We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic insight into the culture and people of Portugal”

Mywaytours Guides Tours in Portugal
Ranked #118 of 465 Tours in Lisbon
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Personal guide and driving tours in Portugal *Carla Carita * licensed Tour Guide in Portugal * giving chauffeured tours since 2001 * own Mercedes deluxe Van * registered and insured according to National Tourism Office * based in Lisbon * private tours all over POrtugal and beyond Portugal boundaries * private tours held in a personal, flexible and professional way, always with a warm touch * each tour is held according to you, that is the reason of our designation - mywaytours - aiming to fit your personality * Mywaytours is fully legal, registered by the National Tourism Office with mandatory insurances for the activity.
Maui, Hawai`i
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fantastic insight into the culture and people of Portugal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

It was great to meet Carla and experience Sintra, Caiscais, and Obidos through her eyes. Incredibly informative and personable, she made us feel like family as she showed us the areas outside of Lisbon. If you're looking for an opportunity to experience Portugal as a local might I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Carla's services. Excellent!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Akolea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portugalyourway, Owner at Mywaytours Guides Tours in Portugal, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Dear Fred,
It was an immense pleasure to have met you in Lisbon and I was fortunate to show you a little bit of my country. The opportunity to mingle with the locals beyond the general information must be an essential feature for a personal tour. I do miss you. You must be back one day. I still did not have the chance to pick up the olives, they are waiting for you to be turned into olive oil :))
With warm regards
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great tour beyond Lisbon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

We had been to Lisbon before and wanted to see what lay beyond the city. I worked with Carla to set up exactly the itinerary we wanted. She met us at our ship at the Port of Lisbon in her immaculate and extremely comfortable Mercedes van and provided a truly memorable day. We drove through Lisbon on out into the country to the charming hillside village of Sintra where we visited the Royal Palace, paused for a relaxing coffee and then saw the Pena Palace. Then we headed for the coast for lunch at a charming sea side restaurant. There was not a tourist in sight and the seafood and wine were delicious. After lunch we stopped at Cabo da Roca to see the westernmost point in continental Europe and drove on to Cascais and Estoril were we paused for a drink and a stroll along the the esplanade. On the way back into Lisbon we made a stop at the beautiful Tower of Belém. Before we returned to the ship we made a quick stop for a traditional Cherry Brandy from a small shop in one of Lisbon's vibrant squares. Truly a memorable day! Carla was highly knowledgeable, friendly and accommodating. I would add that her driving was excellent (and in Lisbon traffic that is not a small thing!). Carla is also fully licensed (which many so called guides are not). She is not the first private guide I have hired and I can say she was outstanding.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Zulucat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A truly memorable experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

We fell in love with Portugal on our first trip there. We wanted to see some of the countryside around Lisbon and decided to hire Carla Carita as a driver and guide. What a delightful day. She enriched our day with background and historical information about the areas she showed us. She took us to visit the Convento dos Capuchos or “cork convent” outside of Sintra – one of the most unique places we have ever visited. Carla’s information helped make it a truly memorable experience. Lunch was at one of her favorite out of the way restaurants right on the coast where we enjoyed a wonderful meal of sea bass. We saw the western coast, wonderful seaside villages, an old roman bridge, and ended the day at the imposing Marfa convent. Our entire day with Carla was very satisfying. One of the things we appreciated most is that she is an easy person to visit with and we felt very comfortable with her. When we go back to any part of Portugal, she is the only guide we will consider.

Visited May 2010
Helpful?
Thank sandtray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much trouble.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2011

Carla listened carefully to our interests and priorities and crafted an itinerary that suited us perfectly. We really enjoyed the 5 days we spent with her. She was a consummate host, driver, guide and companion, showing us so much of the beauty and charm that Portugal has to offer. Carla and I corresponded at length before our arrival. She came through in every way, cheerfully accommodating our every request.

Visited September 2010
Helpful?
Thank travelor_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mywaytours Guides Tours in Portugal also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 
Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Mywaytours Guides Tours in Portugal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing