We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
This is Lisbon Hostel
Ranked #32 of 432 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Tainan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very friendly hostel”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

They have everything you can think of to ask or they can offer you more than you would expect. I enjoyed their dinner and day tour. Stuff were friendly and helpful for the questions I had for my trips to other cities. The place was very close to the castle and it is just fun walking around surrounded by full of old buildings which I loved. I would definitely go back "This is Lisbon Hostel" for the next trip to Lisbon. "This is Lisbon Hostel" would give you a confortable and cozy time for you, I promise!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubyTaichun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    35
    7
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
52
57
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shinjuku-ku, Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Firstly for the place, the hostel is located very convenient place to visit castle and do sight-seeing old traditional towns of Lisbon including restaurant for Fado. The guests are able to feel local atmosphere.

Secondly, for the facility, kitchen and dishes are free for use, then people can cook by their own. There is a shopping center near there, then visitor can purchase some foods and drinks for cooking. In my part, I used to stay apartman for three people, the facility and towels are available and clean. Breakfast is included and you can cook as you like. In addition to those, you can eat meals at terras which have a great view you can not help being caught by it.

Finally, the staffs are very friendly and kind. Visitors can easily ask them on the Lisbon and other cities also, on time tables for transportation and etc.. They will provide information on what the guests need.

Hope my comment will help you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K-Simon-Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The staff was great, better than in any hostel I've ever been before. The dinners were heavenly, our family was especially delighted that there was a menu for vegetarians too. We have nothing but good memories from our stay at the hostel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herbert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijeka, Croatia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hostel is a place where you feel like home. Definitely would return there and reccomend to everybody!
Great position, a street below the walls of Castelo de Sao Jorge, close to Rossio square and the center, couple minutes of walk, and can be used public elevator.
Terrace is perfect, with fantastic view, ideal for drinking coffee in a sunny morning or chilling in the evening with some good wine.
Staff is very very very friendly and helpful :), and good and relaxed atmosphere is present all the time.
Rooms are nice and clean just like the whole place. Common kitchen and bathrooms are very good equipped.
Hostel has plenty of daily activities-trips, walking and sightseeing tours, dinners with portuguese accent, joga on the terrace, daily suggestions where to go..
Definitely to come back!!!

Room Tip: We had Azultejo private room, with direct access to terrace, and was big and nice and clean. In the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place was simply fantastic - great price, clean rooms & showers, friendly & helpful staff and a fantastic view from the terrace. The location is pretty central, albeit with some serious hill climbing, but most things are walkable. We, 3 x late-20s guys, stayed in the "apartment" across from the main building and this represented serious good value - two rooms, a kitchen and private bathrooom. The common areas are fairly cosy and relaxed - this isn't a party hostel - but it does provide a good atmosphere to chat to fellow travellers. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boshek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We did a city-trip of a week to Lisbon, and stayed at Lisbon Hostel.
The owners and receptionists are extremely friendly and helpful, and most
of them speak several languages which can be very useful.
The hostel itself is very nice and clean. You can come and go as you please (24/7),
and make use of the common kitchen and amazing terrace whenever you like.
This is the perfect place if you really want to experience Lisbon as it is.
There are also 2 PCs with internet access which you can use without charge.
Excellent experience !

Room Tip: The private room (with large private bathroom) is perfect if you want some privacy, and the price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZiggyKatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Talkeetna, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed November 24, 2012

This place is so special, with such nice people! It is very cozy and clean with a view of the city and located in an old, interesting area. I spent too little time here. Every day I was inspired by the staff to a new adventure. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cdenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Chiado & Carmo
Equity Point Lisboa Hostel
Graca & Sao Vicente
Alfama Patio Hostel
Alfama Patio Hostel
#16 of 432 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Chiado & Carmo
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
Lookout Lisbon Hostel
#1 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Destination Hostel
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Home Lisbon Hostel
Home Lisbon Hostel
#2 of 432 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
The Independente Hostel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to This is Lisbon Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about This is Lisbon Hostel

Property: This is Lisbon Hostel
Address: Rua da Costa do Castelo 63 | entrance by Escadinhas Marques Ponte de Lima 1, Lisbon 1100-335, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 432 Specialty Lodging in Lisbon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — This is Lisbon Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your This is Lisbon Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing