We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal of our holiday”

Natraj Tandoori - Rato
Ranked #504 of 4,053 Restaurants in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Owner: Palwinder Singh. Price: 10€
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best meal of our holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Great small real Indian. It was so good that we ate there twice during our holiday. The tandoori was excellent as already describe in many reviews. The staff were attentive and entertaining speaking excellent English, the prices more than reasonable

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pedwards1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    46
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great Spot in Rato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

I'm studying abroad here in Lisbon, and this place is awesome. A bunch of my buddies don't speak portuguese, but the staff here speak perfect english. The food is great, rivalling the indian I've had in DC amd Boston.

Helpful?
Thank Tommy S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a little gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

the Tandoori was as it should be : from an original tandoori oven, brought to the table , sizzling on its wooden plate in a bed of unions ,salad etcetc.The rating is missing the last dot , since they really did not know what "vindaloo" or "madras" sauce was . When i asked for it ( as an old colonial like myself likes to do hot hot hot )it was served as Vindaloo, but it was only a ""sort of tomato " sauce.The Papadan was ok , the sauces with it excellent. The garlic Nan was good, pilow rice ok, and so was the price for it all.It is always good to remember in an indian restaurant : 1 ) the starters are usually the same as the main course and 2) IF the tandoori is served immediately : forget about it , because it takes 20 min. to cook a Tandoori in the oven.
So: you`ve got to wait if you order Tandoori.Very good restaurant, Sauces could be better.,

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janne915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Indian Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Best indian food in Portugal and value for money! The employees are very kind and very professional! I and my family really enjoyed our dinner! The decoration is also very nice!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OliviaAbuDhabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C., Louisiana
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian food in the heart of Lisbon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2012 via mobile

TA reviews are normally very reliable & Im glad I followed thru by going to this restaurant! I rarely write reviews unless my expectations are clearly exceeded or completely appalled. This place exceeded my expectations with authentic, fresh, & very delicious Indian food. I had a veggie samosa to start, Garlic Tikka chicken/veggie dish which was sooo tasty along with a Keema Naan. The service was commendable & expeditious. Prices were very reasonable for the portion size & flavor of the meals. Overall, it is definitely worth going to, even if you are not familiar with Indian food. the wait staff are very friendly & help determine what you should try based on your normal preferences. Nice cozy atmosphere too! I would come back & highly recommend to others.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ucfhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Natraj Tandoori - Rato also viewed

Lisbon District, Central Portugal
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Natraj Tandoori - Rato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing