We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Stunning!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)

Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)
Book In Advance
$24.02*
and up
Heritage and Fado Neighborhood Tour With a Local
Ranked #12 of 407 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the biggest squares in Europe, this stylish area in downtown Lisbon often displays beautiful works of art and sculpture, and is a great place for a leisurely stroll.
Santarem, Portugal
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stunning!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Once in Lisbon you must visit this square, 'cause it's one of the most beautiful and emblematic places of the city. I advise you to leave the subway in "Restauradores" and walk from there to Terreiro do Paço, because the streets that you will see in the way have that atmosphere that you really don't wanna miss. Once you get to the river, sit for a little bit on the steps and enjoy the view of the bridge and (possibly) the sunset, while you feel the magic of a place that saw so many important people arrive and leave the city, over the centuries.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,902 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,659
    2,607
    551
    60
    25
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An amazing experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pracio del Comercio was one of our stops we made while in Lisbon. We are so happy we made a stop here. The structures were simply amazing, beyond words. We don’t have anything like this in Toronto Canada. This is one of the reasons why I love travelling in Europe. I get to see things I don’t normally get to see back home. Pracio del Comercio also has an excellent view of the water. An amazing experience to say the least!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nerdyhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“900 square meters of light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Inaugurated during the reign of King Joseph I of Portugal and under the government of the Marquis de Pombal, on 07/06/1775, this plaza called the trade, because it is the place where you would trasações the commercial, which besides being the place where the customs, joins tobacco and still others "ministerial offices" of that time, the center has ample space only statue to the monarch to whom they wanted laurear. an impressive statue more than 14 meters high. the true port of Lisbon who arrives in town by the river Tagus

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Audry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Near the water”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This square makes you feel like the ships will be coming soon. The ark on the entrance and the monument in the centre are very beautiful. Try sitting at the stone seats near the water for a while. Very pleasant.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rali K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Helder, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful at night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Pracio del Comercio is the most beautiful square in Lisbon. An amazing view over the river and the architecture is beautiful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marijevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco) also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Praca do Comercio (Terreiro do Paco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing