We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lisb'on Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lisb'on Hostel
Ranked #34 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Lucca, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hostel!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2012

By chance we went to this hostel: clean, with confortable bed, really good terrace and really friendly staff!!!Good positione in Barrio Alto!!!
I would suggest this hostel to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessiaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    54
    9
    8
    3
See reviews for
12
40
71
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

Best hostel ever. Living room is beautiful, apple macs to use whenever you need internet, warm, clean showers right next to the rooms.Free delicious breakfast every morning. Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly at all hours of the day. Good music, pool table and table football in the communal area. Great views from the balcony. Good location, really close to Barrio Alto. The only possible bad thing about this hostel I can think of was that there was a guitar in the living room to play, but it was missing a string!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almodôvar, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I would definitely recommend this hostel! I've been here twice now and will go here more often when I'm in Lisbon. Nice beds, nice breakfast, great staff! Very kind, very helpfull! And the price is also very kind!
You won't regret it if you go here!
Keep up the good work guys! See you next time!

Room Tip: If you're looking for the cheapest stay just go for a dorm, if the weather is nice have a breakf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
126 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

Pros:
- Friendly and helpful reception staff
- Great bedrooms with huge windows, comfortable bunk beds with huge lockable drawers, and an amazing view over the river (had booked a double room, but ended up having a whole 6 bed dormitory to ourselves - Amalia)
- Super clean and well maintained communal areas
- Lovely rooftop terrace (great place to have your breakfast!)
- Varied programme of events available (sadly only had time to participate in one, which was the free walking tour - highly recommended! Our guide was Jose, who was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable)
- There's a lift! (albeit quite a small one)
- Short walk from the nightlife spots in the Bairro Alto

Cons:
- There was no air conditioning in the dormitory, so it was a little on the warm side
- The hostel is on a very steep street, so might not be ideal for some people (on the other hand, you do get the amazing views!)
- Not really a con, more of a tip: The shower room was a bit on the dark side in the evening, as the lighting came mainly from the huge skylights, so try to go whilst it's still light :)

I was very happy with my stay, and would definitely recommend this hostel. Lisbon is a lovely city to visit!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

I can't say much that hasn't already been said really - this hostel easily trumped the 4 star hotel we stayed in further along the coast. Stayed in a double room which was huge, full of character and had amazing river views. The communal areas were beautifully decorated and spotless. The staff were very friendly and invited us along to loads of different events, just a shame we already had too many plans to fit them in! One of the guys on reception gave up a good part of his evening to search the internet and ring around his friends regarding some festival tickets we were after. WIthout doubt the best feature has to be the rooftop terrace though - would happily spend the rest of my days up there. Whether you're used to backpacker dorms or top class hotels... look no further in Lisbon!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elnds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2011

Firstly, the views over the harbour are truly spectacular and the whole place looks like it was completed yesterday. It is so clean, and they must have used an incredible interior decorator - big couches, a pool table, fantastic artworks, brand new Mac computers available for free internet usage.

Secondly, the rooms are incredible. The bunk beds are made of beautiful, polished hardwood and have large built-in drawers (with locks) in the bottom to store your entire suitcase. Plus the mattresses themselves are thick and perfect.

Thirdly, there are so many activities available you feel part of a family gathering! We had been there for only 15 minutes when we were included in a bbq, invited on a pub crawl, and made new friends who turned into travel companions. The next day we participated in a free walking tour, and the following evening participated in an excursion to listen to live fado music.

If ever I opened a hostel, I would base it on the Lisb'on. It is the way every hostel should be.

Room Tip: We paid a few dollars extra to be in the rooms with 'sea views' - totally worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewi1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed at the Lisb'on Hostel while backpacking througth Europe this summer, and it was by far the best hostel we stayed at during our trip. Rita and the rest of the staff were so helpful and made our stay very pleasant. The hostel in itself was beautiful, very clean and has an amazing view of the city from the balcony. The surfing lessons with Miguel was a wonderful experience. I highly recommend taking the surfing lessons.

Our stay at the Lisb'on hostel was a wonderful experience, and I highly recommend it to anyone staying in Portugal

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rheav06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Calling
Lisbon Calling
#29 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
Lost Inn Lisbon Hostel
#4 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lisbon Poets Hostel
Lisbon Poets Hostel
#12 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
Lisbon Old Town Hostel
#3 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Sunset Destination Hostel
Sunset Destination Hostel
#13 of 417 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 417 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisb'on Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisb'on Hostel

Property: Lisb'on Hostel
Address: Rua do Ataide 7A, Lisbon 1200-034, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 417 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lisb'on Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Historical and most central part of Lisboa, Baixa-Chiado, the Lisb’on Hostel offers you the opportunity to feel this unique city in the hostel itself. Our inspiration is Lisbon, our objective your wellness our strength this exceptional last century house with fantastic views to the river, a garden and a terrace to enjoy them, our wish your arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lisb'on Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing