We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best accomodation yet”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lisbon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Travellers House - Studios
Ranked #210 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Maribor, Slovenia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best accomodation yet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

In the last year and a half, my girlfriend & I visited Germany, England, Spain, France... And this was by far the best accomodation. You get everything you need. Little kitchen with induction cooktop, microwave, toaster, coffe machine... Bathroom, comfy bed, sofa, tv, free wifi... We had the room in 3rd floor, and the best part of it was the view. You saw river Tejo and whole central Lisbon and Bairro Alto. I would really recomend it to young and fit people. Why? Well that's the only problem. Studio is on a steep hill, and it can be really demanding after a long day of strolling through Lisbon. The staff was extreamly helpfull. Because of our late arrival, they even picked us up from the airport. The guy (Nelson i think) was really friendly and gave us a quick tour on the way to the studios. All in all, great experience we will never forget.

Room Tip: Room on the 3rd floor with a view over Lisbon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rok M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
AUSTRALIA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

After 3 weeks of cramped european hotel rooms it was so nice to have a big apartment to spread out in. We stayed in the liberade suite for 4 nights and it was spotlessly clean and well furnished. Incredible value at 60 euros a night. So good to have washing machine and kitchen. The smaller units are even cheaper. Its a real hike up a steep hill then steep staircase up to the third level to get to it so if you are unfit you would struggle heaps. We are 2 fit 30 year olds and we struggled - especially if you do it a few times a day! Other than the steep hill the only other downer was that the shower seemed to be on some sort of a timer. The hot water lasted about a minute (maybe even less) each time we showered. At first we thought the hot water was running out but it cut out after exactly the same amount of time each time we showered. Not enough time to even wash my hair. This got annoying after a while. Would definetly stay here again for the space and value. You have access to the hostel and the activities they run too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

The studio was great and had everything you could possibly need - a kitchenette, washer, travel books, and the social aspect of the hostel just down the street. It was spacious with a great view. The only drawback was it was a little bit cold. The location was also nice and central. We enjoyed our walk up the steep funicular hill and spiral staircases but could be tough for those with restricted mobility.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindsayandKatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed in the second floor studio on the right, and I was surprised at how much space and facilities there were for a 2 bed studio. The studio is well furnished, comfy sofa, tv, wi-fi, kettle, toaster, washing machine, pans and hob etc and modern throughout. No air-con but as we were staying in October the fans were ample. The staff are very helpful and we booked a transfer from the airport to the apartments where the guide gave us plenty of tips.
The apartment are situated on a steep hill and as Lisbon is quite hilly your knees get a work out climbing everywhere. But as they are on the quieter side of central Lisbon the only noise is the trams (which after a week I can say with confidence is 7am start Mon-Sat, until 9pm and cleaning/testing at 11pm). You get used to the noise after a while and I've certainly had worse with hotels in London. It is an excellent location for exploring Lisbon as we did and connecting to the nearby metro/buses/trains. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lococlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

We rented one of the Studios located at Cc. Da Lavra up from Rossio Square for the second half of a trip to Lisbon. The Studio was lovely. Really nicely decorated. It does get hot so we had the ceiling fan and a/c on all the time. It's up a steep hill served by a funicular but we walked the hill each night (we're from Sheffield though, notorious for hills). It was nice to be able to cook and just pop back for coffee and a nap when we needed it. Comes with coffee and sugar, basic cooking equipment, clean towels, hobs, fridge, microwave and sky tv. The views are amazing.

We only popped into the actual hostel a couple of times, but the staff here were the nicest I came across while staying in hostels in lisbon. Right from initial enquiry stage (thank you, Nana!) to our check in (Guy/Guille?)...they even arranged for somebody to drive us to the studio when we checked in even though it was only a 10/15 minute walk away (thank you Nelson!). When it was time to leave, they arranged for a staff member to pick us up from the hostel at 8am on a Saturday morning to drive us to the airport (for a reasonable price - thank you, Samuel). Each of these individuals helped make our trip special by taking the time to talk to us, recommend things to us and make an effort with us as people, not just tourists. Really - thank you so much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheffield845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed in the apartments that belong to the travellers house and are located a few blocks away. It was great. Great location, great interior, great views from the kitchen window. The only problem could be the very steep climb to the house. But we would stay there again, without a doubt. The people from the hostel and apartments were very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irenere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2011

As good as the photos if not better. Was worried about the steep road to go up to get to the front door but it really isn't a problem even for a less than fit "old" lady like me. Decor is great, everything works, the view from the dining area of big studio on 2nd floor is good and really pretty by night.Hot water good, kitchen adequately equipped for small meals, TV and satellite great and connection for Ipod which kept my teenager happy. The location is great too as its within walking distance to so much (Hardrock cafe, good local restaurants and shops, Starbucks and the main squares etc)and excellent metro and bus connections from the main avenue. Felt safe (just my daughter and I alone) and great service from Tiago who ensured that we had no problems during our stay. Left with regret and will definately be back. Just one small point, there is some building work going on in front of the building (as at March 2011) so a bit noisy first thing in the morning if you want a lie in! but it didnt spoil our stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Flump11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lisbon
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 247 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Travellers House
Travellers House
#8 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 Places Lisbon Apartments
#162 of 231 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
The Elevator Hostel
#222 of 641 in Lisbon District
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travellers House - Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travellers House - Studios

Property: Travellers House - Studios
Address: Calcada do Lavra, 18, n.4, Lisbon 1150-209, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Travellers House - Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travellers House-Studio is the newest budget accommodation project of the Travellers House. Located right in the city center, in the beginning of Pena Hill, only steps away from Avenida da Liberdade and Rossio, so easily reachable to Bairro Alto, Alfama or all the other attractive spot of Lisbon. A renovated building, in contemporary and cozy studios. Ideal for a budget couple or family who seeks more privacy. Each studio caters the basic needs of a traveller, such as equipped kitchen (stove, fridge, toaster, microwave and utensils), cable TV, wi-fi internet, Hi-Fi with iPod deck, and living area with comfy sofa. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing