We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best. View. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lisb'on Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisb'on Hostel
Ranked #34 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best. View. Ever.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2012

A beautiful building, A great breakfast table. Super nice people. A comfortable bed. It doesn't get better than that. And THE view. I just wish I had been in the hostel in summer to fully take advantage of the terrace and garden. I will surely come back to enjoy it! ;)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    54
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
40
71
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stoughton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

First time to Portugal, 2nd hostel stay ever. Absolutely delightful! I booked a 6bed river view and for the first night had whole room to myself. The view from the room is amazing. Street side views aren't that bad either because it is on a side street in a nice neighborhood away from restaurants and bars. 2 min walk up from Casa de sodre station for tram 15 to Belem about 15min. 2 min walk up to baixa/chiado metro with restaurants and bars. 5-7 min walk to praca de commercial. You can get tram 28 at either of last two places just mentioned. Get a transit pass of some sort. Lisboa card is worth it if planning on using transport plus at least 5 sights.

Rooms are spacious, fresh, clean. Locks on lockers aren't the best. Only negative. Bathroom is big and clean with multiple showers and toilets. Common areas are clean and chic, and terrace is super cool too.

Staff is friendly, one even gave me a glass of Ginginha on house when I wanted to try it before I left. There are umbrellas if you need them. Wifi is great throughout. This isn't a party hostel such as the ones on Rua Augusta. This is comfy cozy chic. Breakfast is filling with bread ham cheese jam Nutella cereal juice coffee.

Keep up good work and thanks for the hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

We booked this hostel because the location, it was our first 'hostel' experience and we were a bit nervous; from the very first minute everything was "WOW". Very clean, staff very friendly and willing to help you always.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rupacruz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Great central location. Hostel is very comfortable and with a good atmosphere. The staff was very friendly and explained where I was in the city and what there was to do. Clean rooms and common areas had everything I needed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcbor77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed in. Very good facilities, very clean and in a good location. The staff are helpful and friendly as well. Awesome common room with Mac computers and free pool. Perfect!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

this hostel is awsome the staff are so nice the rooms are huge and the beds are nice and solid not thoes metal ones that rattle.the huge draws under your bed are really good big enough to fit a huge bag+ inside it.the terrace is so nice and the view is amazing while eating your breakky which is also one of the best ones ive had at a hostel.the kitchen is huge and very clean.and they have a garden area with hammocks and they often have bbqs out there.the only thing i didnt like was the washing machine and dryer which were 4 euro each.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiraleejoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Can't believe I hesitated before going to this place. This hostel is heaven. Just go, don't think twice. It's the cleanest, friendliest, nicest hostel I have ever been to. Only drawback is that you will need to force yourself into leaving this place to actually visit the city !

Room Tip: I was in one of the cheapest rooms (10 people) facing the street and never felt the urge to switch r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierre A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#29 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#12 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Sunset Destination Hostel
Sunset Destination Hostel
#13 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisb'on Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisb'on Hostel

Property: Lisb'on Hostel
Address: Rua do Ataide 7A, Lisbon 1200-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisb'on Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historical and most central part of Lisboa, Baixa-Chiado, the Lisb’on Hostel offers you the opportunity to feel this unique city in the hostel itself. Our inspiration is Lisbon, our objective your wellness our strength this exceptional last century house with fantastic views to the river, a garden and a terrace to enjoy them, our wish your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lisb'on Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing