We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of This is Lisbon Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
This is Lisbon Hostel
Ranked #32 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Évora, Evora, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thanks for a wonderful stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hostel is one of the best place where I´ve ever stayed. I stayed here in December at the first time. Last week, I stayed here with my parents. Location is very good. Hostel is situated in old-town, just 10 minutes on foot to city centre and metro station Rossio. Here is a family atmosphere and wonderful staff. Rooms are spacious and very well equipped. There are also heatings in the rooms. Everything is new and clean. You can use very well furnished kitchen. Coffee and tea is free. Hostel staff organizes guided tours and dinners - a good opportunity to taste traditional Portuguese cuisine. View of the city from terrace is amazing! If you´re looking for great hostel in Lisbon, this place is a right choice! :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klara17czechrepublic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
51
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

Excellent location, friendly atmosphere that made me feel at home there. I was there 3 nights at the end of my trip, would have liked to stay longer. The hostel is pleasantly small, occupying the lowest level of an old but renovated house, clean and well kept but still having the atmosphere of an old Lisbon building. It has a large terrace with a fantastic view. It's up the hill close to the castle, but not too difficult to reach from the city below, there are a lot of things just a short walk away. The hostel offers a lot of things for free, like breakfasts, computers, a washing machine, and even free city walks with local guides. I also enjoyed the possibility to have a social dinner at the hostel with Portuguese food and wine. I had been to Lisbon before so I already knew something about the city, but living in this place helped me to get more out of this new visit than I would have thought.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank hannu_from_helsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Perfect, great, amazing place! Moreover, very cheap comparing to the quality! We stayed 2 nights in a double en suite room. The hostel has an interesting design, internet to use for free is available. Very clean. Organizes activities every evening. Good location, close to the castle. Great view from the terrace. Helpful service. No negatives noticed.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geelonka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

I really enjoyed the atmosphere, people and location of the hostel, and the feeling of lisbon I got, thanks to the hostel.

The hostel is located in the mountain leading up to the castelo de sao jorge, in the old town of lisbon. This is perfect, you are in the middle of the old town, with all its flair but luckily without too much noise or traffic.

At the same time it is a medium-sized hostel with several rooms that share a wonderful terrace and a very warm kitchen and living room. The kitchen is available to anyone and people often get together in the living room to discuss and share their experiences of Lisbon.

Dinners are often organized for the guests or among the guests. Other activities such as city tours are also organized. I really enjoyed a dinner there, where we could have real portuguese food and wine :) at reasonable prices and both with other travelers and the staff.

Finally, the hostel has a wonderful terrace. I really enjoyed sitting out while having a coffee, talking to others and just overseeing the city from there...just great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MSG83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights, the staff was really friendly and helpful, they gave me plenty of advices on places to visit.
I really loved the place because it is not too big, it felt like being home while abroad.
It is a very quiet place, there wasn't any noise, so that was perfect to sleep!

There is a terrasse that offers a nice view on lisbon, that's really great when having breakfast or just to chill out after a day visiting Lisbon.

No doubt I'll go there again whenever I return to Lisbon: it was clean, well located, good price, and with a very nice staff!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JS H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

They have everything you can think of to ask or they can offer you more than you would expect. I enjoyed their dinner and day tour. Stuff were friendly and helpful for the questions I had for my trips to other cities. The place was very close to the castle and it is just fun walking around surrounded by full of old buildings which I loved. I would definitely go back "This is Lisbon Hostel" for the next trip to Lisbon. "This is Lisbon Hostel" would give you a confortable and cozy time for you, I promise!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyTaichun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Firstly for the place, the hostel is located very convenient place to visit castle and do sight-seeing old traditional towns of Lisbon including restaurant for Fado. The guests are able to feel local atmosphere.

Secondly, for the facility, kitchen and dishes are free for use, then people can cook by their own. There is a shopping center near there, then visitor can purchase some foods and drinks for cooking. In my part, I used to stay apartman for three people, the facility and towels are available and clean. Breakfast is included and you can cook as you like. In addition to those, you can eat meals at terras which have a great view you can not help being caught by it.

Finally, the staffs are very friendly and kind. Visitors can easily ask them on the Lisbon and other cities also, on time tables for transportation and etc.. They will provide information on what the guests need.

Hope my comment will help you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Simon-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Equity Point Lisboa Hostel
Graca & Sao Vicente
Alfama Patio Hostel
Alfama Patio Hostel
#16 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Lisbon Destination Hostel
#11 of 406 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
Yes! Lisbon Hostel
#6 of 406 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to This is Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about This is Lisbon Hostel

Property: This is Lisbon Hostel
Address: Rua da Costa do Castelo 63 | entrance by Escadinhas Marques Ponte de Lima 1, Lisbon 1100-335, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 406 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — This is Lisbon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your This is Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing