We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good room, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Ranked #129 of 247 Hotels in Lisbon
europe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“good room, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Spent 4 nights at the hotel and really enjoyed our stay.

Location is very good as it is only a few minutes walk to the metro station "Avenida" and only a short walk to the centre. Airport is also quite close, only taking about 15-20 minutes and costing 10 euros.

Our room was very quiet with large flat screen TV, safe (free of charge), a very comfortable bed, 2-door built-in wardrobe with 3 drawers, etc ... The room looked very good at first glance but saw later that it could have used a coat of paint. I guess because it is a bit tight and bags end up rubbing against the walls. Bathroom also very nice but water goes everywhere when you take a shower and you'll need to lay a couple of hand towels down on the floor to soak it up. There is a Nespresso machine in the room but I had understood that you have to pay for the capsules.

Breakfast was included and very good in a nice sun soaked room.

Staff at the front desk, pool and restaurant were very friendly and professional.

Pool was another highpoint, especially after a day of seeing the sights. Very relaxing and leafy setting but food a little pricey. On our last day we swam, showered & ate by the pool before heading off to the airport late afternoon. You don't need a late checkout or a guest room to change before heading off for the airport.

All in all a great experience but the rooms could use a coat of paint and the shower some more thought.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterinholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    604
    219
    57
    16
See reviews for
239
402
45
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2011

Great location near the sites, the main train station. The decour is contemporary. The hotel and rooms were very clean. We were supposedly "upgraded" but still the room was still the standard size of European hotel rooms--tight! As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel shower is bizarre as it is open with no shower curtain. The showerhead, tho in the ceiling, sprays water onto the floor. We just put towels on the shower edge to capture the flow. It is an okay work-around but you would think the hotel management would do something about it! The front desk people were great and provided great suggestions. The conceirge was mostly non-existant and when he was there he was rather arrogant. That was only the big negative we had with the hotel. We found great neighborhood cafes for breakfast. We would rec the hotel highly for the location, cleanliness, and great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the main street. We were in the back and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank milestogo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2011

Review - Hotel Tivoli Jardim

This hotel in central Lisbon was the first stop of several on a family vacation through Portugal. Hotel Tivoli Jardim is the little sister hotel of the larger and grander Hotel Tivoli Lisboa next door.  The hotel was clean and modern, and the staff was pleasant and helpful.  Standard rooms are modern, nicely decorated, but a little small by American standards.  The lobby area is also very small.  With the exception of two clamshell hanging chairs located beside the reception desk, there was no place to sit and relax.  However, one flight up is a small lounge/bar with additional seating.  Our stay included breakfast, which offered a nice selection of fruit, cereal, yogurt, bacon, scrambled eggs, sausage and pastry.  Guests staying at Hotel Tivoli Jardim are welcomed to use the facilities at Tivoli Lisboa next door, including a pretty outdoor pool, but with a somewhat inconvenient hike up several levels of steps, but well worth the walk.  This lovely, inviting pool is round, surrounded by trees and greenery and includes bar service, and is a popular place to relax for guests from both hotels and, as such, lounge chairs are scarce during the mid-day hours.  Consequently, it was difficult at times to find a vacant chair or lounger.  Otherwise, it's a lovely hotel oasis.  For guests who don't mind small rooms and a less than inviting lobby, the hotel is a fine stopover for a short stay in Lisbon.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7SeaJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Had seven nights here at the end of July. The balcony rooms were "a must" for us and those at the Tivoli Jardim are usable (table and two chairs) and in the shade in the hot afternoons. Our room was clean and comfortable though we had to live out of suitcases for the week, as there are no drawers in the room (at least we didn't find any) and there is limited hanging space.

The room is equipped with a Nespresso coffee maker and it's a 1E charge per cup (it's an extension to the mini-bar). It will make hot water too.

The staff are friendly and helpful, our breakfast was included and was of a high standard with a good range of fresh food on offer.

The Jardim shares a garden and pool with it's sister Hotel next door the Tivoli Lisboa. Again a nice oasis to escape into from the city.

The Avenida metro stop is probably less than 5 minutes walk from the hotel, though it's a pleasant walk down into town. Most of the pavements are paved in small cobbles, which can be slippy and must be like ice in the wet. some of the streets are very steep too, so you do need decent footwear and take care.

Best tip is to join the GHA Discovery club (hotel loyalty programme) http://www.ghadiscovery.com before you book, then you get free internet and newspapers, otherwise the Wi-Fi is from SwissCom at 10E an hour...

The hotel does a private car transfer to the airport, which is 39Euro oneway. It's less than a 20minute trip, so...

For our next visit to Lisbon we wouldn't look anywhere else as it is hard to beat in terms of cost, quality and location.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sloan_Chace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The entrance of the hotel was not very appealling since its in an alley and not motivating but ok.
When you get into the room it looks nice but soon you realize that the maintenance is very weak. All full of scratches and everything was scruffy. Simply not maintained but ok, you could sleep there.
The fun part came when I went to have dinner to the Japanese restaurant. I sit and I see one ant on the table, I turn around and I see 3 more. I got up, moved to the table next to it and also was full of ants. So I left.
2 days after I was having breakfast in the dining room next door, the so called Olivier restaurant and again I saw 3 ants on the table. I really felt like puking, just imagine how the kitchen would be, so I left everything didn't have breakfast ( which I had payed ) and will never return.
The staff wasn't very kind either.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james23London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

This is a great hotel... The bar was fantastic as was the restuarant.... and Thank God Portugal still allows one to have a cigarette at the Bar.... (At Oliviers)
Great staff.. all very courteous and helpful.
The food we had at Oliviers was sublime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

The rooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The balconies (at least on one side) face a boring parking lot, but you can enjoy a bit of sun in the mornings. The hotel is very centraly located, but since it is a block away from the main street it is very quiet. The hotel seems to be newly renovated and/or decorated. Everything is in top condition and especially the restaurant has a great atmosphere. The buffet breakfast has an excellent selection and the restaurant and bar were very busy in the evenings as well. (I only had the breakfast though.)
The staff are nice and friendly, but don't go very much out of their way to be helpful. I spent a week there and the wireless internet did not work when we arrived and wasn't fixed during the week. At the end of the week the internet connection had also failed in their small business centre (2 computers). We were recommended to use the business centre at the next door Hotel Tivoli Lisboa.
There is a very nice garden pool inbetween the two hotels, and they also share a gym in the Tivoli Lisboa. The conference facilities between the two hotels are also very good.

Room Tip: Take time to relaxe by the pool! An oasis in the middle of Lisboa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
PortoBay Marques
#28 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
BessaHotel Liberdade
BessaHotel Liberdade
#26 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
PortoBay Liberdade
#23 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
Hotel Lisboa Plaza
#47 of 247 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel

Property: AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel
Address: Rua Julio Cesar Machado 7-9, Lisbon 1250-135, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#98 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Lisbon’s charm from the perfect setting. Where contemporary style meets peace of mind. AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel is an oasis in the heart of Portugal’s capital, conveniently close to shopping, attractions and more. Sip cocktails atop the city in a sky bar at the sister hotel Tivoli Avenida Liberdade Lisboa. Wake up muscles in the morning at our state-of-the-art AVANIFIT fitness centre. Culture, romance and adventure right at your fingertips. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AVANI Avenida Liberdade Lisbon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Jardim Lisbon
Hotel Tivoli Jardim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing