We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, fabulous location, very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Ranked #109 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I booked my team in here for a month on a recent business trip, in the superior rooms (with balconies) - that's a fair time to spend in any hotel!

The location is brilliant, with all of the old town at your doorstep.

The staff were great, breakfast the same every day, but with great choice and high quality.

You can use the facilities of the 5-star Tivoli Lisboa next door; the pool and pool bar are lovely, but I'd recommend visiting the Sky Bar just to check out the view and then leave - it has expensive, watery cocktails that take a long time in arriving, and the most rude and arrogant staff that we encountered anywhere in our trip - and that I've encountered in a very long while.

The metro was just a few steps away, and the main tourist squares were a 900 m walk down the avenue. There are some interesting restaurants within about a 5 minute walk, and you can wander up the hill to Principe Real for some great shopping.

Markets set up on the avenue outside the hotel a couple of days a week (very flea market-ish).

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

569 - 575 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in a standard double room, the room itself was small and vertually underground as the window looked out onto what I think was the side of the concrete car park ramp!!
The facilities in the room are ok clean and comfortable, the bathroom again small and not much if any shelf space to put your wash bag.
However plus points excellent location and te use of the next door hotel pool definitely a bonus.
The sky bar was again only ok staff seemed a bit unhelpful and not at all friendly!! However lovely place to sit and watch the sun set.
I would recommend this hotel purely due to location

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sueaust76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were in with a group of friend attending a Rotary Convention in Lisbon. The hotel is situated in a back street and shares a pool with a hotel a few yards away. There is also a "Sky Bar" next door with breathtaking views over Lisbon. Now for the hotel the staff were excellent and helpful especially at the end of our stay when a general strike in Portugal made our departure a little fraught. Our room was lovely, modern, plenty of room and well air conditioned. The mini bar was reasonably priced however its the first time I have paid €1.25 in a hotel to make a cup of coffee, on that note my only criticism would be that one of our party was charged €5 for a small jug of milk for her tea. Breakfast was plentiful and a reasonable selection to suit all tastes. I would like to thank all the staff here for making our stay an absolute pleasure.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank RFS29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel. Our room was up high and looked out over the rooftops of Lisbon. The room was modern, clean and well maintained. The restaurant provided an excellent breakfast and evening meal (although quite expensive). It is perhaps just a little too far from the action - where you meet you tours and the river - but the walk isn't difficult and you get to look in the shops as you go. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Well located just off Avenida Liberade but totally lacking in facilities. The king sized bed just fitted in the room and the bathroom was so badly laid out that there was a mere 12" gap between the toilet seat and the shower cabinet. Insufficient shelf space in the bathroom as well and nowhere to stow the suitcase, let alone two of them. Breakfast was adequate but no variation from day to day. OK for a one night business stay but we were there for 6 nights. Our daughters room, on the other hand was large enough to accomodate the baby's cot and had a large bathroom. The bar was of the small expensive cocktail. You could use the pool and garden of the Tivoli itself, but the pool was very cold.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldWilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Excellent hotel. Good location, good size rooms, nice decor, clean. Nice restaurants and bar. Good breakfast. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Great sky bar with fantastic views and restaurant at TIvoli Lisboa next door.

Room Tip: We had superior rooms which were great and had a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caroline27981236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Very good value for money, well situated in the center of Lisbon but very quiet location.Large rooms with large comfortable beds. Gorgeous breakfast. Very helpfully staff. Parking possible in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pascal_pignot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.1 mi away
Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa
0.2 mi away
Vincci Liberdade
Vincci Liberdade
#14 of 255 in Lisbon
633 reviews
0.3 mi away
PortoBay Marques
PortoBay Marques
#25 of 255 in Lisbon
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel NH Collection Lisboa Liberdade
0.1 mi away
PortoBay Liberdade
PortoBay Liberdade
#26 of 255 in Lisbon
953 reviews
0.2 mi away
Altis Prime
Altis Prime
#52 of 255 in Lisbon
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel

Address: Rua Julio Cesar Machado 7-9, Lisbon 1250-135, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#84 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $122 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Lisbon’s charm from the perfect setting. Where contemporary style meets peace of mind. AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Portugal’s capital, conveniently close to shopping, attractions and more. Sip cocktails atop the city in a sky bar at the sister hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa. Wake up muscles in the morning at our state-of-the-art AVANIFIT fitness centre. Culture, romance and adventure right at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Jardim Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Jardim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing