We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip apartment, but not easy to find or access”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travellers House - Studios
Ranked #222 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hip apartment, but not easy to find or access”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

I liked staying in the apartment but the logistics of actually locating it and getting in were prohibitive and I agree with other reviews that say this could be largely rectified with more communication from the staff. My taxi driver had no idea where the street was, in the end just pointed down the hill of little lane with tram tracks and left me there. My own fault for having two heavy suitcases (this is 100% a location best suited to backpacks), I trundled with great difficult down the hill, couldn't find the apartment block (which has no sign, even when a passing local helped me find it). I had had to text message ahead to confirm my arrival time because there's no on site reception but for some reason (that was no fault of the staff) the text message hadn't been received and there was no one there to let me in so I had to wait for someone to come from the hostel. Three flights of steps, no lift. You have to pay cash at the time of check in, which is not convenient. You get an email telling you you need to pay cash and you need to text message them your arrival time, I'd suggest adding a section about how to recognise the building when you're looking for it and heads up that you should be fit to stay there.

The apartment itself was nice, very stylish. There was just one of me but I felt very comfortable. It is located close to touristy stuff if that's what you're after, and close to the city also.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissyFlanagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Lovely apartments perfectly located for sightseeing in Lisbon. A misunderstanding led to our studio having too few beds, but the staff was very helpful and fixed it all.
The apartments must have been newly renovated and were clean and stylishly furnished.
Beds were comfortable and the bathroom gorgeous.
Be prepared for a hike up a steep slope and a couple stair cases after that.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDanDanDanDanDanDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

In the last year and a half, my girlfriend & I visited Germany, England, Spain, France... And this was by far the best accomodation. You get everything you need. Little kitchen with induction cooktop, microwave, toaster, coffe machine... Bathroom, comfy bed, sofa, tv, free wifi... We had the room in 3rd floor, and the best part of it was the view. You saw river Tejo and whole central Lisbon and Bairro Alto. I would really recomend it to young and fit people. Why? Well that's the only problem. Studio is on a steep hill, and it can be really demanding after a long day of strolling through Lisbon. The staff was extreamly helpfull. Because of our late arrival, they even picked us up from the airport. The guy (Nelson i think) was really friendly and gave us a quick tour on the way to the studios. All in all, great experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd floor with a view over Lisbon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

After 3 weeks of cramped european hotel rooms it was so nice to have a big apartment to spread out in. We stayed in the liberade suite for 4 nights and it was spotlessly clean and well furnished. Incredible value at 60 euros a night. So good to have washing machine and kitchen. The smaller units are even cheaper. Its a real hike up a steep hill then steep staircase up to the third level to get to it so if you are unfit you would struggle heaps. We are 2 fit 30 year olds and we struggled - especially if you do it a few times a day! Other than the steep hill the only other downer was that the shower seemed to be on some sort of a timer. The hot water lasted about a minute (maybe even less) each time we showered. At first we thought the hot water was running out but it cut out after exactly the same amount of time each time we showered. Not enough time to even wash my hair. This got annoying after a while. Would definetly stay here again for the space and value. You have access to the hostel and the activities they run too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2011

The studio was great and had everything you could possibly need - a kitchenette, washer, travel books, and the social aspect of the hostel just down the street. It was spacious with a great view. The only drawback was it was a little bit cold. The location was also nice and central. We enjoyed our walk up the steep funicular hill and spiral staircases but could be tough for those with restricted mobility.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayandKatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in the second floor studio on the right, and I was surprised at how much space and facilities there were for a 2 bed studio. The studio is well furnished, comfy sofa, tv, wi-fi, kettle, toaster, washing machine, pans and hob etc and modern throughout. No air-con but as we were staying in October the fans were ample. The staff are very helpful and we booked a transfer from the airport to the apartments where the guide gave us plenty of tips.
The apartment are situated on a steep hill and as Lisbon is quite hilly your knees get a work out climbing everywhere. But as they are on the quieter side of central Lisbon the only noise is the trams (which after a week I can say with confidence is 7am start Mon-Sat, until 9pm and cleaning/testing at 11pm). You get used to the noise after a while and I've certainly had worse with hotels in London. It is an excellent location for exploring Lisbon as we did and connecting to the nearby metro/buses/trains. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lococlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

We rented one of the Studios located at Cc. Da Lavra up from Rossio Square for the second half of a trip to Lisbon. The Studio was lovely. Really nicely decorated. It does get hot so we had the ceiling fan and a/c on all the time. It's up a steep hill served by a funicular but we walked the hill each night (we're from Sheffield though, notorious for hills). It was nice to be able to cook and just pop back for coffee and a nap when we needed it. Comes with coffee and sugar, basic cooking equipment, clean towels, hobs, fridge, microwave and sky tv. The views are amazing.

We only popped into the actual hostel a couple of times, but the staff here were the nicest I came across while staying in hostels in lisbon. Right from initial enquiry stage (thank you, Nana!) to our check in (Guy/Guille?)...they even arranged for somebody to drive us to the studio when we checked in even though it was only a 10/15 minute walk away (thank you Nelson!). When it was time to leave, they arranged for a staff member to pick us up from the hostel at 8am on a Saturday morning to drive us to the airport (for a reasonable price - thank you, Samuel). Each of these individuals helped make our trip special by taking the time to talk to us, recommend things to us and make an effort with us as people, not just tourists. Really - thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffield845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
4 Places Lisbon Apartments
#166 of 238 in Lisbon
32 reviews
The Elevator Hostel
#216 of 677 in Lisbon District
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 445 in Lisbon
522 reviews
Torel Palace
#9 of 238 in Lisbon
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers House - Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers House - Studios

Property: Travellers House - Studios
Address: Calcada do Lavra, 18, n.4, Lisbon 1150-209, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 445 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers House - Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers House-Studio is the newest budget accommodation project of the Travellers House. Located right in the city center, in the beginning of Pena Hill, only steps away from Avenida da Liberdade and Rossio, so easily reachable to Bairro Alto, Alfama or all the other attractive spot of Lisbon. A renovated building, in contemporary and cozy studios. Ideal for a budget couple or family who seeks more privacy. Each studio caters the basic needs of a traveller, such as equipped kitchen (stove, fridge, toaster, microwave and utensils), cable TV, wi-fi internet, Hi-Fi with iPod deck, and living area with comfy sofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Travellers House - Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing