to an underground car park. While the hotel does not look like much from the outside, the rooms are quite comfortable and kitted out in a modern trendy decor.

The rooms are quite small, with the bed taking up most of the space. There is also a desk in the room providing sufficient space to work. The bed is very comfortable and quite large. The bathroom is tiny, with the loo located too close to the shower cubical. I'm 6 ft 1 inch tall and found it very difficult to sit on the loo as my knees were rammed into the shower cubical - luckily the side panel of the shower was hinged so it gave way, otherwise I would not have been able to use the loo! The shower itself is good with good water pressure. However, there was a poor seal on the doors which meant the bathroom floor flooded each time you had a shower.

I don't think I've ever stayed in a hotel where you were charged for the coffee. Granted the coffee was Nespresso, but to be charged €1.50 for a cup of coffee is excessive. There is tea and instant coffee provided so you don't have to take the Nespresso. The room wifi is not provided free, but if you join their loyalty scheme you get free wifi. The available wifi is a little slow, I had trouble using VPN and remote desktop - it often dropped out. The room was quiet, but there was no view from the room window. The desk lamp did not work in my room, but the overhead lights were sufficient. There was a shortage of power outlets by the the desk, two outlets, only one of which was free. The room TV is a large flat screen and there were a good selection of English news channels, including BBC World, CNN and SKY. There is a single lift up to the rooms, which is quite small.

The hotel bar is located in the Japanese restaurant attached to the hotel. The cost of drinks in the bar was reasonable. When I visited the bar I took a seat at the bar and had a Japanese meal there, which was quite good.

All in all, a good hotel. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    607
    219
    59
    17
See reviews for
242
406
45
292
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed there in November. as a member of a group. The situation is perfect, in walking distance to the central part of Lisbon. The rooms are comfortable with large and nice beds, great bathrooms and fine breakfast (but if you go individually, you should pay 15 euros for it). Mini-bar and coffee machine (1,5 euros per capsule). Recommandable!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times and reviewed it as well. I has kept its very high standards.
It is very well located, off one of the main avenues, but not on it, so much quieter. Rooms are comfortable and very well maintained . Staff is very friendly and helpful. Wifi is free for members of their frequent stayer program and you can join for free on the spot.
Try to stay on a high floor facing the back, far away from the air condition machines on the front of the hotel. Very good value at the rate offered at this time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edgarsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Örebro
Level Contributor
268 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Nice hotel in a good area. Clean, comfortable, rather small room but we had an extra bed in it. Balcony and pool in a nice garden. Expensive breakfast.
The hotel is very quiet as it´s on a dead-end street just behind the "sister-hotel" Tivoli on the main street.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kokkaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anvers
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Tivoli Jardim is a downtown business hotel. Rooms are small but adequate and well maintained.
The advertised wifi is available at a fee of 20 Euros. Breakfast buffet is fine. Facilities at the big brother and upscale Tivoli Lisbon which is a very short one block away are available for the use of guests.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anvers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a very good hotel conveniently situated in the centre of Lisbon just off the main avenue. It is within short walks to many restaurants and also close to bus stops, Hop On Hop Off included and the Railway Station. The room was a good size with a balcony and very clean. Breakfast was also good in a very pleasant dining room

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RonnieI48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I stayed at the Tivoli for 6 nights. It has a great location, on a quiet (great for a light sleeper like me) dead-end street, just off the magnificent Avenida de Liberdade. There are many nice bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Open-top buses and the Metro are very close. The hotel is attractively styled, and the staff are efficient and friendly. The breakfast is good. The only criticism that I have is the bathrooms, which are small enough to be a problem for persons with mobility issues. There is not a shower curtain, but a hinged glass screen which allows the water to drip onto the floor, so I had to mop it with the bath mat after each shower.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#26 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#27 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#24 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#49 of 248 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel

Property: AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Address: Rua Julio Cesar Machado 7-9, Lisbon 1250-135, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Lisbon’s charm from the perfect setting. Where contemporary style meets peace of mind. AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Portugal’s capital, conveniently close to shopping, attractions and more. Sip cocktails atop the city in a sky bar at the sister hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa. Wake up muscles in the morning at our state-of-the-art AVANIFIT fitness centre. Culture, romance and adventure right at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Jardim Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Jardim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing